Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Sep 6, 2018
    88
    PES 2019 is an evolution of the previous title improving what was seen and offering one of the best experiences of the saga.
  2. Games Master UK
    Oct 4, 2018
    87
    An essential slice of football heaven, but some neglected game modes are going stale. [Nov 2018, p.72]
  3. Sep 3, 2018
    85
    PES 2019 is the best game in the series for this generation. It has the most realistic football, but it also lacks significant licensing and has a slow pace that may not please everyone.
  4. Aug 28, 2018
    85
    PES 2019 doesn’t enjoy all the fancy official FIFA licences. But it has much more to offer. Its gameplay is sleek, pleasant, and well-balanced, turning PES into a addictive video game for every football lover.
  5. Aug 28, 2018
    82
    You shouldn’t buy PES 2019 for its new modes - there aren’t any of note. Nor should you buy it for major changes to existing modes - the ones made are minor. If you do opt in this year, it should be for the focus on player individuality that sets this iteration apart from all previous years.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 21, 2018
    80
    Still the best footballing gameplay out there, shame about the licenses. [Dec 2018, p.86]
  7. Sep 10, 2018
    80
    PES 2019 is the ideal game for the football purist, but don’t expect to be blown away by new stuff.
  8. Sep 7, 2018
    80
    The only way to ensure that players don’t forego buying PES 2019 in favor of FIFA 19 is to hope that they stick with the controls long enough for them to appreciate the deeper mechanics that make PES 2019 so good.
  9. Sep 5, 2018
    80
    PES 2019 is probably the best football game around once you're on the pitch, thanks to its great gameplay, great variety and tactical options; unluckily, though, the whole package feels outdated due to the lack of important licenses and new features.
  10. 80
    Last year, we said that PES 2019 needs to go big or go home. And while Konami has indeed gone big on refinements and minor changes, the same modes, presentation and lack of licenses holds this year's game back again somewhat. Which is why it's fortunate that PES 2019 still plays a mean game of football. Your move, FIFA.
  11. Sep 3, 2018
    80
    An evolution. While the loss of the Champions League License and legacy issues associated with that keep it from the top of the table, its exemplary on-the-pitch action definitely keep it within reach of its rival. If you love PES, this won’t change your opinion, but it also likely won’t convert you if you do not.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 17 out of 55
  1. Sep 2, 2018
    8
    Pro Evolution has never looked and sounded better and the presentation side of the game really does bring a very immersive and realistic edgePro Evolution has never looked and sounded better and the presentation side of the game really does bring a very immersive and realistic edge to the game. The passing and movement of the players is absolutely brilliant and the level of detail when it comes to slick flowing moves is off the charts. There are a few little inclusions this time around and some of them such as the visible fatigue do make things become even more realistic. Technically the game holds up really well throughout your time with the game and I’m pleased to say that they’ve got the ball physics spot on in my opinion.There aren’t any new modes this time around there’s still more than enough to keep you coming back for more time and time again. The sound design is brilliant but once again the sound design is let down by some poor commentary and it will get on your nerves quite a lot. Unfortunately there are no new game modes and the lack of licenses still hurts the game when it comes to its appeal. Does Pro Evolution Soccer 2019 do enough to get a recommendation from me? Last year’s Pro Evo was probably the best in recent memory and even though I prefer the FIFA series it still managed to tick a lot of boxes for me. Pro Evolution Soccer 2019 may not be as good as last year’s game but it still delivers in a number of key areas and without a doubt the gameplay feels as smooth and realistic as ever. I also think the game looks better this year in terms of the visuals and the presentation side of the game would’ve been even better if it weren’t for the annoying and sometimes poor commentary. Thankfully though it doesn’t really suffer anywhere else and technically the game acts and plays really well making playing any game very realistic and most important of all fun. At the end of the day Pro Evolution Soccer 2019 will satisfy a lot of people and it’s still a great alternative to FIFA and if you’re anything like me then I recommend that you get both games. Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    I don't have PES, but I am giving it a 10 because I am freaking disappointed at EA. They managed to delever the worst Fifa in history! TheI don't have PES, but I am giving it a 10 because I am freaking disappointed at EA. They managed to delever the worst Fifa in history! The user score is 3.3 (so far), meanwhile, PES has a 8.1. This proves that KONAMI is worried about gaming experience, while EA is worried about making more money with FUT premium packages (the only real improvement they were worried about). Fifa is no longer a Football game, I'll download this new PES, I hope it's good. Full Review »
  3. Aug 30, 2018
    10
    muito bom jogo, está melhorando a cada ano, ainda necessita melhorar no quesito das licenças, mas em termos de jogabilidade já apresenta umamuito bom jogo, está melhorando a cada ano, ainda necessita melhorar no quesito das licenças, mas em termos de jogabilidade já apresenta uma grande evolução se comparado à versão 2018. Full Review »