Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Sep 19, 2019
    94
    If you’re a sports gamer who isn’t necessarily into hockey video games, you may be missing out on a title that has produced a rapidly improving product over the past two years. NHL 20 is my favorite edition of the series since NHL 13, and one of the best in franchise history.
  2. Sep 19, 2019
    91
    The gameplay has never been better and it carries over all the favorite modes from last year. I didn’t expect to be so glowing on this year’s release because on the surface this looked like NHL 19 the sequel, but I can happily report I was wrong and NHL 20 blasts a goal from the blue line.
  3. Sep 30, 2019
    90
    NHL 20 keeps on improving its formula both in terms of modes variety and gameplay, with an high authenticity and fluidity which makes us almost feel like we're there on the ice swapping blows with our opponents.
  4. Sep 13, 2019
    90
    NHL 20 successfully captures the ice hockey experience from the ponds to big games under the bright lights, with a fine attention to detail and simple yet deep controls that are best-in-class. Once you get over the shock of Eddie and Doc being out of the game, the new commentary team do an adept job of providing informative and playful banter, while the game's multitude of varied modes each have their own distinct feel and appeal that go a long way to make NHL 20 an excellent representation of hockey culture across the board.
  5. Oct 1, 2019
    85
    Not that fans of the NHL have any other choice if they want an up to date representation of their sport of choice, but NHL 20 is a great pickup. Even if you aren’t a huge hockey fan there is a lot to love here, and the ability to simplify the controls ensures that everyone can have fun even if they aren’t all that knowledgeable with respect to the sport. The new multiplayer modes are fun and the customization options added to CHEL make for a pretty good reward for playing. If you’ve ever enjoyed playing a hockey game, it’s worth checking this one out. If you love the sport, it’s pretty much a must buy.
  6. Sep 13, 2019
    85
    With all of the improvements to the on-ice product, it doesn’t take long to realize where the shortcomings of the franchise bleed through.
  7. Sep 12, 2019
    85
    NHL 20 is a decided improvement over NHL 18 and a step up from NHL 19, though you’d also be forgiven if you skipped out for a year.
  8. Nov 26, 2019
    80
    NHL 20 on Xbox One is a great hockey game with advanced physics, new exciting and engaging game modes, better transitions and replays and finally some new commentators; it really is EA’s best hockey game yet.
  9. Sep 24, 2019
    80
    If it doesn’t differ much from its predecessors, NHL 20 refines its tuning and sets its « World of Chel » as the main mode of the game, the one any ice-hockey fan will play forever.
  10. Sep 23, 2019
    80
    Much like the ice that the in-game players ply their trade on, NHL 20 has a stunning amount of polish.
  11. Sep 17, 2019
    80
    Though NHL 20 doesn't show massive improvements in any one area over its predecessor, there are enough additions and refinements to make it worth exploring.
  12. 80
    While game mode improvements are definitely minimal this year, the new gameplay mechanics definitely tip the scale towards making NHL 20 one that you probably will not want to skip.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 55
  2. Negative: 30 out of 55
  1. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    NHL2 0 released for early access on Sept. 5, 2019 and officially dropping on Sept. 13, 2019, it’s finally time for fans to get an idea ofNHL2 0 released for early access on Sept. 5, 2019 and officially dropping on Sept. 13, 2019, it’s finally time for fans to get an idea of exactly what NHL 20 is and that it's definitely worth the purchase. EA Sports made a huge leap with NHL 19 when they introduced RPM Tech 1.0. In NHL 20, they stepped it up a notch with RPM Tech 2.0. Goalies are also more effective when it comes to cutting off angles and preventing rebounds. You will see the occasional juicy rebound if you force a goaltender into desperation. The feel in-game in NHL 20 is as good as it’s ever been. The game feels smoother than previous versions of EA’s NHL franchise and because of this, it inherently feels fast. This is a very big plus for NHL 20 and any future sports title as it means that EA is starting to hone in on their RPM technology in a way that feels authentic to hockey’s real-life counterpart. Whether it’s the way skating feels, passing and shooting works compared to past years and even goaltender tendencies, NHL 20 hit the mark in just about every conceivable way this time around. The skating looks and feels good much like NHL 19, but the shooting and puck pickups make for a very invigorating experience. Gone are the days when your player throws a dribbling backhand shot on goal when you intended for them to take a wrist shot. Gone are the days when your player gets locked into an animation when picking up a loose puck or receiving a pass. I’ll start this off by admitting that I am a huge fan of Franchise Mode. It’s the first game mode I hop into when an NHL game is released. The updates they made in this regard are superb.EA finally added a coaching staff to the mode, which has been a staple in other sports games such as Madden NFL. They also added pre-draft interviews that can unlock crucial information about a player before you draft them, including personality traits, their skillset, and NHL readiness. If you’re a fan of the NHL franchise, this is definitely worth the pick-up as it is certainly the best title in the series to date so time to ice off that Xbox one! Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2019
    4
    I bought 3 packs in hut and received 3 untradeble Ivan Provorov...
    I played 7 online games in hut and 23 of 30 goals In my net scored after
    I bought 3 packs in hut and received 3 untradeble Ivan Provorov...
    I played 7 online games in hut and 23 of 30 goals In my net scored after breakout on board and pass to one timer.
    I saw a lot of bugs and stupid ai. This is last time when I bought nhl game.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2019
    2
    Game play and graphics all the same, 60$ for a roster update is kinda of ridiculous. Menus are still super slow, why not get rid of all theGame play and graphics all the same, 60$ for a roster update is kinda of ridiculous. Menus are still super slow, why not get rid of all the junk in the menus that make them slow. menus dont need any 3d effects. Forced to watch replays that usually have bad angles, why? Between periods when you press ready why not show playeror team stats. Full Review »