Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Jan 8, 2016
    90
    Just Cause 3 is an amazing spectacle of destruction and satisfaction.
  2. Nov 30, 2015
    90
    Just Cause 3 may not trump its predecessor in every way, but it does excel beyond Just Cause 2 in its sheer creative freedom. The new tools and tweaks to old ones work great, it’s just up to gamers to discover how best to use them. Having so many choices you lose track of them is one of the best things any game can offer, and Just Cause 3 does so in spades.
  3. Dec 1, 2015
    85
    In spite of some technical setbacks and repetitive tasks, Just Cause 3 delivers the kind of stress-relieving destruction to get you through the doldrums. It's easily the best looking game of the series thus far, and the awesome gameplay will have you continue to think up ways to bring down enemies. You're due a holiday vacation, and Rico's trip will certainly fulfill the need.
  4. Dec 1, 2015
    85
    Those that found JC2 underwhelming or repetitive won’t find much to change their mind here, but for fans like myself that simply can’t get enough destruction, Just Cause 3 delivers on all levels.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 3, 2016
    83
    Just Cause 3 entertains at first with its symphony of destruction, but becomes repetitive. [Jan 2016]
  6. Jan 8, 2016
    80
    Just Cause 3 is the game for you, so long as the game you’re looking for is almost exclusively about bending the laws of man, nature and physics until they break for comedic effect.
  7. Dec 16, 2015
    80
    It’s a solid and light-hearted game that offers a sprawling open-world playground for you to explore and destroy in as many creative and humorous ways as you can imagine. There are bugs that need to be addressed, it lacks the depth of other games in its genre, and it can be repetitive over long periods of play, but in short bursts of a couple of hours or so there’s no hiding from the fact that being given the freedom to blow things up to your heart's content provides some of the most chaotic fun you’ll find on the Xbox One right now.
  8. Dec 2, 2015
    80
    The sound of every gun and explosion are incredible and make it very difficult to not play this one with the surround sound on and the volume turned up way too loud.
  9. Dec 1, 2015
    80
    Just Cause 3 is an over-the-top blast that embraces the term “sandbox” more literally — and un-apologetically — than any other game in the genre. If you’re seeking substance and depth, wandering Fallout 4's RPG wasteland might be more your speed. If you want to ride a weapon of mass destruction like a hobby horse, however, you'll want to consider joining Just Cause 3's rebellion.
  10. Nov 30, 2015
    80
    Avalanche does a good job of giving players access to new tools just as it seems the novelty is close to wearing off, right until the end. By the time I finished clearing out the final outpost, however, I was definitely ready to move on. Medici’s a great place to visit, but I’m not prepared to make it a new home – certainly not considering the state I left it in.
  11. Dec 1, 2015
    75
    Is it worth the new release price? Maybe, considering I’m still trucking through my version, even with the headaches. I’ve had a more positive experience despite the bugs and believe they could be rectified with a patch.
  12. Dec 17, 2015
    70
    There's a good game in there somewhere, it's just fighting to be free for most of the time.
  13. Dec 8, 2015
    70
    Long load times, sluggish frame-rate and awful shooting would usually be the end of an action game. Just Cause 3 just about gets away with it though thanks to the hugely open approach to carnage with the likes of grappling hooks, parachutes, wingsuits, rocket launchers, infinite C4, tanks, choppers and the freedom to do whatever you want with them.
  14. Dec 8, 2015
    70
    It can start to feel monotonous after a while, and the presentation may not exactly be top-notch stuff, but the load times really dampen the experience. If you can live with all of that and just want some mindless gaming fun, Just Cause 3 fits the bill.
  15. Nov 30, 2015
    70
    Just Cause 3 is a wonderfully constructed open-world, that successfully builds on its predecessor’s legacy with humour and aplomb. The key problem however is that at the moment there are too many technical problems which hamper play. You’ll want to be wild and free, blowing everything to hell in a variety of ways, and so often you can be, but that only serves to emphasize those moments where Just Cause 3 struggles to keep up.
  16. 70
    Just Cause 3 can be a rather fun game, but it's not the sequel we were hoping for. There are some very impressive things to be found within its large-scale and explosive quest, and on its insanely large world of Medici, but technical problems and dated mechanics hold it back from living up to its potential.
  17. Nov 30, 2015
    70
    Predictably enjoyable, Just Cause 3 is as big and ballsy as its forebear, but doesn't push the envelope quite enough. Yet, if it's action and explosions you seek, then look no further. Just Cause 3 is still the most fun you can have with a gun, a grapple and infinite parachutes. Boom.
  18. Dec 19, 2015
    67
    Just Cause 3 is a no-frills game mainlyborn to let us play with destruction and over-the-top physics. Unfortunately there isn't much meat around this core skeleton, leaving it lacking in story and content variety.
  19. Jan 9, 2016
    60
    The lasting memories of Just Cause 3 will be the small moments where everything comes together to make the most insignificant action feel like a unique event. The fact that all of the mechanics work together so seamlessly is impressive, but the magic is fleeting.
  20. Dec 17, 2015
    60
    Ambitious in both scale and scope but sadly is just too much for the console hardware it will be mostly played on.
  21. Dec 11, 2015
    60
    Unfortunately Just Cause 3 turned out to be one of the biggest disappointments of this year. It’s marred by erratic frame rate, excruciatingly long loading times accompanied by extremely basic mission design, and an island that seems like it was enlarged tenfold by just copying and pasting the same environmental assets over and over again.
  22. At times it feels like the mad power trip it ought to be – but repetitive action soon sucks the joy out of its amazing explosions, and unnecessary restrictions get in the way of the fun.
  23. 60
    The core action is explosively silly in all the best ways, but the controls, missions, and story structure are all disappointingly underdeveloped.
  24. Dec 4, 2015
    59
    When the spectacular fireworks and hilarious, delightfully destructive chaos kick off, the frame rate often drops well below 30 frames per second. And when the frame rate drops, it’s much harder to defy death as you’re piloting one of the many helicopters, jets, or cars, or stay in the air when you’re using the fun but touchy wingsuit. When you die, you’re subjected to loading times that can last 90 seconds or more.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 234
  1. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    Very impressive game. Better than its predecessors, however, it cannot compete with games like fallout and MGSV. But overall, a fantasticVery impressive game. Better than its predecessors, however, it cannot compete with games like fallout and MGSV. But overall, a fantastic game, and the wingsuit is awesome Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    4
    I wanted to write this review an hour into the game but I felt that wouldn't be a fair review. I now have 8 hours into the game and the gameI wanted to write this review an hour into the game but I felt that wouldn't be a fair review. I now have 8 hours into the game and the game is mediocre. The graphics are sub-par, the game mechanics are not any better. The driving is horrible and the shooting is just as bad. The frame rate drops constantly. It is a shame, because I was really looking forward to this game. Get the game on sale. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    10/10 from me.. this game gives me everything I want at the moment; FUN, FUN & FUN!

    Truly a step up from Just Cause 2, in this 3rd
    10/10 from me.. this game gives me everything I want at the moment; FUN, FUN & FUN!

    Truly a step up from Just Cause 2, in this 3rd installment bigger really is better. I have recently put 3 days into Fallout 4 and I find myself dropping it like a hot potato just thinking about the chaos I can create in this game.

    For those who want a break from the intense online shooters, epic story rpgs and games alike.. pick this up!
    Full Review »