Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
Buy On
  1. May 24, 2020
    91
    Tripwire has crafted a fantastically balanced experience that knows when enough is enough and is genuinely funny, something many games aim for but so few succeed in reaching. Maneater is an ideal palate cleanser for those suffering from ‘open-world’ fatigue and, despite its perfect size, still left me wanting more.
  2. May 22, 2020
    90
    Maneater on Xbox One is bloody brilliant. It’s a massive game with a lot to do and a huge amount of content to discover - the locations or beauty spots are usually wittily scripted, and have quite a few nods to popular culture as well, making them entertaining asides. What's more, there is a good story of revenge to follow.
  3. May 22, 2020
    90
    Tripwire Interactive has managed to capture what it feels like to be Jaws, right down to jumping out of the water, landing on a boat, and chomping away at the hunters on it. That in and of itself is a momentous achievement to accomplish.
  4. May 22, 2020
    85
    Maneater plays it safe. It chooses simple mechanics and proposes them in a ten and more hours loop, but in doing so, however, it makes the right choice, because Maneater is a well crafted and fun title. Those who are not afraid to do the same thing over and over again to become the lord of the oceans will find flesh for their teeth.
  5. May 22, 2020
    80
    On the whole, more time in development might have ironed out some bugs, and the Day One patch which I’ve had a play with today addresses *some* issues, but a few more persist. They’re not game-breaking, but stand as reason enough the game might have needed another month or so in sharpening up. All that said, there’s a fun game here for people who are into 100%-ing anything they touch, and for those looking for something a little bit different. Be sure to watch the video examples riddled throughout this review to get an idea of what you’re in for, but I’ll be spending the rest of my game-time after plonking roughly 18 hours into it, uncovering everything else it has to offer.
  6. May 22, 2020
    80
    Maneater is a quirky and addictive role-playing game that every Xbox One owner should play.
  7. May 22, 2020
    80
    Maneater constantly blurs the line between sadistic mass murder simulator and clever satire, while also managing to be as fun as any human-based open-world game. Chris Parnell’s narration can get a little repetitive, as can the missions, and the camera could use a little work, but it’s all a matter of context. It’s a wild reversal of ego, an experience that is both completely freeing and oppressive at the same time. Stare into the dead eyes of the shark, and the shark stares into you.
  8. May 22, 2020
    80
    Maneater is an enjoyable hunt that satisfies in its shark mayhem and story of revenge. The action is a bit repetitive and chaotic, but the goofiness of the violence ends up winning out. This is the first shark game I’ve truly enjoyed. It has cult classic written all over it.
  9. May 22, 2020
    77
    Maneater is another great title from Tripwire, plenty of blood and adventure packed into this single player shark fest. Full of fun and great gameplay I highly recommend to any Jaws fan or horror nut out there. The only thing I’d like to see next time… Online shark battles.
  10. May 22, 2020
    75
    Maneater is extremely fun. An underwater sandbox, starring a killer shark, full of blood and gore, with a great sense of humor. But it has several technical issues and lacks variety.
  11. May 22, 2020
    75
    Maneater feels like a B-movie and it’s not ashamed of it. The atmosphere is undoubtedly its best value and, if you wan to appreciate it, you must avoid looking too closely at the details. The idea on which the game is based, after all, is that fish are smarter than humans, so Maneater rightly treats us accordingly.
  12. May 22, 2020
    75
    Maneater plays its hand early, as the novelty of being an almost unstoppable apex predator thrown into an unforgiving ocean doesn’t have much depth to it. What Maneater does have though, is a meaty world worth exploring, a fascinating system of evolution and whip-smart writing that adds colour to your deep blue killing spree.
  13. May 25, 2020
    73
    Aware of its own limitations, Tripwire has opted for the fun of this particular power fantasy to present us with a game that will not be part of video game history or a candidate for GOTY, but that is undeniably enjoyable and funny in all its humorous packaging.
  14. May 25, 2020
    70
    A fun game with an entertaining story about revenge it’s hard to put down despite some failings here and there.
  15. May 25, 2020
    70
    The chief pleasures on offer are those of the power fantasy and of the newly burgeoning subgenre that we might call the zoological misadventure.
  16. 70
    It's hard to deny that Maneater has colossal potential – though the lack of mission variety and some simplistic combat does lend it to feeling repetitious as time goes on. Putting these flaws aside, however, Maneater deserves kudos for an undeniably unique premise and laying a solid foundation for a franchise that developer Tripwire should almost certainly pursue.
  17. May 22, 2020
    70
    An action game with tons of fun, but it is also very repetitive and simple in the long term. If it had a more varied gameplay and a deeper combat system, it could have been a better game.
  18. May 22, 2020
    70
    Maneater is one of those arcade games we miss. It’s just pure fun, with a fantastic documentary-like narrative that makes playing it more enjoyable. It gets quite repetitive, though, as the mission design isn’t very diverse, but if you pace yourself you can make this flaw more bearable.
  19. May 22, 2020
    70
    Maneater is a one of a kind RPG that revolves around the growth of a shark in search of his revenge. Besides its technical limitations and repetitiveness, Maneater is a lot of fun.
  20. May 22, 2020
    70
    While Maneater could be regarded as something of a one-trick pony, it’s still a very good trick that you’ll enjoy while it lasts.
  21. May 22, 2020
    70
    Manic marine mayhem, Maneater is a one-of-a-kind shaRkPG that can feel a little one-note at times, but it's never anything less than an unhinged, knowingly daft piece of entertainment. You get to be a shark and eat people, for crying out loud. It's fun and guaranteed to make you smile, (you son of a bitch).
  22. May 24, 2020
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. May 22, 2020
    65
    A funny idea that becomes boring too soon.
  24. May 22, 2020
    50
    The game has its moments, and just roaming around is good for a couple of minutes of watery entertainment. But its clunky combat and repetitive, tedious gameplay means that, despite its toothy protagonist, Maneater lacks any bite.
  25. May 26, 2020
    30
    A shark RPG sounds like an unlikely idea for a video game and unfortunately the end result is even less entertaining, and far more repetitive, than you might imagine.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. May 22, 2020
    10
    It’s really fun and new experience. Still I couldn’t find bug yet. Character is so attractive
    I guess that there is plenty of play time.
  2. May 22, 2020
    10
    Very fun game, it’s like Feed and Grow Fish (PC) and Grand Theft Auto had a baby and that baby grew up with its uncle Assassin’s Creed: BlackVery fun game, it’s like Feed and Grow Fish (PC) and Grand Theft Auto had a baby and that baby grew up with its uncle Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag. It is everything I hoped it would be and more. I feel like it has just the right amount of difficulty, I died quite a bit early on but the more I fought harder enemies the more I learned. I love the narration throughout too, it’s like you are in the middle of a TV show but from the perspective of the shark, very unique. The graphics are good as well and I’ve had no frame rate issues, also I haven’t ran into any bugs so far. I wish there was a stat section where it showed how many of each fish and enemy you’ve eaten and how many deaths you have and what killed you, I think that would be cool and I don’t think it’s gonna be the longest game ever, but it’s only $40 so I wasn’t expecting it to be. I hope this game does well so they can expand on it with DLC like multiplayer perhaps. I haven’t completed the game yet, but after playing for 4 hours last night I feel like I can safely recommend this game to everyone. There are plenty of $60 games I’ve bought and not had even close to as much fun as I’ve had already playing this game. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2020
    6
    Unfortunately only an entertaining fun that does not play to its potential. 40 € is too much for this.