Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 24, 2015
    90
    A beautiful, bleak puzzle game that any newcomer willing to look death in the eye should pick up. [Feb 2015, p.82]
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    87
    Limbo remains the same wonderful and disturbing experience that we lived almost five years ago. Although this is clearly a good point, maybe we would have hoped in some new content.
  3. Dec 5, 2014
    85
    Limbo was and still is a thrill ride with an almost perfect assembly of melancholic dark moments as well as challenging and suspenseful platforming sequences.
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    Time has been gentle with this wonderful indie game. If you've never played it, this is the right time. If you already played it on Xbox 360 you can pass on this version since there’s nothing more for you.
  5. Dec 11, 2014
    80
    As memorable as it is to navigate tilting rooms with only a few hanging lamps to light the way, it is that spider that most embodies Limbo's somber spirit. The later puzzles are complex and clever, but they don't haunt the heart. The finale feels abrupt because it returns to the first hour's imagery, having abandoned it for long enough to have altered your personal connection with the game from an emotional one to an intellectual one. And yet the end offers insight into a backstory left otherwise untouched--enough of it to inspire another playthrough, this time ever so much wiser than you were before.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 111
  2. Negative: 7 out of 111
  1. Feb 14, 2015
    6
    I got this game free and I played through and got all the achievements except the less than 5 deaths one. It was worth playing but not asI got this game free and I played through and got all the achievements except the less than 5 deaths one. It was worth playing but not as great as I was led to believe. I didn't really have fun playing this game and that is why I gave it such a low score. Also I feel that most of the deaths are not due to player error but to unresponsive controls. I liked the story and the atmosphere but the game lacked something because I really never once had fun. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    8
    Limbo is a game that I somehow never played on Xbox 360. That is definitely something I regret, as the game is fantastic. It tells a uniqueLimbo is a game that I somehow never played on Xbox 360. That is definitely something I regret, as the game is fantastic. It tells a unique story without dialogue or cutscenes, and the ending is left open for interpretation. The puzzles are also excellent and varied. My only complaint is that sometimes death means for an annoying delay for respawn. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    This game is very fun, but needs a little work, and is very complex.

    PROS -Creative -Dark -creepy CONS -boring from time to time
    This game is very fun, but needs a little work, and is very complex.

    PROS
    -Creative
    -Dark
    -creepy

    CONS
    -boring from time to time
    -hard too frequently
    Full Review »