Rare Replay Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rare assembles the adventures of its iconic characters in a collection of thirty games that span the decades. From its earliest 2D classics to Xbox 360 hits, Rare Replay delivers a gaming array for veteran players and newcomers alike. Includes Perfect Dark, Killer Instinct Gold, Viva Pinata,Rare assembles the adventures of its iconic characters in a collection of thirty games that span the decades. From its earliest 2D classics to Xbox 360 hits, Rare Replay delivers a gaming array for veteran players and newcomers alike. Includes Perfect Dark, Killer Instinct Gold, Viva Pinata, Kameo, Banjo Kazooie, Conker's Bad Fur Day, Perfect Dark Zero, and a bunch more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rare Replay - E3 Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    100
    Rare Replay is a piece of gaming history full of legendary games that everyone should play.
  2. Aug 4, 2015
    92
    Rare Replay is loaded with gems and classics that by and large have stood the test of time. Modern tweaks and goodies make it all the more worthwhile. It's the best value in gaming, and sets the bar for any compilation going forward.
  3. Aug 10, 2015
    90
    It's a great trip down memory lane, one that I bet will bring a lot of smiles to faces young and old.
  4. Sep 29, 2015
    85
    Rare Replay is a fantastic collection of great games, quality is very high and in many cases enhanced by graphical improvements. The section devoted to the ZX Spectrum has mainly historical value, but titles such as Knight Lore and Jetpac manage to surprise even today. The library Xbox 360 must be seen as a bonus and is seen more as an excuse to investigate the potential emulator Xbox One, really incredible. The absence of titles Nintendo is felt quite heavily and some choices, such as insert Killer Instinct Gold, are questionable, but at that price you should not miss this.
  5. Aug 7, 2015
    83
    Rare Replay is a well-done collection of titles and special features, and is almost as much of a no-brainer purchase for every Xbox One owner as Halo: The Master Chief Collection.
  6. Just as entertaining as playing some of the games is fast-forwarding through the progression of Rare’s work over a period of decades. It’s like watching the evolution of the medium itself.
  7. 60
    So, yeah, we've gotten very accustomed to these video-game walks down memory lane. But that doesn't keep this stroll from being a pleasant one.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 3 out of 71
  1. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    Best game collection ever. I'm glad I can play all these games from my childhood again and 30 games for $30? Wow, if you have an Xbox, this isBest game collection ever. I'm glad I can play all these games from my childhood again and 30 games for $30? Wow, if you have an Xbox, this is definitely a must-buy! Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2015
    10
    For a collection of 30 games for such a low price this is amazing value, this is a great showcase of Rares talent and a great Xbox OneFor a collection of 30 games for such a low price this is amazing value, this is a great showcase of Rares talent and a great Xbox One exclusive to give you a taste of whats to come in the run up to the new 2016 game Sea of thieves, Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    Awesome game, reminds me when I was a child and played with my friends :) And 30 games for just $30??? I had to buy it!! Is a game that everyAwesome game, reminds me when I was a child and played with my friends :) And 30 games for just $30??? I had to buy it!! Is a game that every Xbox owner should have!! Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2016
    9
    A Near Perfect Game That's Worth A Damn
    Rare has done a perfect job on Rare Replay. But.... There are a few drawbacks.
    1. NOT ALL GAMES ARE
    A Near Perfect Game That's Worth A Damn
    Rare has done a perfect job on Rare Replay. But.... There are a few drawbacks.
    1. NOT ALL GAMES ARE ON THE DISC! 9 of those 30 games(ALL Banjo-Kazooie games, BOTH Perfect Dark games, BOTH Viva Piñata games, Jetpac: Refuelled and Kameo) are all on Xbox Live Arcade. So, you need to download ALL THE XBLA GAMES and that has more gigabytes than the game.
    2. WAIT TIME. ALL of the XBLA games have a huge wait. First the Screen shows up. And Wait. And Wait. And Wait. And then the Xbox 360 logo shows up. And wait. And wait. And then, the game starts.
    3.SLOWDOWN(ESPECIALLY NUTS AND BOLTS)
    Apart of these drawbacks, it's a damn powerful game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2015
    9
    A great collection for retro gamers and newcomers alike.
    Microsoft hit a raw nerve with a lot of people by mentioning Conker and then having
    A great collection for retro gamers and newcomers alike.
    Microsoft hit a raw nerve with a lot of people by mentioning Conker and then having it just be dlc for Project Spark. This feels like their apology note and it is a bloody good one.
    All the games run great and despite having to install a few separate they are all there and accessible. Had all the games been on disk it would have certainly warranted a 10/10 from me. Getting to play through Conker and Banjo Kazooie again alone is worth the £20 price tag. But you also get Battletoads (a great super difficult game you can easily throw hours and hours into) and a whole plethora of assorted Commodore era, n64 era and arcade era games. Hopefully this starts a trend with companies to give is more collection titles like this and Sega's ultimate mega drive collection for last gen.
    Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2015
    8
    For this review, I am not focusing on the games themselves. rather the offering of a Rare collection on next-gen systems.

    Not All 30 Titles
    For this review, I am not focusing on the games themselves. rather the offering of a Rare collection on next-gen systems.

    Not All 30 Titles Are Exclusive to the Disc/Bundle

    As some of you may know, some games in the collection are actually the Xbox Live (360) Arcade versions emulated on the X1, requiring only a one-time online activation). This means if you own the XBLA versions you'll get them for free on the same account (which are playable now on X1).

    These include the following titles: Banjo Kazooie 1, 2 and Nuts & Bolts; Perfect Dark & Perfect Dark Zero; the Viva Pinata games; Grabbed by the Ghoulies (maybe available on XBLA); Jetpac Refuled; and Kameo. (At least a third of the games are downloadable titles on the marketplace..)

    I think this is an important aspect to point out. Let's face it, if you are a devoted fan you probably own the XBLA versions or the original releases. So what are the other titles besides the heavy hitters? Seven arcade-machine games, eight NES games, the arcade version of Battletoads, and the rest are the N64 titles.

    None of which are bad. However, there's nothing that compares with the mascots of Rare's biggest success outside a few games from the NES. For myself, I knew I wanted to play through all of these games for historical value as well as getting my first time with Rare's classics.

    For game-collectors or Rare enthusiasts/die-hards who own all these games, I think you should ask yourself if the other games are worth the $30 price-tag along with the "extras" (achievements, behind-the-scenes, and the NES Remix-like mode).

    Incentives?

    Considering how much the box, the game itself, and the marketing for Rare Replay focused on things like 10,000 Gamerscore for Achievements, I do think a section is needed for this game. After all, there is something to be said of completing challenges and getting some stupid little reward for the effort.

    Unfortunately, as I mentioned beforehand, if you own the XBLA games and have all the achievements, then there's nothing new for those games; they have the same exact achievements. But the Rare Replay (game) has its own incentives for completing challenges.

    The new "milestones" for older games and the games not on the XBLA are more small obstacles you'll eventually overcome if you get good at the game, which I am totally fine with. The first ones are always "Try your first game" stamps of approval that'll help you unlock bonus content. But eventually you get more brutal ones like "finish all the levels" for an arcade-game with no continues.

    They're not as daunting as they sound because you have several tools you can abuse; quick-saves, the rewind-button and even cheats. No penalties are given for using these tools.

    But what do we unlock with these milestones? Concept art; hours worth of behind-the-scenes' footage; footage of several games that were never finished but always had the potential; and secret music-tracks that were removed from the game.

    The last few treats I think might entice collectors or enthusiasts to buy this collection. However, you don't choose what you unlock, so you have to get to whatever rank to get what you want.

    I do rather enjoy these rewards as I have a soft-spot for Rare, even when they make something I don't like I still wanna know what the thought-process was involved in the game's creation. You can probably YouTube these video-clips if they interest you.

    Another addition to these games is a NES Remix-like system for the games on the disc (not the XBLA games). They are essentially like the NES Remix where you have to do a simple objective in a certain amount of time, but there is nothing crazy to make that experience worthwhile.

    I was hoping to have fun seeing stuff like Banjo in a Conker game or Jetpac dude in Saberwulf. Those would have been worth the price of admission!

    Rare(ly), I am surprised (Technical issues)

    As simple as the idea of emulating certain games from the 360 and from consoles far older sounds, there were still noticeable problems and a surprising lack of useful modern features.For example, there is NO rebinding of controls for ANY game on the collection itself (exception being the XBLA ones).

    This includes Conker's Bad Fur Day which has an inverted horizontal axis. If the controls don't suit you, tough luck; you either get used to it or play something else. I was not expecting entire button remaping but at least having several game-binding schemes would've been a nice offer.

    Other XBLA games (Banjo Kazooie especially) had drops in performance. Nothing from these games were altered (even the 360 dashboard launches on the Xbox One, weird).

    Despite the problems, I am glad to have this collection. I'm impressed by how many games hold up today. Some games don't hold at all, but that's a matter of taste.

    I think Rare accomplished what they had in mind: There's something for anyone, perfect agents or new-blood for the Saberwolf, to (re)discover from these games of old.
    Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    0
    WARNING! Rare replay forces you to download 8gb worth of videos just to play the games. Make sure you know that before you buy. No way to notWARNING! Rare replay forces you to download 8gb worth of videos just to play the games. Make sure you know that before you buy. No way to not install it. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best Xbox One Games of 2015

    The 20 Best Xbox One Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring games released for the Xbox One console in 2015.