User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 15 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2019
    4
    I bought 3 packs in hut and received 3 untradeble Ivan Provorov...
    I played 7 online games in hut and 23 of 30 goals In my net scored after breakout on board and pass to one timer.
    I saw a lot of bugs and stupid ai. This is last time when I bought nhl game.
  2. Sep 17, 2019
    2
    Game play and graphics all the same, 60$ for a roster update is kinda of ridiculous. Menus are still super slow, why not get rid of all the junk in the menus that make them slow. menus dont need any 3d effects. Forced to watch replays that usually have bad angles, why? Between periods when you press ready why not show playeror team stats.
  3. Sep 25, 2019
    0
    I want to start by saying I am probably being a bit harsh on this. Gameplay is improved in NHL 20, and the coaching additions make franchise mode more fun. But thats all offline stuff. Offline, NHL 20 is a great experience. Online, it's easily the worst entry in the franchise in a long time. World of Chel is great....if you enjoy staring at loading screens. Games take forever to load, andI want to start by saying I am probably being a bit harsh on this. Gameplay is improved in NHL 20, and the coaching additions make franchise mode more fun. But thats all offline stuff. Offline, NHL 20 is a great experience. Online, it's easily the worst entry in the franchise in a long time. World of Chel is great....if you enjoy staring at loading screens. Games take forever to load, and when I queue up with my friends, I find we spend more time talking about the game rather than playing it, because load times are just so abysmal. Want to play some Hockey Ultimate Team? Might as well stick to Squad Battles. The servers are so laggy that every game is a frustrating mess. I have yet to have a game where i havent either had commands i press just not be processed by the servers, or have goals scored while the servers lagged out and wouldnt let me control my guy. Online gameplay is just not actual NHL gameplay, you can't use normal logic. big guys can't knock small guys off the puck, small guys can't make any sort of turn with any speed, and passes are so late that sometimes its best just to run into a defender and hope you get the loose puck. I get this probably comes off as whiny, but i'm not just a sore loser here. Even games I won i've had these issues, or even had a game I won where my opponent had an open chance to tie the game but the game caused him to dump the puck into the corner instead of takw a shot on net. I even checked to see if the lag was due to my internet, since NHL lets you check your connection, and it was mostly in the green for connection despite me clearly experiencing issues. Just many things that make the online experience the worst one i've had in recent memory with a sports game.

    tl;dr - NHL 20 is actually a pretty good game offline, a definite improvement. Online, the game is worthless. Oh, and they still havent dont anything with Be A Pro
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    NHL2 0 released for early access on Sept. 5, 2019 and officially dropping on Sept. 13, 2019, it’s finally time for fans to get an idea of exactly what NHL 20 is and that it's definitely worth the purchase. EA Sports made a huge leap with NHL 19 when they introduced RPM Tech 1.0. In NHL 20, they stepped it up a notch with RPM Tech 2.0. Goalies are also more effective when it comes toNHL2 0 released for early access on Sept. 5, 2019 and officially dropping on Sept. 13, 2019, it’s finally time for fans to get an idea of exactly what NHL 20 is and that it's definitely worth the purchase. EA Sports made a huge leap with NHL 19 when they introduced RPM Tech 1.0. In NHL 20, they stepped it up a notch with RPM Tech 2.0. Goalies are also more effective when it comes to cutting off angles and preventing rebounds. You will see the occasional juicy rebound if you force a goaltender into desperation. The feel in-game in NHL 20 is as good as it’s ever been. The game feels smoother than previous versions of EA’s NHL franchise and because of this, it inherently feels fast. This is a very big plus for NHL 20 and any future sports title as it means that EA is starting to hone in on their RPM technology in a way that feels authentic to hockey’s real-life counterpart. Whether it’s the way skating feels, passing and shooting works compared to past years and even goaltender tendencies, NHL 20 hit the mark in just about every conceivable way this time around. The skating looks and feels good much like NHL 19, but the shooting and puck pickups make for a very invigorating experience. Gone are the days when your player throws a dribbling backhand shot on goal when you intended for them to take a wrist shot. Gone are the days when your player gets locked into an animation when picking up a loose puck or receiving a pass. I’ll start this off by admitting that I am a huge fan of Franchise Mode. It’s the first game mode I hop into when an NHL game is released. The updates they made in this regard are superb.EA finally added a coaching staff to the mode, which has been a staple in other sports games such as Madden NFL. They also added pre-draft interviews that can unlock crucial information about a player before you draft them, including personality traits, their skillset, and NHL readiness. If you’re a fan of the NHL franchise, this is definitely worth the pick-up as it is certainly the best title in the series to date so time to ice off that Xbox one! Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2019
    3
    If you played any of the past 5 iterations of this game you played NHL 20. It's all funneled to make you buy packs in HUT with very, very little in terms of new additions. Same game with the same old issues, slow simulation and menu times and the hated cross crease passes that are guaranteed goals are back. Animations are nice, smoother puck pick up works most of the time but coaches areIf you played any of the past 5 iterations of this game you played NHL 20. It's all funneled to make you buy packs in HUT with very, very little in terms of new additions. Same game with the same old issues, slow simulation and menu times and the hated cross crease passes that are guaranteed goals are back. Animations are nice, smoother puck pick up works most of the time but coaches are more of a headache than they are worth and literally nothing else has changed. Sure they brought in "line chemistry" but it's something we had before they abandoned. Time to take this franchise to the chopping block and rebuild it. Major revamps to GM and Be a Pro are needed, more accurate face scans and finally the inclusion of more leagues and development programs. At this point most of us who buy year after year are jaded customers who are praying without any hope EA might be able to deliver a decent hockey game but i'd have better odds if I bet on the Leafs to offer me a contract than EA making a good hockey game. Bright side is at least they spice up the UI every year right guys? Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2019
    9
    NHL 20 is by far an improvement over 19, one of the big things is your team's AI are a lot more switched on, they defend, attack the puck, big kudos for that. The overall game play is better more control over your player. The addition of squad battles awesome enough for me anyway as i mainly play that mode and Chel. I have been playing solid a week before retail release via ea access, forNHL 20 is by far an improvement over 19, one of the big things is your team's AI are a lot more switched on, they defend, attack the puck, big kudos for that. The overall game play is better more control over your player. The addition of squad battles awesome enough for me anyway as i mainly play that mode and Chel. I have been playing solid a week before retail release via ea access, for me the best version for a long time Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2019
    8
    It is far from perfect, but has a lot of potential. Gameplay has improved a lot. Be a Pro needs a little bit more of love.
  8. Oct 8, 2019
    3
    I only play be a pro and gm modes. Neither was really upgraded just made more tiresome. Turned off autosave for gm mode so that I could keep meticulous back ups. Game autosaved anyway, overwriting and destroying nearly 15 hours worth of gameplay with them. Dont offer no autosave as an option if it isnt optional. Horribly dissapointed. Uninstalled and wont be playing again. Waste of $60.
  9. Oct 5, 2019
    2
    Where to start.. I'm playing EA NHL since its first edition on Sega mega drive,, and this generation of consoles has been totally screwed by EA... This once great franchise has been stripped down with everything focused on the cash grab gamemode HUT,,, Out went GMC a few years ago with the excuse "no one plays it",,, a stripped down promode and GM mode,,, don't get me started on the AI,,Where to start.. I'm playing EA NHL since its first edition on Sega mega drive,, and this generation of consoles has been totally screwed by EA... This once great franchise has been stripped down with everything focused on the cash grab gamemode HUT,,, Out went GMC a few years ago with the excuse "no one plays it",,, a stripped down promode and GM mode,,, don't get me started on the AI,, this year's commentary is awfull... And no presentation... Again everything,, and I mean everything is trying to force u to play the cash grab mode,, EA is a prime example of how to ruin a once great franchise through Utter greed... They would be better off just releasing NHL 14 again because that's the last decent game they have made... I dread the next generation games because if this one is anything to go buy EA will have us paying to turn on the game. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2019
    0
    I can't believe they allowed this to be released. The gameplay mechanics and AI are an embarrassment. A waste of money. Should have been a 99 cent add on to NHL 19. That's about all the "added content" is worth.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 1, 2019
    85
    Not that fans of the NHL have any other choice if they want an up to date representation of their sport of choice, but NHL 20 is a great pickup. Even if you aren’t a huge hockey fan there is a lot to love here, and the ability to simplify the controls ensures that everyone can have fun even if they aren’t all that knowledgeable with respect to the sport. The new multiplayer modes are fun and the customization options added to CHEL make for a pretty good reward for playing. If you’ve ever enjoyed playing a hockey game, it’s worth checking this one out. If you love the sport, it’s pretty much a must buy.
  2. Sep 30, 2019
    90
    NHL 20 keeps on improving its formula both in terms of modes variety and gameplay, with an high authenticity and fluidity which makes us almost feel like we're there on the ice swapping blows with our opponents.
  3. Sep 24, 2019
    80
    If it doesn’t differ much from its predecessors, NHL 20 refines its tuning and sets its « World of Chel » as the main mode of the game, the one any ice-hockey fan will play forever.