Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Jul 25, 2018
    80
    It may be almost a decade old, but Red Faction Guerrilla’s bland sandbox and story is still easily overlooked in favour of its gold standard of open-world demolition that now benefits from a substantial bump in visual quality.
  2. Jul 5, 2018
    80
    A great get for those who may have missed it the first time around, or anyone who might want to revisit (and re-destroy) the red planet. It may not add any new content to address the empty open world and bland story, but it does perform well, and everything I loved about Red Faction: Guerrilla is still front and center and looking better than ever.
  3. Jul 3, 2018
    80
    Red Faction: Guerrilla is one of the most beloved games of the extinct THQ action series. This edition Re-Mars-Tered allows us to enjoy a game that makes explosions and the destruction of structures its strongest point. We will find a solid remaster, which gives us a good handful of hours thanks to its open world full of things to do and all the additional content released to date.
  4. Jul 3, 2018
    80
    In 2009, Red Faction Guerrilla proved that just one mechanic can elevate a game to be something much more than it actually is. And surprisingly, in 2018, Red Faction Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered proves that that still stands.
  5. Jul 8, 2018
    77
    Red Faction Guerrilla Re-Mars-Tered is one of those remasterizations needed to rescue a classic. When you're at the controls of the game you notice that it looks better, feels better and plays better.
  6. Jul 16, 2018
    75
    For a game that’s almost ten years old, the ideas and gameplay in Red Faction: Guerilla has barely aged, and there’s still nothing like it on the market. It’s unfortunate that the engine and performance can’t do this fantastic game justice, but it remains an essential play for anyone who missed it the first time.
  7. Jul 4, 2018
    71
    It’s hard to truly overlook the game’s performance issues, or indeed, issues that arrive as a product of the original’s problems, however, it’s still a well rounded experience nevertheless. The story is decent, the pace is well struck and the environmental destruction remains second to none. Red Faction: Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered is a patch away from greatness, but in its current state, it fails to meet that end.
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 18, 2018
    70
    A delightful, violent sandbox occasionally hobbled by so-so missions. [Sept 2018, p.84]
  9. Aug 2, 2018
    70
    Red Faction: Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered brings back the best destruction in gaming. It also opens the door for another game in the series. Let’s hope Volition remembers what made this game so great and doesn’t go the way of its actual sequel Armageddon. That featured more linear progression and not nearly as much destruction. This was a great step into the past and thankfully the things that made it great still hold up today.
  10. Jul 10, 2018
    70
    Red Faction Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered won't be winning any awards for Remaster of the Year, but blowing stuff up is still so much fun that it works. The explosive gameplay brings enjoyment to side, story and DLC missions. Re-Mars-tered is a nice way for new or returning players to experience everything Guerrilla offered a decade ago — well, almost.
  11. Jul 6, 2018
    70
    Red Faction Guerilla Re-Mars-Tered is a steady remastered version, which never really shines. Any player who had never given it a try should consider it now, keeping in mind that it’s a 9-year-old game.
  12. 70
    While not necessarily a great example of how a remaster should be done, Red Faction: Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered still serves as a reminder of how enjoyable it is to bash buildings to rubble with a big sledgehammer. We recommend you get your ass back to Mars sharpish.
  13. Jul 2, 2018
    70
    Red Faction Guerrilla: Re-Mars-tered Edition doesn't do anything to fix the problems in the original game, but its physically simulated destruction still feels fresh and funny, resulting in a decent open world experience.
  14. Aug 1, 2018
    65
    Red Faction: Guerilla Re-MARS-tered is a fun distraction if you want to turn off your brain, but don’t let the title fool you, this is as shallow as a remaster comes, as it’s simply a new thin coat of paint on top of the same experience we had almost a decade ago. There’s no need to play again if you’ve already have, but it’s an entertaining experience to destroy everything in sight if you haven’t.
  15. Jul 4, 2018
    60
    While this remaster succeeds in bringing the positive aspects of Guerilla's gameplay to a modern-looking experience, it also brought the negative ones as well. When you factor in the unacceptable performance flaws, it's disappointing. The game is decent... but it could have been so much better.
  16. Jul 4, 2018
    60
    If you’ve yet to play Red Faction Guerrilla then by all means jump in, but if you’ve enjoyed it once already, there’s no need to head back for a second helping.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Jul 8, 2018
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Red Faction: Guerrilla back in 2009 and it was without a doubt one of my favourite game’s that year. I thinkI thoroughly enjoyed my time with Red Faction: Guerrilla back in 2009 and it was without a doubt one of my favourite game’s that year. I think the main reason why I enjoyed it so much is because it wasn’t like other game’s and it definitely offered quite a lot of uniqueness throughout its very good open-world. It didn’t however get the justice it deserved back in 2009 so when I found out it was getting remastered I must admit I was a little surprised. That being said I’m glad it did get remastered because it means people who haven’t played it before can enjoy what this game has to offer, and trust me it has plenty to offer. In terms of content the game has a huge amount for you to sink your teeth into and I was very pleased to see that all the DLC was included in this nice little package. You’ll be pleased to know then that the content is as fun as ever and if you played the original game you will once again be satisfied with the gameplay because blowing things up still feels exhilarating. Unfortunately though you will have to deal with quite a few technichal issues along the way and in my opinion a patch is definitely needed because the issues can impact on your immersive experience every now and then. Fortunately though I was able to look past these issues in the end and that’s mainly down to the missions you can undertake in the game. Each mission in the game has a decent amount of variety present in them and I really liked being able to complete certain missions how I wanted to complete them. Another thing I was impressed with is how challenging the AI is. The AI can be a real pain at times but that just made me more determined to defeat the enemies in the game and the best thing is that defeating them always felt satisfying and rewarding. You will however have to get used to the game’s shooting mechanics because this mechanic feels quite dated and for the most part this makes them feel a little awkward which can be problematic at times. One of my favourite aspects of the game is the significant improvents that have been made to the game’s presentation. Both the visuals and sound design have seen quite a lot of improvement and in a way it makes it have more of a modern feel which in turn makes the game even more immersive. At the end of the day Red Faction: Guerrilla Re-Mars-tered is a pretty decent remaster and even if you played the game back in 2009 I still recommend that you purchase the game again because it has enough improvents to warrant another purchase. If you’ve never played the game before then I recommend that you play this version of it because when it’s all said and done it does enough to be good competition to today’s modern offerings. Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2018
    5
    I loved this game when it was released but I don't notice a huge difference in graphical quality. If you've still got the original thenI loved this game when it was released but I don't notice a huge difference in graphical quality. If you've still got the original then there's no reason not to fire it up on the old X360. Full Review »