My Time At Portia Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Embark on a new life in the enchanting town of Portia! Restore your Pa’s neglected workshop to its former glory by fulfilling commissions, growing crops, raising animals, and befriending the quirky inhabitants of this charming post-apocalyptic land.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
My Time At Portia - PC Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 16, 2019
    85
    My Time At Portia is one of the most wholesome, relaxing and chilled experiences of this generation. It’s the perfect post-Sekiro experience, with a cast of wonderful characters, and a beautifully picturesque world with tons of activities to occupy your time. Sure, it’s very much like Stardew Valley, but the emphasis on engineering over farming makes it its own beast. The loops might not be as alluring as Stardew’s, but it’s game that you won’t regret playing, and will satisfy your inner soul.
  2. 80
    Although it borrows heavily from other games in the crafting/resource management genre, My Time at Portia offers just enough unique gameplay, not to mention a rich world to explore, to separate it from its brethren.
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia tries to do so much at once and impressively gets most of it right anyway.
  4. Apr 19, 2019
    72
    Despite that some aspects of the game are either overwhelming, or, not wholly refined, My Time at Portia is a solid addition to the life simulation genre. There’s heaps of gameplay depth to soak up and enjoy, with no shortage of variation present to keep things fresh and entertaining. Whilst it pales in comparison to the likes of Animal Crossing, it certainly offers plenty of distinction and gets enough right to stand in a spotlight entirely of its own.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 22, 2019
    70
    A sprawling ramshackle mishmash of a game that somehow works. [Issue#177, p.82]
  6. Apr 16, 2019
    70
    An RPG with mechanics of "resource collection" that will make us spend hours and hours full of fun.
  7. Apr 16, 2019
    60
    While the crafting is robust and an essential part of your experience with My Time at Portia, the other integrated systems--relationship management, dungeoneering, animal husbandry, and farming--aren't as engaging, fleshed out, or vital by comparison.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 5, 2019
    8
    There is this movement today among these new age gamers that everything needs to be fast paced and dark souls-like where instant gratificationThere is this movement today among these new age gamers that everything needs to be fast paced and dark souls-like where instant gratification is a MUST in a game. I’m here to speak for the gamers who want to sit down and play a game for a while and actually relax and enjoy their time. If you’re one of those types of gamers, then this game is for you. Things take time to build, things take time to explore, and the game does progress slowly. With that said, it allows you to actually relax and play at your own leisure. The way the game plays out is like how Rune Factory 4 was.. Crafting is a must, and so is gaining experience while exploring and fighting. You also have to have patience and if you have no patience, then this game is absolutely not for you. I’ve always enjoyed games that allows you to help towns people, craft, build items, and allows you to build and expand on your home. This game does all the above and for me is a solid 8.5 out of 10. The reason why it’s not a perfect 10 is because I don’t believe any game is truly a perfect 10 and will always have a flaw. The flaw of this game is sometimes the camera can be a little wonky, and the NPCs will go crazy, but fear not, the NPCs usually correct themselves.

    Wonderful and perfect game for those of you looking for that Rune Factory x Harvest Moon itch
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2019
    8
    My time at Portia is a relaxing adventure but even though it's easy enough to enjoy these types of games they do end up getting a bit stale orMy time at Portia is a relaxing adventure but even though it's easy enough to enjoy these types of games they do end up getting a bit stale or repetitive over time. Thankfully my play of, My Time At Portia didn't get dull nor repetitive, the game is meant to be played at a relaxing pace it makes the gameplay seem even more impressive (For some reason Animal Crossing comes to mind as a slow paced game that no matter how long I played stayed fresh and fun while retaining that relaxation that's internationally there. The gameplay features a host of different tasks for you to undertake and the variety within these tasks is extremely addictive and make the replay ability quite high. There’s also a number of different features in play all at once. Once I got past the task of learning these different features I felt I was accomplishing something along my time with My Time At Portia. Accompanying your experience is a solid set of stories that tie well into the gameplay and exploring the world always feels fun and makes you want to keep playing. Other than needing to be somewhat persistent to learn all the controls and how to approach the different tasks you find that any issues become obsolete in your time with the game. In summary, My Time At Portia has an abundance of charm and draws you in throughout your time in Portia (pun intended) and if you have just a small interest in games of this genre then I fully recommend that you give it a try, because it delivers a unique and enjoyable experience from start to finish. It's nice to see games of different style emerge and be successful with new approaches, and it's easy to give My Time At Portia a recommendation to add it to your Xbox gaming library. Collapse

Trailers