Metro Exodus Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, andIn Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, and follow a story-line that spans an entire year in the greatest Metro adventure yet. [Deep Silver] Collapse
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metro Exodus - Official Trailer | Gamescom 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    91
    Metro Exodus is the perfect survival experience for the next gen. The game has all the ingredients to be the best game in the trilogy.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Exodus's combat has room for improvement, particularly when it comes to enemy A.I. behavior. The gunplay is tight and well-built, with an emphasis on customization, allowing you to play how you want to play. While I'm hoping polish patches come in thick and fast after launch, even when you acknowledge the game's rough edges Metro Exodus is among the best first-person shooters you can get right now.
  3. Feb 24, 2019
    87
    Metro Exodus stays true to the series' roots while adding a very welcome open world component an greater variety both in environments and gameplay, with a more intimate story than before. Having awesome graphics doesn't hurt, either.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Fluctuating like a Geiger Counter between nihilism and utopianism, this game’s muddy morality is a thing of beauty in the current climate and could be one of 2019’s most important games as a result.
  5. 80
    A brilliant expansion of the Metro saga, Exodus connects sections of familiar claustrophobic, immersive horror with a beautiful semi-open world and a new twist on the fantastic and oppressive retro future vibe.
  6. Feb 13, 2019
    76
    As you might be sensing, Metro Exodus makes me feel severely conflicted. On one hand, I appreciate the characters and atmosphere, but on the other, I think it needed some more time. Features like individual volume sliders for voices and music are missing, the general button layout is awkward, and button presses don’t always respond as I’d expect. Mix that in with the bugs, and we have a package that has the structure for excellence but was set loose on the world too soon. In my heart, I have strong feelings for Exodus, but I’ll forever be haunted by how outstanding a few more layers of polish could’ve made it.
  7. 60
    Following off the stellar Metro 2033 and Last Light, Exodus feels like a misstep for this series. This series has built a reputation on its quality, but Exodus falls flat in some ways that truly matter.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 96
  2. Negative: 23 out of 96
  1. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been.This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been. No joke! The story is pretty linear for the first few hours, but it opens up later. Get ready for a lot to happen in the first 3 hours! The whole Metro story changes with a twist.

    Combat is great, the guns are fun and unique. It's more about avoiding conflicts rather than going head-on. Ammo is scarce and so are resources. Once you fire a weapon all nearby creatures will hunt you down, so stealth is preferred.

    The graphics on Xbox One X are amazing. The developers said the best experience would be on Xbox. Compared to most other games released in the last 3-4 years, this is one of the best and most complete.

    One thing: long load times. So long I thought the game froze. You have to sit there for a good 2 minutes sometimes when first loading a game.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 24, 2019
    10
    the wait was worth it!Definetely one of my all time favorite games.Atmosphere was amazing.
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    Played on Xbox One X.

    1. Awesome atmosphere, story, gameplay
    2. Amazing graphics and design
    3. Simply "Game Of The Year" for me
  4. Feb 16, 2019
    8
    So far I've really enjoyed the new Metro installment. It's not quite as survival horror-y as the older games but I enjoy the newness of it. IfSo far I've really enjoyed the new Metro installment. It's not quite as survival horror-y as the older games but I enjoy the newness of it. If it had been the same old Metro then people would have complained over that. In my eyes this is another very good example of 4A at work. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Потратил на эту игру достаточно большое количество времени, и могу чуть более подробно поговорить о всех аспектах.
    Начну с того за что мы все любим серию игр метро, это атмосфера. Да атмосфера в этой игре действительно есть и она раскрывается в быту персонажей, эти долгие разговоры с сигаретой в тамбуре, и какие то неважные истории которые тебе рассказывают, все это создает некую атмосферу. Так же хочу отдельно остановиться на графике, и временами игра очень красивая, можно отметить отличную работу со светом, тоже самое вода на локации «Волга». Это все конечно не уровень 2019 года, но все же выглядит красиво в отдельных местах. Но те пространства которые не попадают под определение «Отдельные места» смотрятся скучно и немного пустовато. Особенно это замечаешь на локации «Каспий» когда переход с одного сайд квеста на другой становятся невероятно скучным и унылым. Но те места которые ты как бы обязательно должен посетить как к примеру на локации «Пионерский лагерь» сделаны превосходно, все эти советские домики наполнены всякими знакомыми предметами в духе «где-то я видел такое же у моей бабули в кладовой». В целом графика глаз не режет и играть можно. Сюжетом я остался не совсем доволен мягко говоря. Завязка простая и понятная, Артем выбрался из Москвы вместе со своей женой и остальной дримтим, и они едут по всей России в поисках пригодного места для жизни на поверхности. И по началу все действительно кажется логичным и рациональным, но локация «Новосибирск» меня просто выбила из колеи. На этой локации мы можем увидеть все промахи этой игры. Мы можем увидеть совершенно отвратную графику, нелогичные действия персонажей, и просто напросто халтуру сценаристов. Эта локация просто как будто другая игра, здесь мы можем увидеть просто железную коридорность, нелогичность и не обьяснимость всего происходящего. Под конец игры сюжет напоминает русское артхаусное кино, в духе зеленого слоника и т. п.. Откуда-то появляющиеся гориллы на пути у Артема в Новосибирске. Огромное количество косяков с радиацией. Так как по лору, там несовместимый с жизнью уровень радиации. Но в целом после прохождения игра оставила положительные эмоции. по этому твердая 7. Проходил на Xbox one s, и во время прохождений фризов не было, но один раз за все время встала игра, и пришлось перезаходить в игру. Так же особенно при прохождении вы обратите внимание на загрузки,о да, они огромные.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2019
    5
    It really saddens me to say this, but I found this game boring. I really like the graphics, sound, details, and characters, but dirt on theIt really saddens me to say this, but I found this game boring. I really like the graphics, sound, details, and characters, but dirt on the wall still looks like dirt on the wall. The whole post apocalyptic genre is kind of boring to me, but as it breaks my heart to say this so is metro exodus. I thought it was just me, but others have had the same experience. I really did want this game to succeed, but it's just too slow. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2019
    0
    This game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on XboxThis game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on Xbox One X. I watched trailers before game release and they were awesome. I tried to play it but:
    1. big graphics downgrade in compare to trailers obviously.
    2. controls are so clunky that it is almost impossible shoot, aiming is a ****
    3. some missions are so boring and not clear that I found some glitches
    4. movement is not precise enought to feel the game.
    5. FPS drops all the time.
    6. a lot of bugs.
    7. it crashes on Xbox One - that is incredible

    I was so tired plaing that game that uninstalled it after 2 hours. I tried PC version and similar story. After 1,5 hour game crashed without saving. The biggest dissapointment I have ever had in terms of gaming.
    Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.
  2. 2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One

    2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One Image
    Published: January 18, 2018
    Find details on over 30 of the most-anticipated games headed to the Xbox One in 2018.