Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 11, 2014
    85
    Dismissing Lords of the Fallen like just a Souls clone would be a huge error: Tomasz Gop's new game manages to conquer its own identity, proving to be a very good game favored by a top tier artistic and graphics compartment. With a wider and more varied world and a lengthier experience, it would have been perfect.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 2, 2014
    80
    Definitely inspired by the Souls games, Lords of the Fallen still has enough brutal majesty to stand on its own. [Issue#255, p.66]
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    80
    Beautiful, challenging, brutal. A serious contender to Dark Souls and Darksiders.
  4. Oct 28, 2014
    80
    It is moody and oppressive, but rarely terrifying; it is a power fantasy, not a heart-wrenching death simulator that rolls deadly boulders at you as if you are a single, miniscule bowling pin.
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    78
    Lords of the Fallen is a decent hack and slash RPG that is worth a look for fans of Dark Souls.
  6. Nov 5, 2014
    76
    While the difficulty might not be of the calibre that Dark Souls fans clamor for it will challenge most gamers and is an enjoyable, albeit flawed, dark fantasy RPG romp.
  7. Oct 31, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen copies, but it does so from great sources in a mostly competent fashion, and adds in a few neat systems of its own.
  8. Nov 25, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen is a very good game, but its struggle to escape the shadow of the better games that preceded it colors every minute of the experience.
  9. 70
    What it is is a challenging fantasy game with a good sense of progression that is entertaining to play, even if it's got no chance of being remembered as a classic like Demon's Souls and Dark Souls are.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 3, 2014
    60
    It's too derivative and frustrating to contend for Dark Souls' crown. [Xmas 2014, p.78]
  11. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2014
    60
    A frustratingly uneven action-RPG that pilfers liberally from the Dark Souls handbook. [Issue#118, p.77]
  12. 60
    Even without the massive technical problems, this would be a generic world with generic characters and antagonists.
  13. Nov 3, 2014
    55
    I couldn’t recommend a purchase of Lords of the Fallen. However, if you are a fan of the masochistic hack-and-slash action RPG genre and wouldn’t mind a change of scenery, or always wanted to try a Souls title but found their barrier to entry a bit daunting, this might be worth a hire to blitz through the campaign one or two times with a few different builds.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 186
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    It's beautiful game... Really worth spent cash. Amazing combat techniques, cool experience system, so many ways to build your own character.It's beautiful game... Really worth spent cash. Amazing combat techniques, cool experience system, so many ways to build your own character. Beautiful looking game world, superb playability.
    As owner of next-gen console - you must try it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    amazing beautiful game with fantastic gameplay!! I play as much as 5 hours and I can not break away. As the good old days. I hope that theamazing beautiful game with fantastic gameplay!! I play as much as 5 hours and I can not break away. As the good old days. I hope that the game is long and we get some DLC in the near future because as it goes on like this for 2-3 days it did not end up getting up from the console!! Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2014
    7
    This is an "OK" game for someone that can tolerate a high frustration level and can live with a lot of "do-overs". The game camera is awkwardThis is an "OK" game for someone that can tolerate a high frustration level and can live with a lot of "do-overs". The game camera is awkward and clunky, almost like the game was made a decade ago. The camera makes it difficult to fight enemies in corridors or fight multiple enemies, for example. While the graphics look great in a screenshot, putting the game in motion reveals a lot of flaws with regard to lighting, etc. The fight system and controls are good, though it takes some getting used to. It could also use better documentation or tutorials. Even after several hours of play, I'm not sure what some of the scores, abilities and items actually do. As of right now there are not a lot of wiki and google results to help answer these questions. I'd recommend this game to select individuals. Its not for most people. Full Review »