Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 11, 2017
    100
    Everything considered, N++ is an absolute gem. Anyone who wants a platformer should buy this game.
  2. Oct 20, 2017
    95
    A must-have for any platforming fan. Nearly everything is perfect in this game. If the soundtrack was a bit more memorable and the game didn’t stutter when a new song played, I’d give the game a 10 without question. But unfortunately, I can’t look past all the deaths this glitch caused me or how bored I was by the new list of songs.
  3. Nov 4, 2017
    93
    One of the best platforming experiences ever with perfect mechanics and an highly challenging gameplay, now enriched with a metric ton of content.
  4. Oct 9, 2017
    90
    It's a sure sign of a solid platformer when deceptively simple core mechanics and basic controls result in hours of gameplay without feeling stale or repetitious. N++ achieves this splendidly. The triumph and accomplishment as you solve just ‘one more level’ of deadly physics and diabolical design is sublime and a heady swirl of emotion. Reinforcing the obsessive gameplay are instant restarts after death and virtually instantaneous level loading. Like a true platformer.
  5. Dec 22, 2017
    89
    N++ is incredibly challenging, but never unfair (not including the insane player made levels), as controls are very precise and everything simply works the way it should. It takes some serious skill to tackle the later stages and hardcore mode, but that comes in time. There’s absolutely no shortage of levels to play, as the amount of content is baffling, again, not even including the online creator level sharing capability. I’m glad that N++ is here and in my game library, as I felt right at home ninja jumping and sliding from the get go, as it caters to the gamers that want to sit down and play for hours, or the kind that only have 10 minutes to get a few levels in.
  6. Oct 23, 2017
    80
    N++ may be the definition of too much of a good thing. As much as I enjoy the game, it got tiring after a while, soon finding it more enjoyable in short bursts rather than long marathons. If you're fine with a mountain of content that becomes so difficult, you'll most likely never finish it all; this is a great sequel that kept retained what was good about the last game and made some worthwhile additions. It gets repetitive, but the gameplay is so fun it'll keep pulling you back in for more.
  7. Oct 6, 2017
    80
    N++ is a throwback to simpler, nicer times, in which videogames didn't need to constantly bomb the player with many button commands, or HUD elements. Its main strengths are its minimalistic visual style, and its strong -yet simple gameplay.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    8
    N++ is one of them rare games that manages to be fun in both single player and co-op. One mode is normally more enjoyable than the other, butN++ is one of them rare games that manages to be fun in both single player and co-op. One mode is normally more enjoyable than the other, but that’s not the case here because everything is enjoyable. To say the gameplay in the game is addictive would be an understatement. The reason I say it’s an understatement is because they have made it addictive without making you get frustrated which is very rare indeed. The game also allows you to have a lot of freedom by offering you a range of customisation options. You can change the levels to how you want them to be which is fun and gives the game even more replay value. Speaking of replay value the game has a huge amount of content for you to sink your teeth into. There is an abundance of levels for you to take part in and each level has a lot of variety, which keeps things fresh and stops you from becoming bored. You will however need to take time to get used to the controls. The controls can be overly sensitive at times and it will cause multiple deaths, so it’s a good job that dying is actually pretty fun. The presentation side of the game really makes the game stand out and makes it unique from other game’s in the genre. The best thing about the presentation is that they’ve managed to combine both the visuals and music perfectly, and by doing this they’ve definitely made the gameplay even better than it already is. At the end of the day I had an amazing amount of fun with N++: Ultimate Edition and with an almost endless amount of replayability it’s a game I will be enjoying for a long time to come. It’s fun with friends and when played on your own, and the variety and level design keeps things fresh and stops it from becoming tedious. Hopefully one day in the future we will get an online option, but there is more than enough here for now and it gets a massive recommendation from me. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2017
    9
    This game is one of the, if not the number one, 2d platformer I've played. Each level a new condensed challenge of momentum and timing. youThis game is one of the, if not the number one, 2d platformer I've played. Each level a new condensed challenge of momentum and timing. you might just want to play the game to play the game, and you sure will be satisfied with the almost endless amount of levels, or you could be a completionest and try to get all the gold with a quite the challenge. This game has amazing physics for its momentum based platforming that is perfected. The art style is minimalistic and great looking. All the levels fit within your screen with no scrolling meaning the only thing between you and the finish is the challenge right in front of your face. Overall this game is just about perfect Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2017
    8
    Platformers have never been a genre of games that gamers lauded for puzzle like level design, but N++ is the exception. This game has just thePlatformers have never been a genre of games that gamers lauded for puzzle like level design, but N++ is the exception. This game has just the right amount of difficult gameplay to blow away players like my self who would like a game to play while relaxing. Full Review »