Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Apr 1, 2020
    81
    Overpass is a very difficult driving game, we will need to put all our senses into completing the circuits in the most efficient way. You can drive around 40 circuits and 20 vesicles between quads and buggies, and you can complete all the courses.
  2. Feb 28, 2020
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Mar 2, 2020
    72
    BigBen Interactive brings us this unconventional proposal of driving simulators where we will get behind the wheel of some of the most powerful ATVs and UTVs in the market to try to overcome obstacles that are totally impossible at first sight, from huge muddy slopes with great unevenness to really impracticable paved areas.
  4. Mar 2, 2020
    70
    While it lacks the charm of Trials, Overpass mostly manages to get that one-more-go feeling of trial and error right. It can be quite frustrating at times, and a little more feedback for the player to use wouldn’t have gone amiss, but if you’re after a challenging racer there’s plenty to enjoy here.
  5. Feb 28, 2020
    70
    Overpass is different, and we like that. Yes, it’s hard and challenging, but it’s not like other racing games –you’re not supposed to be able to win the first time you race. It’s a shame that technically is very flawed and can get repetitive, but its core is solid.
  6. Apr 1, 2020
    68
    Overpass is a racing game that defies the genre, as it’s not what you would consider a true racing game. It is more of an off-road, slow paced driving game where you need to discover the best way to get from start to finish. It is one that will no doubt frustrate you often, and one where the sound may grate on your nerves, but the foundation of something special is here. I truly hope that this is not a one-off title, as a sequel to fix some of the annoyances would make this a game that driving fans must have, but as of right now, Overpass is an experiment that has many redeeming qualities, but the negative ones hold it back from being the great gaming experience it could be.
  7. Feb 27, 2020
    60
    Overpass on Xbox One just about fills a spot in the racing genre without it ever really being a game for the racing fan. In fact, if you’re looking for all-out speed then I’d tell you to stay as far away as possible. This is instead a precision motorsport brawler that pits you against the clock and tells you to get on with it - faults and all. While the Career is reasonable fun, working well across the obstacle courses, the sheer hellish nature of some of the hill climb events knock this off-roading beast down a notch or two, quite possibly causing far too much frustration and annoyance for anyone outside of the ‘scene’.
  8. Feb 27, 2020
    50
    The time and effort needed to get good at this game is just not worth the price of trudging through hours of annoying tedium.
  9. Feb 27, 2020
    40
    If Overpass‘ events were a bit shorter, if you felt like you had more of a connection with your vehicle, if you didn’t get stuck so often, then it would actually be a decent game. As it stands, however, it’s rarely fun. Playing Overpass just made me angry, and I don’t like being angry. It’s like banging your head against a brick wall, repeatedly. It’s frustrating beyond belief. Why would you want to pay to introduce that feeling into your life?
  10. Feb 27, 2020
    40
    A profoundly boring racing game that initially holds your hand, then tears it off and eats it. Overpass is too hard, too irritating, and just too damn loathsome an experience to recommend in any way.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 27, 2020
    This hardcore off-road driving sim is focused and compelling, but just a bit too austere for its own good.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Mar 17, 2020
    7
    Overpass. I went into this eyes closed. I enjoy racing games, however I am very poor at them, Overpass was no different. My first mistakeOverpass. I went into this eyes closed. I enjoy racing games, however I am very poor at them, Overpass was no different. My first mistake was not fully appreciating the fact this is more simulator than game, as such the complexities of racing truly off road, in a forrest, or around a quarry or even on the beach soon dawn on me. With incredable detail put into the driving aspect of this game and how to tackle each terrain and obstacle you encounter, from a lowly rock, to a great big muddy slope. I did eventually get to grips with the mechanics and found myself natually switching between 4WD, Diff, and 2WD and not so rev happy as I normally would have been. As such I honestly believe in the hands of somebody used to sim racing off road this game would make great gaming, however for more casual gamers, beware, the learning curve can be infuriating and confusing, this not arcadey. My only real critical points of note for this game would be this game felt more suited to 3rd person viewing, with "cockpit" view being very awkward and not as a nice experience as with other racing games. Finally, I found the water effects somewhat lacking, in regards to puddles and the shore etc felt somewhat static and only movement was spray from rear tyres, no side splash, no ripples, just felt in all the game needed something more. Overall a solid entry into this genre and a good addition for any hardcore racing sim enthusiasts and anyone who wants to put their racing skills to the test. Full Review »
  2. Mar 27, 2020
    3
    This game is honestly trash. I had high hopes and it’s a complete let down. The obstacles are near impossible and it’s nearly a miracle toThis game is honestly trash. I had high hopes and it’s a complete let down. The obstacles are near impossible and it’s nearly a miracle to even finish a race. I’d never waste money on this game and I suggest you do to either. All that comes with this game is pure frustration Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2020
    8
    Overpass is truly a hidden gem. Actually I don't like racing games too much but this one feels like Colin Mc Rae Rally on the firstOverpass is truly a hidden gem. Actually I don't like racing games too much but this one feels like Colin Mc Rae Rally on the first Playstation - and that is great. Overpass demands a little patience and some practise before success and satisfaction can be attained. But after a somewhat rough start it is very satisfying and rewarding. Mastering courses and vehicles sometimes feels kind of like beating bosses in Dark Souls. Unfortunately the game got many negative reviews. I think that the reviewers did not have the time and will to test Overpass properly. It is actually a really good game with an unique approach to the genre. I like it a lot. Only the annoying screen tearing on XBox one X has to be fixed. Full Review »