Just Cause 3 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over fourSet in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over four hundred square miles of utter freedom from sky to seabed and a massive arsenal of weaponry, gadgets and vehicles, prepare to unleash chaos in the most creative and explosive ways you can dream up. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Just Cause 3 - Destruction Dev Diary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 8, 2016
    90
    Just Cause 3 is an amazing spectacle of destruction and satisfaction.
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    85
    Those that found JC2 underwhelming or repetitive won’t find much to change their mind here, but for fans like myself that simply can’t get enough destruction, Just Cause 3 delivers on all levels.
  3. Dec 16, 2015
    80
    It’s a solid and light-hearted game that offers a sprawling open-world playground for you to explore and destroy in as many creative and humorous ways as you can imagine. There are bugs that need to be addressed, it lacks the depth of other games in its genre, and it can be repetitive over long periods of play, but in short bursts of a couple of hours or so there’s no hiding from the fact that being given the freedom to blow things up to your heart's content provides some of the most chaotic fun you’ll find on the Xbox One right now.
  4. 70
    Just Cause 3 can be a rather fun game, but it's not the sequel we were hoping for. There are some very impressive things to be found within its large-scale and explosive quest, and on its insanely large world of Medici, but technical problems and dated mechanics hold it back from living up to its potential.
  5. Dec 8, 2015
    70
    Long load times, sluggish frame-rate and awful shooting would usually be the end of an action game. Just Cause 3 just about gets away with it though thanks to the hugely open approach to carnage with the likes of grappling hooks, parachutes, wingsuits, rocket launchers, infinite C4, tanks, choppers and the freedom to do whatever you want with them.
  6. Jan 9, 2016
    60
    The lasting memories of Just Cause 3 will be the small moments where everything comes together to make the most insignificant action feel like a unique event. The fact that all of the mechanics work together so seamlessly is impressive, but the magic is fleeting.
  7. Dec 4, 2015
    59
    When the spectacular fireworks and hilarious, delightfully destructive chaos kick off, the frame rate often drops well below 30 frames per second. And when the frame rate drops, it’s much harder to defy death as you’re piloting one of the many helicopters, jets, or cars, or stay in the air when you’re using the fun but touchy wingsuit. When you die, you’re subjected to loading times that can last 90 seconds or more.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 69
  2. Negative: 13 out of 69
  1. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    10/10 from me.. this game gives me everything I want at the moment; FUN, FUN & FUN!

    Truly a step up from Just Cause 2, in this 3rd
    10/10 from me.. this game gives me everything I want at the moment; FUN, FUN & FUN!

    Truly a step up from Just Cause 2, in this 3rd installment bigger really is better. I have recently put 3 days into Fallout 4 and I find myself dropping it like a hot potato just thinking about the chaos I can create in this game.

    For those who want a break from the intense online shooters, epic story rpgs and games alike.. pick this up!
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just cause 3 is the game for pyromaniacs as every ten feet from you in all directions there is something to blow up or destroy you can spend hours exploding every bridge petrol station and tank the story may be lacking but it dose not disappoint and the dlcs are the cherry on top you think its fun blowing stuff up than try blowing stuff up in a MECH!!! that improves the experience by one hundred and ten percent so just cause three 12/10 Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2019
    9
    Great fun and will keep you entertained for hours if you like shooting things and blowing stuff up. It gives a good challenge and has manyGreat fun and will keep you entertained for hours if you like shooting things and blowing stuff up. It gives a good challenge and has many side missions which are also fun and different like races and flying through rings with a wing suit, well worth a try if you haven't played before Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2016
    7
    Really liked it, however I have some complaints. The story is short and seems forced. The world is big, but there isn't much in between. IReally liked it, however I have some complaints. The story is short and seems forced. The world is big, but there isn't much in between. I have also experienced lag. Overall it is a highly entertaining experience. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    i really wanted to enjoy this game, after being a huge fan of the previous just cause game i was hoping for something great, but unfortunatelyi really wanted to enjoy this game, after being a huge fan of the previous just cause game i was hoping for something great, but unfortunately this edition to the series wasn't the game i was expecting, it sounds awesome flying round blowing things up, but the thing that makes this game disappointing is the complete lack of civilians and any areal sign of life in the world, you may see 1 or 2 civilians walking around every 5 mins which considering the fun you can have flinging civilians around with the grapple hook its a shame there isn't more NPC and its a shame they didn't realize this was a problem in JC2 and make it better for this game, it just doesn't feel like the huge improvement people were expecting, now don't get me wrong there is fun to be had in this game, im not siting here saying this game is 'compete' garbage but methods of fun feel stale and quite limited, but they're is 2 huge things that in fact no 3 things that really decided to put this game at 7 and put in in the top section of mixed and not in positive is 1.camera angles at times are really frustrating and can often get you either killed or put you off track what you were tying to do. 2.the car physics and handling of cars feels horrible, and i understand they were going for an arcade feel to the driving, which is cool that sound good, but they didn't pull it off, cars are very slow going round corners and can often understear a lot however this can depend on the car, and 3.which is a big one, FPS , now this could be a launch day bug and it could be fixed , and if it is i apologise please ignore this point but if it is still a problem then it is a 'problem' the whole point of this game is to blow **** up right, but when you blow **** up the console can often lag and the fps can drop rapidly which is infuriating when you just wanna get on and blow **** up but the game is running like an 1860's ice maker, it just embarrassing not only for avalanche for releasing a game clearly not capable of running smoothly with high combat but also for Microsoft who clearly have put wool over peoples eyes and obviously the Xbox one is as advanced as we thing ,but before i go of on a tangent about Xbox ones i just wanna summarize by saying that the games is fun don't get me wrong but don't be expecting hours after hours of fun on it because it can get boring quickly, and as fr the FPS well hopefully is fixed soon :) Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2017
    6
    Even if destroying all of Medici is funny, the story and the base are quickly boring. The journey are too long, with the vehicles or with theEven if destroying all of Medici is funny, the story and the base are quickly boring. The journey are too long, with the vehicles or with the wingsuit. Also I'm always attacked by the army and when I use the wingsuit in the forest I'm hurting myself against the trees. Some of the activities are very harder than others. The game is still fun but it could be much better. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2019
    0
    В этой игре все ужасное - от управления до графики. Сюжет дурацкий, локации огромные, пустые и непроработанные, быстрое перемещениеВ этой игре все ужасное - от управления до графики. Сюжет дурацкий, локации огромные, пустые и непроработанные, быстрое перемещение ОГРАНИЧЕНО, даже за бесплатно по GamePass не стоит потраченного времени Expand

See all 69 User Reviews