Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. May 18, 2019
    85
    Rage 2 shines in its gunfights, driving sequences, and from the fun perks and upgrades that you can use. The open world is an invitation to exploration but still sometimes feels a bit empty.
  2. May 17, 2019
    85
    RAGE 2 is DOOM's bastard. A rewarding and brutal action that minimize the problems generated by the open world and repetitive nature of its activities. It is the best shooter you can find today, but its open world could be much better.
  3. May 16, 2019
    85
    Rage 2 is above all else just a big dumb fun time. Sure it has a lot of shortcomings, but the minute-to-minute game play is so well-polished I couldn’t help but have a great time. So much so that I found myself going back and completing areas in full even after credits rolled. It is the kind of game I shut my brain off and just go into a zone and lay waste to all enemies in front of me. The combat feels great, the powers are incredibly fun, and so much of the game just made me feel like a total badass. I can finally forgive the end of the first game, Rage 2 is simply put, a blast.
  4. May 22, 2019
    83
    RAGE 2 offers a tight open-world FPS experience, with a satisfying gunplay and a totally loading-free experience. Too bad for the forgettable story and lack of HDR and 4K support, two factors detracting from its overall value.
  5. May 22, 2019
    81
    RAGE 2 is a really great game and easily one of the top shooters of this generation, but it fails with its open world approach.
  6. May 20, 2019
    80
    Rage 2’s main drawbacks sit with its uninteresting story and its awkward, convoluted structure of progression. If you’ve both the forgiveness and the patience to overlook all of that, a shooter that deals in explosive action and sheer depth awaits. Rage 2 is all about having a mindless blast, and between its vastly varied combat, its interesting world, and its diverse gameplay, it certainly delivers on that front, and then some.
  7. May 16, 2019
    80
    Where RAGE 2 truly shines is its relentless, unapologetic, apocalyptic violence, which has long been id Software's forte.
  8. May 16, 2019
    80
    An unbridled joy to play, RAGE 2 is something that puts an onus on having fun and has no pretenses of being anything else beyond that.
  9. May 16, 2019
    79
    Combat is by far the biggest selling point of Rage 2, and Avalanche Software should be proud of a title that continually draws comparisons the super-tight Doom reboot in my mind. I live for combat within Rage 2 and get sad when I have to get into whatever shitty vehicle I’m driving to get to the next combat experience. The open world represents boredom and padding to me, but it’s worth the slog for the combat.
  10. 75
    With super-satisfying combat and an ever-growing arsenal of weapons, powers and abilities, Rage 2 is one of the best-feeling singleplayer shooters around. Its inconsistent tone, ho-hum story and uninspired open world missions keep if from achieving true greatness, but it never stops being a whole lot of fun in the moment.
  11. May 16, 2019
    75
    Even after 8 years, the Rage series is still having an identity crisis. It has all the signifiers of an open-world game, but it lacks the overall narrative that makes the world compelling, and its best bits—that is, its gunfights—take places in either small, complexly designed arenas or in hallways, like a linear shooter. The greatest irony about Rage 2 is that it might have been an even better, more interesting game if it was more like the first game with a fresh coat of (pink) paint. What it is now is just a bunch of sound and fury, which can be fun for a while, but it’s ultimately an empty experience.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 193
  2. Negative: 61 out of 193
  1. May 14, 2019
    8
    Rage 2 reminds me of a cross between the Avalanche Studios released Mad Max based on the films, which become a great game thanks in part toRage 2 reminds me of a cross between the Avalanche Studios released Mad Max based on the films, which become a great game thanks in part to the gorgeous wasteland icreated for it with s splash of the borderlands series thrown in for good measure. I was expecting similarities in Mad Max because Rage is similarly inspired by Mad Max and created by the the same developer as Mad Max was. However Rage 2's world feels a little empty to me. There are a few gorgeous locations, and some nice differences in what’s there to traverse, but lacks somewhere in the quality I was expecting. I do like that it's a smaller, more detailed map rather than a giant, mostly empty space. The gunplay unfolds nice and chunky and weapons and diversity in the use of the skill trees available in the game are quite nice. Rage 2 will likely fill the hunger of any fan of the now franchise of Rage, but those like me who didn’t experience the 1st game or wasn’t a huge fan of the 1st game may still feel like they expected more overall. Don’t get me wrong Rage 2 get’s much more right than it get’s wrong but it didn’t live up to the ”hype” I was anticipating from what at many times is a beautiful smooth experience. In the end it get’s much more right than wrong and a despite my little complaints it’s a worthy addition to the Xbox One library. There’s so much to explore and no two play-throughs would unfold the same, so there is definitely something here for shooter fans of any sort. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2019
    10
    what is the deal with trolls giving this game bad reviews? I'm lazy so it's rare that I take the time to review a video game. I'm halfwaywhat is the deal with trolls giving this game bad reviews? I'm lazy so it's rare that I take the time to review a video game. I'm halfway through Rage 2, the game is fun as hell, whoever said the game is boring has not played this game. The graphics are beautiful, I enjoy the colors, the only bad point is there is no HDR, but the game still looks great and plays smooth. So ignore the trolls, I'm enjoying this game so far, also I did play the original Rage Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2019
    6
    I initially thought this game was a 9, but after beating it, it's a 6. Main missions only add up to 7 hrs gameplay and the last 2 missionsI initially thought this game was a 9, but after beating it, it's a 6. Main missions only add up to 7 hrs gameplay and the last 2 missions are boring. The side missions are all the same. The game runs well, but is poorly designed. A real shame. Full Review »