Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Sep 20, 2018
    90
    NHL 19 is quite simply the best ice hockey game ever created. There’s a massive depth of content within, all of which is magnificently upheld by its refined gameplay mechanics and its overall improvements. The game isn’t entirely without fault, but there’s no denying that this years installation is deeper, more varied and a hell of a lot more fluid than any game before it. Fans of the series, don’t pass this by.
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    NHL 19 can be shaped into the hockey game you want it to be, which is lucky, because EA’s hockey games don’t have any real competition. If you were put off by NHL 18, which felt lazy, then NHL 19 is the apology you deserve. If you skipped NHL 18, then this game will be an even bigger leap forward for you. If you’ve never played a hockey game before, you can feel assured that the ponds and stadiums of this game will be accommodating. EA’s NHL 19 is a sports simulation, a fantasy league, a social hub, and a comforting arcade game all at once, and that is quite a thing to accomplish.
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    89
    NHL 19 has something for everyone, packing tons of quality into its many fun and diverse modes.
  4. Sep 19, 2018
    85
    Probably the best hockey game ever, with a plethora of game modes and a lot of accessibility options.
  5. Sep 18, 2018
    85
    NHL 19 is one of the best-playing hockey games I can remember, thanks to an overhauled animation system and the best body checking money can buy. World of CHEL is cool, too, at least as a foundation for future editions. Unfortunately, as it is right now, unless you like player-locked multiplayer experiences, this banner addition won’t have much more to offer other than a few challenges and a new parka. Still, if you’ve skipped the last few years of NHL games, you could do a lot worse than NHL 19.
  6. Sep 17, 2018
    85
    NHL 19 still has its share of legacy issues that need attention, but the vastly improved skating and physics make this the best playing hockey game of the generation. The scouting system gives franchise mode a much-needed makeover, and while World of Chel feels like a half-built theme park right now, I’m excited about its future prospects. If you haven’t played an NHL game in a while, this is the year to jump back over the boards.
  7. Sep 23, 2018
    83
    I can still go either way with advising people on whether NHL 19 is a buy or not.
  8. Sep 13, 2018
    83
    There is truly something here for every hockey fan. Traditionalists who love their basic online and franchise modes, NHL 19 has you covered. For those looking for something fresh, World of CHEL and Ones should be right up your alley. NHL 19 doesn’t exactly reinvent the franchise but it does advance the series forward in this generations of consoles.
  9. Sep 13, 2018
    82
    NHL 19 is still a fun virtual hockey experience, and that’s the biggest thing. The World of CHEL adds a much-needed layer of personality, playability, and lightheartedness to the franchise. The depth of each mode goes a long way toward meeting almost every virtual hockey fan wherever they are with their fandom. On the downside, there is a lack of customization, some collision-detection issues, as well as some dated and less-than-impressive presentation elements.
  10. Oct 9, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 is somehow both great and a bit disappointing. Sure, this is the best hockey game yet, with an almost impossible amount of depth. This is the kind of game you can play all year and still not feel like having even really scratched the surface. It is good sit down and play for a couple of hours or just jump in for one game and then head out to do something else, but at the same time, this barely feels like an upgrade over last year's version or the year before that. It's the same iteration of game over and over again, each slightly superior to the one before it
  11. Oct 8, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 has hockey coming out of its ears. There’s enough content here to last a good while or at least until NHL 20 finds its way on the shelves. Offering different levels of realism on a large scale, from controls to team management, there’s bound to be something for everyone.
  12. Oct 2, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 is a solid game and one that packs plenty of ways to enjoy its core mechanics. Not having played a hockey game seriously in almost two decades it feels like a really good place to step in. There is a lot to unpack here, and I had fun with more than one of the modes. It also has a great training mode for those like me who want to dig deeper into the ins and outs of the sport. EA may not tout this game as much as their other sports games, but they should. This is yet another quality pillar in the EA Sports library.
  13. Sep 28, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 is really good, especially compared to the previous year, now feels much more accessible, more fun and generally more complete.
  14. Sep 24, 2018
    80
    Generous content is the great strength of NHL 19. Unfortunately, it's not sufficient to overcome the lack of new gameplay mechanics or the graphic render and animation system, that would gain a lot from a switch to the Frostbite engine.
  15. Sep 17, 2018
    80
    If you’re a hockey fan, this game is highly recommended, as NHL 19 has made gameplay changes that make the experience much more authentic, while at the same time introducing new modes and adding to many old ones in order to bring the fun back to the series.
  16. Sep 14, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 is a friendly game for beginners and will please veterans. The speed and fun of its matches will keep you hooked for hours. In addition, with World of Chel they have managed to completely renew the online mode, offering an entertaining proposal that becomes a must for fans of this sport.
  17. Sep 13, 2018
    80
    If you’re an NHL fan who’s skipped an entry or two in the last couple years, this is a definite yes. For the rest, it really depends on how you’re planning to play it — grab it if you’re planning on a lot of online play (read: and you’re based in North America). If you’re sticking to offline, bide your time and wait for a sale. Kudos to EA Vancouver for doing what they could all the same.
  18. Sep 13, 2018
    80
    NHL 19 succeeds mainly because of its best-in-class controls, authentic presentation, multitude of different ways to play, and its overall excellence in capturing the essence of hockey culture. The pond hockey mode is a fun new way to play with friends in beautiful outdoor environments, but it's the only brand-new feature, and that may disappoint veteran fans.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 13, 2018
    It’s been a while since a sports video game genuinely surprised me in a positive way, but EA Sports managed to do it with NHL 19.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. Sep 24, 2018
    8
    The game looks and sounds better than ever and both the visuals and sound design really do enhance the gameplay quite considerably. I foundThe game looks and sounds better than ever and both the visuals and sound design really do enhance the gameplay quite considerably. I found the skating to be much improved this time around and on the whole most of the different mechanics feel better this time around. The controls take a bit of getting used to at the start I must admit that I was very impressed with how much depth they have whilst also remaining tight and responsive throughout. The new pond hockey mode is an incredible amount of fun and it adds to the overall content which is massive to say the least. There are a few new inclusions dotted around the game and some of them do improve the game quite a bit and they also make the game more accessible. The Be a Pro mode still feels a little basic and doesn’t have enough depth to it which is a shame because I feel they could do so much more with this mode.Game’s tend to go on for too long and that’s mainly because it’s too easy to gift a penalty.I quite enjoyed last year’s instalment of NHL but I did feel that it lacked in a few areas which in the end did hold it back. Thankfully this time around them areas have been improved significantly in some cases and this does make NHL 19 a must own for fans of the series. One of the biggest improvents for me this time around were the controls. There’s much more depth to them this year and they also feel more fluid and responsive as well. I also feel that the presentation side of the game has been improved this year as well, and in my opinion it’s the best looking and sounding game the series has offered us so far. In terms of gripes I don’t have too many thankfully and the gripes I do have aren’t major problems so I did find that the pros did outweigh the cons quite considerably and that means then that NHL 19 gets a big thumbs up from me because the content will keep you satisfied for months to come. Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    0
    Do not buy it. Its the same worthless game. Nothing has changed in the past 10years I'm not sure why I had my hopes up for this one. When uDo not buy it. Its the same worthless game. Nothing has changed in the past 10years I'm not sure why I had my hopes up for this one. When u switch players it decides to make change you to the guy selling popcorn. The penalties are outrageous. I'm not sure why they even put poke checking in the game. Just save your money. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    8
    Finally i think they may have it right? my main gripe from previous years has been the player control, ie/ turning overall lack ofFinally i think they may have it right? my main gripe from previous years has been the player control, ie/ turning overall lack of responsiveness. I'm finding in 19 it seems like the control has been somewhat corrected.
    The new features i like, upgrading traits etc a good addition. So if you love hockey you may find this year the one ?.
    Full Review »