Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 6, 2017
    90
    Bloober Team’s latest is one of the scariest horror experiences I’ve played in a long time, and its strong sense of place, story, and action put it above the majority of other games in the genre. Observer is simply the best of both worlds and is a must-play for anyone who considers themselves a fan of either sci-fi or horror.
  2. Aug 24, 2017
    90
    If you want to travel to the future, hack into a suspect’s mind and have nightmares for a week, then this is the game for you. Trust me it’s well worth it.
  3. Aug 21, 2017
    90
    Observer sets out with a unique premise, delivering a natural psychological horror experience on an unconventional cybernetic canvas. While the depth to its world is welcome, the game still thrives during its brief thrilling encounters, built on the recollections of the insane.
  4. Aug 18, 2017
    87
    A thrilling and insane first person trip in a retro-futuristic world, with a surprising story and great visuals. Suggested to any lover of story-driven adventures.
  5. Aug 31, 2017
    85
    Observer is a fantastic experience. A mixture of genres that presents us with an exciting futuristic story, full of tension and terror. With a great graphic and great design. If you like cyberpunk's aesthetics and stories, you can not let it pass.
  6. Jan 2, 2018
    80
    The gameplay elements may be basic and not exciting on their own, but it’s more about the journey you undertake rather than just reaching the end point. The level design is brilliant and some of the experiences are very memorable even though it has flaws. If you’re into the cyberpunk genre and want to experience something completely unique and twisted, look no further than >observer_.
  7. Sep 5, 2017
    80
    The masterful performance of Rutger Hauer and the limitless creativity for terror and artistic design shown by Bloober Team, makes this production stand out from the mundane, despite its erratic frame rate (in some occasions) and the basic challenges posed by the title.
  8. Aug 17, 2017
    75
    Overall, Observer is a great game which is let down by its technical side on Xbox One. The game needs more polish but I’m not sure if this will happen because even after months Layers of Fear remained at a suboptimal level. I hope Observer doesn’t have the same fate. Unlike Layers of Fear, Observer doesn’t need that much work so there’s hope.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Aug 20, 2017
    4
    Been a while since I was so disappointed in a game, and feel it necessary to write a review - my first - in opposition to all the positivityBeen a while since I was so disappointed in a game, and feel it necessary to write a review - my first - in opposition to all the positivity it seems to have garnered, so strongly do I feel it's undeserved. Honestly, I am at a loss as to how it's gotten so much praise.

    Speaking solely for the Xbox One version, there are times when Observer is nigh on unplayable. The frame rate is often jarring, and there are constant freezes and stutters. Anything beyond a few feet is fuzzy and out of focus. Several doors literally took a few minutes to even open - so much so that I Initially thought I wasn't supposed to be going through them. The game glitched at one point, causing me to spend a good 15mins trying to work out what I was supposed to do, before resorting to a walkthrough - something I despise - only to discover the only way to proceed was to reload the game. Added to this, it also crashed a little after this.

    Technical issues aside, the hacking into people's memories was initially fun...but Blooper Team purposely decided to put all these graphical glitches in, to the point that they become, to my mind, the absolute worst part of the game. With each and every hack, it becomes an absolute chore trying to work out where to go and just what the hell you're supposed to actually be doing. Especially when the screen is shaking and these glitches are obscuring vast chunks of the screen. Truly starts to feel overly protentious.

    The games is not completely without positives. Indeed, if not for the intriguing narrative, and setting, there's no way I would have made it through to the end. I adore Blade Runner, and there's a slight nod to that here, but nowhere near as much as I was hoping, though Rutger Hauer does a fine job. And all in all, the absolute slog to get to the end leaves me wishing I hadn't spent so much on the game. Indeed, the sole reason for feeling compelled to write a review is to warn others that, on Xbox One at least, this game feels thoroughly unfinished and, even at half the price, would be too much. Truly feel fairly appalled that a game can ship in this state, and Blooper Team have the cheek to ask for so much money. And I am absolutely mystified at the high scores it's been getting. At the very least, please check out a stream or two before investing in this thoroughly disappointing and underwhelming experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2017
    8
    Observer
    Slow start but a great finish
    Observer is an about 6 and a half hr long cyberpunk styled psychological horror game where you play
    Observer
    Slow start but a great finish
    Observer is an about 6 and a half hr long cyberpunk styled psychological horror game where you play as detective Daniel Lazarski investigating an apartment building after he gets a call from his son adam, you spend the rest of the game trying to find out exactly what happened to your son and to the other murdered victims in this building..
    This game is developed by the same team that made one of my most favorite horror games of all time layers of fear, so I was extremely excited to try this one out
    and admittedly I was very disappointed in the games first half…
    The first half to me felt like a door to door salesman simulator..
    youre just knocking on door after door until someone answers and you interrogate them to help you progress through the game
    Youre finding codes and throwing switched to access different areas and youll eventually find yourself investigating a crimescene, there are computers around with mini games within the game as well as documents to get you deeper into these characters, but this is where you do batman style scanning of the items at the crime scene trying to figure out exactly what happened to the victim
    but you can take getting information a step further
    you play as an observer.. youre able to plug into minds and see a distorted reality of your target to get answers buried deep in their conscious and subsconsious through a chip they have in their head, which is found by scanning them..
    these moments arewhere the game becomes great,
    a lot of puzzles and mind tricks and survival horror , shifting rooms much like the layers of fear games…
    and each one offers an intriguing and unique experience, stopping it from feeling repetitive like the investigator part of the game
    I didn’t necisarily find this game to be scary, but its definitely unsettling..
    and once you reach the end of that characters story things are blurry and you have to take a pill… this happens as you wander around the building for too long as well..
    im not really sure the point of this mechanic.. its just makes the game ugly, choppy, and hard to look at.. but it’s a thing and you have to look for these pills around the rooms.. but then youre back to being a door to door salesman..
    until finally youre not anymore..
    theres one final door to door section underground which is where I ran into the only bug during my play time where the night vision wouldn’t click off, thankfully this was fixed by backing out into the menue and coming back into the game…
    but the 2nd half of the game is very linear and is like one giant chunk of the mind hacking stuff and its great..
    shifting rooms, illusions, questions, answers, monsters…
    I much preferred going through these mind bending moments that made me fall in love with layers of fear so much…
    I was worried with the initial direction the game was taking, but the brilliant story telling pulled me through to the good stuff
    Who knows, maybe you end up liking the door to door stuff and finding codes and investigating areas..
    I didn’t.. and if you don’t I promise you that its definitely worth getting through the slow drag of the games first half and dealing with all of its knocking on doors, puzzles and switches to get to its 2nd half..
    Bloober Team delivers again with a great psychological horror experience
    I give Observer
    a 7.5/10
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 16, 2017
    10
    As soon as I realised this game was made by some polish developers I got curious. By experience most developers from Eastern Europe alwaysAs soon as I realised this game was made by some polish developers I got curious. By experience most developers from Eastern Europe always care a lot for a unique style, story and atmosphere and luckily I was not disappointed. A dystopian horror adventure with great character and a likeable protagonist! Sadly performance isn't that great but ok for such a game.
    Do me a favour...watch the first hour or so in a let's play...if you like what you see buy it! Small developers who dare to bring us experiences like that deserve to be supported!
    Full Review »