Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Oct 9, 2015
    95
    Lego Dimensions truly sets a new standard for toys-to-life games.
  2. Sep 21, 2016
    88
    Thanks to a solid and well-tested gameplay coupled with a brilliant portal/character management, the physical assembly of all the pieces and the presence of great franchises like Doctor Who, Portal and Return to the Future, LEGO Dimensions manages to grab the crown of best toys-to-life game around.
  3. Oct 17, 2016
    85
    With the wide range of interests collected here, there's almost assuredly something for everyone, and that's one of Lego Dimensions' greatest strengths. That it's also fun to play just makes the decision to enter this world that much easier.
  4. Oct 9, 2015
    85
    The omnipresent paywalls are a constant thorn in my side. But still this is the best Lego game Traveller’s Tales has produced since the original Lego Star Wars. The idea to incorporate the Toypad into the puzzles is genius, where virtual and real Lego worlds merge.
  5. TT Games, Warner Bros., and Lego have decided the price should be prohibitively steep.
  6. Oct 12, 2015
    80
    Lego Dimensions is easily the best Lego game so far. The interaction between the physical Lego toy and the game beyond the portal really sets Dimensions apart from other toys-to-life games and each build, level and vehicle seems to have been carefully thought out.
  7. Oct 5, 2015
    80
    The completist will have to spend hundreds of pounds to experience Dimensions in its entirety.
  8. 80
    A game in which Batman rubs shoulders with the Stay Puft marshmallow man, where Gandalf solves puzzles at Aperture Sciences and Wyldstyle punches orcs, LEGO Dimensions is a smile-inducing mash-up that revels in everything that makes LEGO such a joy.
  9. Sep 12, 2016
    75
    LEGO Dimensions doesn't change the LEGO formula that we all love on the gameplay side, which is good. Although the toys-to-life part of the game will make the player feel that they're missing something if they don't own the proper toys, and that's not fair for an 80€ game. Beside that, LEGO Dimensions is not as fun and inspired as previous LEGO installments.
  10. Oct 1, 2015
    75
    It's one of the most expensive propositions in all of gaming right now, but the gameplay is there and the Starter Pack stands on its own. While the campaign can be a bit uneven at times, the always reliable LEGO charm and the innovation of the physical aspect of Dimensions allows it to excel.
  11. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 9, 2015
    70
    This is imaginative and witty stuff. [Dec 2015, p.78]
  12. 70
    There is so much to love about LEGO Dimensions; clever design decisions, an excellent script and some real standout moments. But that paywall will either kill your bank account, or frustrate you.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Mar 11, 2016
    8
    New review... so after $500 spent on characters my son an I have completed huge amounts of this game. However update 1.07 leaves us playingNew review... so after $500 spent on characters my son an I have completed huge amounts of this game. However update 1.07 leaves us playing something else as its 8+ gigs. Still... vastly improved from our day one experience. Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2015
    9
    Ok here is the thing, you can't complain about the price of this game. Normal Lego is very expensive and also you don't have to buy everythingOk here is the thing, you can't complain about the price of this game. Normal Lego is very expensive and also you don't have to buy everything to complete or unlock achievements...its personal choice/how you spend your own money. Secondly this blows infinity/sky landers out of the water. I had so much joy building my Lego, including mini figures, before I placed them on the board for them to come to life. The board itself is used inventively(although does become tedious)
    They are not reinventing the wheel with gameplay but they are trying new mechanics. If you enjoyed previous games and don't mind more of the same, this is for you. If you like Lego, this is for you. If you are looking for something new, maybe not.

    All in all I enjoyed this game (didn't get all the references, which doesn't hurt experience) it's fun, it's creative and a great venture in the toys to life market.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    This game is beyond awesome!!! This is THE best Lego game I have played. Thank you so much Travellers Tales and other people that worked onThis game is beyond awesome!!! This is THE best Lego game I have played. Thank you so much Travellers Tales and other people that worked on this amazing project 10/10 Full Review »