User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 50
  2. Negative: 13 out of 50
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2020
    8
    Maneater is a 3rd Person Over-The-Top Shark Simulator, Crazy, not Top-Down. You start the game as a Great White Shark, with a taste for carnage. Learning how to control your Shark, you wreak havoc on the local waters and get the attention of Scaly Pete, Legendary Shark Hunter. After a fierce battle, your Shark is finally defeated, but that's only the start of your game. You were actually aManeater is a 3rd Person Over-The-Top Shark Simulator, Crazy, not Top-Down. You start the game as a Great White Shark, with a taste for carnage. Learning how to control your Shark, you wreak havoc on the local waters and get the attention of Scaly Pete, Legendary Shark Hunter. After a fierce battle, your Shark is finally defeated, but that's only the start of your game. You were actually a baby, near ready to be born into the world, as Pete kills your mother, he cuts you from inside, and you exact part of your revenge as you take on of his arms. From here you're tossed into a bayou and left to survive and grow. To grow you must eat, and the water is host to many edible animals. The game is a constant push to grow larger and acquire Evolutions. I assume the waters that you travel are host to the wild evolutions you gain throughout the game, as some are seriously polluted, and some toxic with nuclear waste. You gain all sorts of wild abilities from being electric to massive, sharp armor plating covering your body. There are Grottos scattered around the various maps, these are safe havens serving as a retreat, and home to your shark, and are the only place you can change evolutions and skills. Once you make it to open waters, then the true fun begins. The more havoc you create with humans the higher your infamy level gets, and this will bring the shark hunters coming until only one arm is left to catch you, Scaly Pete's. Great fun, and loaded with things to find, those who enjoy a bit of carnage will love Maneater! Expand
  2. May 22, 2020
    10
    Very fun game, it’s like Feed and Grow Fish (PC) and Grand Theft Auto had a baby and that baby grew up with its uncle Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag. It is everything I hoped it would be and more. I feel like it has just the right amount of difficulty, I died quite a bit early on but the more I fought harder enemies the more I learned. I love the narration throughout too, it’s like youVery fun game, it’s like Feed and Grow Fish (PC) and Grand Theft Auto had a baby and that baby grew up with its uncle Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag. It is everything I hoped it would be and more. I feel like it has just the right amount of difficulty, I died quite a bit early on but the more I fought harder enemies the more I learned. I love the narration throughout too, it’s like you are in the middle of a TV show but from the perspective of the shark, very unique. The graphics are good as well and I’ve had no frame rate issues, also I haven’t ran into any bugs so far. I wish there was a stat section where it showed how many of each fish and enemy you’ve eaten and how many deaths you have and what killed you, I think that would be cool and I don’t think it’s gonna be the longest game ever, but it’s only $40 so I wasn’t expecting it to be. I hope this game does well so they can expand on it with DLC like multiplayer perhaps. I haven’t completed the game yet, but after playing for 4 hours last night I feel like I can safely recommend this game to everyone. There are plenty of $60 games I’ve bought and not had even close to as much fun as I’ve had already playing this game. Expand
  3. May 22, 2020
    10
    It’s really fun and new experience. Still I couldn’t find bug yet. Character is so attractive
    I guess that there is plenty of play time.
  4. SRC
    May 24, 2020
    10
    Instant classic. This is just what we need right now! Brilliant game dynamics and stunning level design. Lots to explore and discover. Well balanced player evolution as well. A chomping good time:) Thank you devs, it was well worth the wait!
  5. May 23, 2020
    9
    Really nicely Hungry Shark 3D Mode. I like it. But game is small, 9hrs for 95% is not enough and i want more!
  6. May 26, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game it reminds me of jaws unleashed and it also reminds me of depth in a sense it took me me 19 hours to finish the main story but i didn't collect all the other stuff so it gives me more time with the game it needs dlc to expand the story and new skins and abilities Expand
  7. May 22, 2020
    9
    I'm lazy so for me to write a review for a game it must be good, for $40 I'm really surprised with how much fun I've had with this game. the level system is done well. Graphics are ok, Water could be better.
  8. Jun 2, 2020
    9
    Love it soo addicting. Not the game of the year but the most fun I had in a while. Very very cool game. Can't wait for a bigger sequel!!
  9. May 24, 2020
    9
    Are the objectives repetitive? Yes. Do you just spam the attack button? Yes. But who cares, it’s just fun! I applaud the developers because they took a risk and it paid off. There really isn’t anything like this game out. Personally, I have experienced zero bugs and I also think the art direction is fantastic. The graphics are great and each location is completely different from the othersAre the objectives repetitive? Yes. Do you just spam the attack button? Yes. But who cares, it’s just fun! I applaud the developers because they took a risk and it paid off. There really isn’t anything like this game out. Personally, I have experienced zero bugs and I also think the art direction is fantastic. The graphics are great and each location is completely different from the others keeps the environments fresh and gorgeous. If you want a super involved game that’s going to offer you hundred of hours of game play, this isn’t for you. If you want something where you can turn your brain off and laugh at the comically good gore and live the fantasy of a shark out for vengeance, pick this up! It definitely sunk it’s teeth into me. Expand
  10. May 22, 2020
    9
    Whoever thought that a shark rpg could be this much fun? Battle alligators, barracuda, human hunters and plenty more whilst searching for collectables in this game set in the Bayou. Marvellous gameplay with hugely enjoyable visuals. Really well priced for a game that (if you're a Jaws fan) will keep you hooked (pardon the pun). Comedically gory with great voice acting leaves me highlyWhoever thought that a shark rpg could be this much fun? Battle alligators, barracuda, human hunters and plenty more whilst searching for collectables in this game set in the Bayou. Marvellous gameplay with hugely enjoyable visuals. Really well priced for a game that (if you're a Jaws fan) will keep you hooked (pardon the pun). Comedically gory with great voice acting leaves me highly recommending this Tripwire production. Expand
  11. May 24, 2020
    9
    Edit: Changed my vote to a 9. Just finished the game and the small team responsible for this did a great job. This game FEELS good. The feeling you get from mashing the RT button to chomp and chew, just feels powerful. As for the graphics, I am playing on the XB1X and it looks good, the surface water effects could have been just a little better, but for a budget game, they did anEdit: Changed my vote to a 9. Just finished the game and the small team responsible for this did a great job. This game FEELS good. The feeling you get from mashing the RT button to chomp and chew, just feels powerful. As for the graphics, I am playing on the XB1X and it looks good, the surface water effects could have been just a little better, but for a budget game, they did an incredible job. Level design is good and accommodates the completionist gamers style. With a little higher budget, this game could have done some truly great things. Story is what it is. We knew this was never going to be a serious game... you're a shark. The only performance issues I have had is frame rate issues above water when taking on a LOT of hunter boats.
    All in all, this gane is just good, no thinking fun, for when you need a break from the serious stuff. I could come home drunk at 1am and happily spend an hour just munching stuff up and upgrading.
    Expand
  12. May 24, 2020
    10
    What a video game should be! Audio is simply but fits. Graphics are amazing under water. Think of games that look amazing on land but the under water areas are okay. This one flips that scenario around. Story is corky but fun. Objectives, locations, collectibles, bosses. Can't wait to make it to the Gulf with the Elder!
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jun 3, 2020
    75
    It’s dumb fun. It’s junk food. It’s a B-tier game that has decent writing and is doing something different. I had fun for the just under 30 hours it took to complete everything the game had to offer. It’s not perfect, but neither has been any other title to try and tackle this sort of experience; this game is by far the best though. If just swimming around and proving who’s the real apex predator sounds appealing then this is the game to play. There’s not much out there like Maneater.
  2. May 31, 2020
    60
    Maneater is like a joke that had a great punchline, but is milked for all its worth afterwards.
  3. May 29, 2020
    83
    One of the best sleepers of the year. Maneater's looking forward to staying for a while.