Metro Exodus Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, andIn Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, and follow a story-line that spans an entire year in the greatest Metro adventure yet. [Deep Silver] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metro Exodus - Official Trailer | Gamescom 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    91
    Metro Exodus is the perfect survival experience for the next gen. The game has all the ingredients to be the best game in the trilogy.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Exodus's combat has room for improvement, particularly when it comes to enemy A.I. behavior. The gunplay is tight and well-built, with an emphasis on customization, allowing you to play how you want to play. While I'm hoping polish patches come in thick and fast after launch, even when you acknowledge the game's rough edges Metro Exodus is among the best first-person shooters you can get right now.
  3. Feb 24, 2019
    87
    Metro Exodus stays true to the series' roots while adding a very welcome open world component an greater variety both in environments and gameplay, with a more intimate story than before. Having awesome graphics doesn't hurt, either.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Fluctuating like a Geiger Counter between nihilism and utopianism, this game’s muddy morality is a thing of beauty in the current climate and could be one of 2019’s most important games as a result.
  5. 80
    A brilliant expansion of the Metro saga, Exodus connects sections of familiar claustrophobic, immersive horror with a beautiful semi-open world and a new twist on the fantastic and oppressive retro future vibe.
  6. Feb 13, 2019
    76
    As you might be sensing, Metro Exodus makes me feel severely conflicted. On one hand, I appreciate the characters and atmosphere, but on the other, I think it needed some more time. Features like individual volume sliders for voices and music are missing, the general button layout is awkward, and button presses don’t always respond as I’d expect. Mix that in with the bugs, and we have a package that has the structure for excellence but was set loose on the world too soon. In my heart, I have strong feelings for Exodus, but I’ll forever be haunted by how outstanding a few more layers of polish could’ve made it.
  7. 60
    Following off the stellar Metro 2033 and Last Light, Exodus feels like a misstep for this series. This series has built a reputation on its quality, but Exodus falls flat in some ways that truly matter.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 90
  2. Negative: 23 out of 90
  1. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been.This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been. No joke! The story is pretty linear for the first few hours, but it opens up later. Get ready for a lot to happen in the first 3 hours! The whole Metro story changes with a twist.

    Combat is great, the guns are fun and unique. It's more about avoiding conflicts rather than going head-on. Ammo is scarce and so are resources. Once you fire a weapon all nearby creatures will hunt you down, so stealth is preferred.

    The graphics on Xbox One X are amazing. The developers said the best experience would be on Xbox. Compared to most other games released in the last 3-4 years, this is one of the best and most complete.

    One thing: long load times. So long I thought the game froze. You have to sit there for a good 2 minutes sometimes when first loading a game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2019
    10
    The best game of 2019 so far. Definitely worth your hard earned money!

    just buy it, you will not regret :)
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    Played on Xbox One X.

    1. Awesome atmosphere, story, gameplay
    2. Amazing graphics and design
    3. Simply "Game Of The Year" for me
  4. Feb 16, 2019
    8
    So far I've really enjoyed the new Metro installment. It's not quite as survival horror-y as the older games but I enjoy the newness of it. IfSo far I've really enjoyed the new Metro installment. It's not quite as survival horror-y as the older games but I enjoy the newness of it. If it had been the same old Metro then people would have complained over that. In my eyes this is another very good example of 4A at work. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The plots of the first two Metro games concern one particular species of monster: The Dark Ones. Unfortunately, this plot element has been dropped in Exodus. In the new game, Artyom and his wife discover that there are still survivors outside of Moscow, which had previously gone unnoticed. Artyom and his friends are then more or less forced to settle somewhere else, far away from Moscow. Because the plot is almost completely disconnected from the first two games, you don’t need to play them before playing Exodus.

    What bothers me the most about Exodus’ narrative is its opening chapters. There is usually only one path forward, and that path conveniently leads to the location Artyom was looking for, even if he doesn’t know where that is. For the remainder, the story is simple to follow and very enjoyable. In addition to the overarching story of moving someplace else, each chapter also serves as its own mini-story, with a satisfying build up and conclusion.

    Most important characters are introduced for the first time in this game as Artyom’s close friends. These will seem to have come out of nowhere if you’ve been following Artyom’s storyline, but that shouldn’t be a problem otherwise. Characters have long, in-depth conversations as you’re traveling from location to location, and about half undergo some kind of character development. Every character in the crew feels alive, like they're living their own story. Considering how large Artyom’s crew is, that’s impressive.

    The inclusion of three open world levels is the thing I was most worried about. As it turns out, I was right to be worried. The open world levels kill the unique atmosphere that the other Metro games had. Monsters are no longer scary, because you can see them coming from tens of meters away. The feeling of claustrophobia is no more. In the older Metro games, downtime only occurred in the metro stations where humans lived. Here it occurs too often as you can safely cover large distances in a vehicle. This makes the open world sections feel boring and uneventful. Fortunately boredom is not a problem in the last open world, due to its slightly better design. Apart from the three open world levels, the level design stays true to the series’ roots. The game is full of tunnel-crawling fun.

    The final problem that I had with the game was probably the biggest. Previous Metro games offered a good and a bad ending. This was based on the things you’d explored. For instance, listening to voices from the past in a certain level would get you closer to the good ending. Exodus still has two endings, but here it is based on whether you spared enemies in the open worlds’ story missions. This change is a real shame in my opinion, because it eliminates the incentive to explore; something that the open world levels are lacking in.

    Ending on a positive note, I have to praise the aesthetics of the game. Some of the music tracks from the game (e.g. Exodus and Premonition) are amazing to listen to even if you decide not to play the game. The game looks absolutely stunning, with its varied environments, amazing lighting and realistic gas mask and gun wear. There’s also a photo mode to take full advantage of it, which shows that the developers had full confidence in this part of the game holding up.

    All in all, I think this game is definitely not as good as Metro 2033 or Metro: Last Light due to missteps in innovation. However, Exodus is still a worthy play if you’re a fan of the Metro series, story-heavy first person shooters, or subtle horror. I’d recommend picking this game up in a sale or when its price drops.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    4
    I am not a hater and I am not a troll. I loved Metro 2033 and liked Metro Last Light though was slightly disappointed by it. This game isI am not a hater and I am not a troll. I loved Metro 2033 and liked Metro Last Light though was slightly disappointed by it. This game is not anything like either of those games. First of all it is not a shooter! The game wants you to run past enemies and some of them even surrender. The atmosphere that made the first game so awesome is ruined by the endless inane dialogue and your nagging wife. Seriously, I walk up to someone to listen to what they have to say and then walk away thinking they are finished and they keep talking. How does that make you immerse yourself in the game? You have to craft everything and are always running out of ammo and filters even if you explore and find things. Even on the easiest difficulty I am dying constantly. I am not a rookie gamer and have finished and 100%ed many games so I don't think it is just me. If you guys want to make a movie then go do that but this is supposed to be a game. Games need to be immersive and fun to play and this one just makes me mad. I am giving it a 4 for the beauty of the game but I hated it and will not finish it. Wait for a sale gamers because this one is a giant loser in my opinion. Don't give us an RPG when we buy a shooter. If I wanted to craft I would buy Fallout or Minecraft. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2019
    0
    This game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on XboxThis game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on Xbox One X. I watched trailers before game release and they were awesome. I tried to play it but:
    1. big graphics downgrade in compare to trailers obviously.
    2. controls are so clunky that it is almost impossible shoot, aiming is a ****
    3. some missions are so boring and not clear that I found some glitches
    4. movement is not precise enought to feel the game.
    5. FPS drops all the time.
    6. a lot of bugs.
    7. it crashes on Xbox One - that is incredible

    I was so tired plaing that game that uninstalled it after 2 hours. I tried PC version and similar story. After 1,5 hour game crashed without saving. The biggest dissapointment I have ever had in terms of gaming.
    Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.
  2. 2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One

    2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One Image
    Published: January 18, 2018
    Find details on over 30 of the most-anticipated games headed to the Xbox One in 2018.