User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2021
    5
    Screamride was an interesting jaunt into the coaster riding and building world. It has its ups and downs, with some game modes being more fun than others. The building and destruction modes were more interesting than just the riding. The gameplay gets repetitive fairly quickly as well. The graphics were just ok, nothing special and sometimes became choppy. I wouldn’t purchase it for fullScreamride was an interesting jaunt into the coaster riding and building world. It has its ups and downs, with some game modes being more fun than others. The building and destruction modes were more interesting than just the riding. The gameplay gets repetitive fairly quickly as well. The graphics were just ok, nothing special and sometimes became choppy. I wouldn’t purchase it for full price, but if it’s available for cheap or on game pass, I wouldn’t mind spending an hour or two every once in a while building my own roller coasters. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2018
    8
    Un simulateur de montagnes russes peu avare en sensations surtout dans le mode "pilote" particulièrement décoiffant mais aussi parfois crispant... avec par exemple les zones bleues de récupération du turbo (appuie sur X au bon moment -connard- c'est-à-dire juste à la fin de la zone de rails bleue, t'as compris, hein ?!) pour bénéficier du turbo qui va vite (vavavoum) alors qu'une simpleUn simulateur de montagnes russes peu avare en sensations surtout dans le mode "pilote" particulièrement décoiffant mais aussi parfois crispant... avec par exemple les zones bleues de récupération du turbo (appuie sur X au bon moment -connard- c'est-à-dire juste à la fin de la zone de rails bleue, t'as compris, hein ?!) pour bénéficier du turbo qui va vite (vavavoum) alors qu'une simple jauge aurait suffi, plus ou moins limitée ou temporisée...

    Car il faut dire que l'on a fort à faire pour garder le train sur les rails en raison d'une fâcheuse tendance à se renverser prématurément... A ce sujet, le jeu utilise habilement les vibrations des gâchettes pour vous signifier la sortie imminente au cas où l'on n'aurait pas remarqué que les wagons sont déjà sur 2 roues... le "2 roues" est d'ailleurs souvent obligatoire en raison de rails manquants d'un côté (!) ou simplement d'un obstacle gênant avec une grosse flèche rouge de l'autre côté !

    On ne recommence tout de même pas du début à chaque sortie de piste mais à des points de passage prédéfinis sur le circuit, ou plutôt sur les circuits nombreux et retors, vraiment tous fort délicats à manoeuvrer.

    Le mode "destruction" est assez difficile lui aussi mais bien plus marrant puisqu'il consiste à envoyer des nacelles à la catapulte sur des ensembles de bâtiments et de tours. Cela fait penser à Dangerous Golf d'une certaine façon, vu qu'on peut contrôler -après le lancement- la nacelle et que certaines d'entre elles ont un turbo, peuvent planer ou carrément exploser... on admire alors la destruction surperbement modélisée, les effondrements, les explosions (les tours sont minées, si, si) et les débris via un moteur physique de très grande qualité.

    Enfin, le mode "ingénieur" ou construction -plus calme- implique toute une série de défis qui consiste à compléter des circuits existants selon des contraintes particulières d'environnement ou de passagers (ne pas trop faire vomir les andouilles hurlantes par exemple). L'éditeur se révèle à cet effet après un temps d'acclimatation simple et efficace et un mode bac à sable est aussi disponible. On expérimente souvent dans ce mode jamais barbant mais qui implique de se faire une idée de la cinétique et de la force centrifuge... sans aucune équation préalable : si ça passe pas, des gogols sont éjectés. Tant pis.

    L'humour est bien sûr plus ou moins balourd ou narquois mais conforme au délire ambiant du jeu avec tous ces cobayes à wagons qui crient tout le temps, idiots et décérébrés comme des Sims en goguette.

    Techniquement, il ne s'agit pas d'un triple A mais d'un joli double qui affiche des graphismes pas très élaborés mais néanmoins soignés avec un moteur physique très convaincant en matière d'accidents, de collisions, d'inertie et de cinétique. On regrettera des ralentissements dans les phases de destruction ainsi qu'un aliasing assez présent mais rien de rédhibitoire.

    Difficile mais étonnamment addictif et drôle, Scream Ride propose un gros contenu et son lot de défis à relever dans le déraillement et la bonne humeur.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2015
    4
    ScreamRide is the best game on Xbox One and though I'm not sure that says much about the Xbox one but if you have a X1 this is as good as it's gonna get for you. I played through it and it's kinda fun and ScreamRide really shows the Powa of the Xbox One. The game Is great game on Xbox One.
  4. Mar 30, 2015
    0
    So yeah, Screamride is another Xbox exculsive. This time, I know why PlayStation didn't want to get their hands on this type of game. Screamride is really boring, the amount of "fun" you get is in limited amounts. The controls are horrible and the graphics are choppy. I really don't think its a "next gen" experience. Yes, the E3 announcement dissolved in water and nobody knew what the heckSo yeah, Screamride is another Xbox exculsive. This time, I know why PlayStation didn't want to get their hands on this type of game. Screamride is really boring, the amount of "fun" you get is in limited amounts. The controls are horrible and the graphics are choppy. I really don't think its a "next gen" experience. Yes, the E3 announcement dissolved in water and nobody knew what the heck this was until the advertisment popped up on everyone's Xbox 360 and Xbox One dashboards. The whole amusement park thing, is undone. It's like Rollercoaster Tycoon meets Sim City minus fun minus good gameplay. The boring missions and the forgettable sandbox creation is horrible as well. Well, that about sums up my loss of 30 dollars, and the only Xbox One exclusive I am looking forward to is Halo 5. Bravo, Xbox. Another turd. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2015
    5
    Screamride can be fun at times, you will have fun looking at all the explosion you have caused in the game. The sandbox mode and the engineer mode can be fun as you are tasked to create some crazy coasters. However, many other things fall flat, it has a very repetitive mission. You will found throwing cabin to buildings fun, for about an hour, you won't have any interest playing it anymoreScreamride can be fun at times, you will have fun looking at all the explosion you have caused in the game. The sandbox mode and the engineer mode can be fun as you are tasked to create some crazy coasters. However, many other things fall flat, it has a very repetitive mission. You will found throwing cabin to buildings fun, for about an hour, you won't have any interest playing it anymore because it always feel the same. The Screamrider mode is boring, preventing riders from felling off the coaster also don't fit the theme of destruction. Speaking of destruction, it ain't really that satisfying, buildings collapsed like cardbox every time. The color tone of the game is repetitive, and you won't found any level particularly appealing or memorable. One of the biggest problems of this game is that the game feel like 3 mini-games bundled together, making it one of the most overpriced video game titles I have ever seen. You will have fun playing this game, but it won't last long, when all the fun are diluted by repetition. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2015
    0
    Got nagged by the kids into buying this after they watched a trailer.

    They played for a couple of hours and got pretty bored.

    I didn't last that long.
  7. Mar 8, 2015
    6
    Great to begin with but after a full day with it im pretty bored, the sand box mode is ok to fall back on but you need to complete most of the boring repetitive main challenges to unlock the material required to properly enjoy the sandbox mode.
  8. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    This game is a classic love it or hate it scenario. Even the "professional" reviews are glowing or burning on this title. Take it for what it is....a lesser priced title that you WILL have fun with. The amount of time you devote to this game relates to what type of game it is. Some will only build build build (which is a very detailed editor) while others will just ride and play the otherThis game is a classic love it or hate it scenario. Even the "professional" reviews are glowing or burning on this title. Take it for what it is....a lesser priced title that you WILL have fun with. The amount of time you devote to this game relates to what type of game it is. Some will only build build build (which is a very detailed editor) while others will just ride and play the other three game types. Those that are hating on the game because it isn't Rollercoaster Tycoon need to open their eyes a bit....it was never intended to be. It always has been designed and reported as a fun twist on rollercoasters. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2015
    7
    tbh, it's more enjoyable than I expected from watching gameplay videos. The destruction modelling is sweet, and definitely a highlight of the game. Excited to see what people can make in the sandbox mode.

    Definitely a 7/10 game. It's not perfect, but it is simply a good game.
  10. Mar 4, 2015
    8
    This game is a classic love it or hate it scenario. Even the "professional" reviews are glowing or burning on this title. Take it for what it is....a lesser priced title that you WILL have fun with. The amount of time you devote to this game relates to what type of game it is. Some will only build build build (which is a very detailed editor) while others will just ride and play the otherThis game is a classic love it or hate it scenario. Even the "professional" reviews are glowing or burning on this title. Take it for what it is....a lesser priced title that you WILL have fun with. The amount of time you devote to this game relates to what type of game it is. Some will only build build build (which is a very detailed editor) while others will just ride and play the other three game types. Those that are hating on the game because it isn't Rollercoaster Tycoon need to open their eyes a bit....it was never intended to be. It always has been designed and reported as a fun twist on rollercoasters.

    Personally I like it a lot....will I spend countless hours on this? Probably not...but as more of my online friends get it and post scores to beat I will return. That is the drive for me.....

    The only real cons I have are the track sharing could have been done better. It doesn't show how many people have played created tracks, scores, nothing. You can filter down for searches with good detail but this is a major miss in my book. Also...when creating a track in sandbox....once you complete the track I cannot figure out how to go back and edit it.....it gets blacked out and you are stuck with what you have. Only way I have found to get around this is get the track ALMOST finished but don't finish it.

    Overall.....a 8 is a very good score for this game. It is solidly made, fun to play and my wife even enjoys watching the destruction.
    Expand
  11. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    This Game Is just so much Fun and inspires even such an uncreative Person like Me TO create and destroy. ist also cheap and gives you a lot for your Money.
  12. Mar 3, 2015
    8
    A game that is fun to play, who would have thought of such a thing besides Nintendo. I would rather play this then 1886, any day. Xbox One with another solid exclusive.
  13. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    Quality game. Downloaded today and its endless fun. Not sure why people are hating on this. If people are rating this a 0 because they have a ps4 and have not played the game then its pathetic.

    This is not a theme park simulator and as long as you dont expect that then you will really enjoy the game.
  14. Mar 3, 2015
    9
    Just picked it up the game is fun to play. This is probably the best undie title to come our on my xbone. This is why my ps4 is so llonely.and for the price its a great family game me and my son who is only 7 we had a ball playing this game.
  15. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    Similar to Rollercoaster Tycoon and Thrillville with some Boom Blox and Flatout throw in. You can build rollercoasters like the former games, but you can also destroy your creations and watch the people riding the coasters go loco as you bring the coaster down. Graphics are nice, though the frame-rate at times goes below 30, but not very often. This isn't a full-priced game, though, andSimilar to Rollercoaster Tycoon and Thrillville with some Boom Blox and Flatout throw in. You can build rollercoasters like the former games, but you can also destroy your creations and watch the people riding the coasters go loco as you bring the coaster down. Graphics are nice, though the frame-rate at times goes below 30, but not very often. This isn't a full-priced game, though, and it's pretty hilarious and fun for what it is. If you're tired of playing the same games, this is something a little different. Expand
  16. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    this is insanely fun. first off. this game has amazing physics and destructability with particle effects everywhere, amazing to look at.

    i can see myslef playing screamride for a long time, creating tracks just to see your riders crash into a building is always fun and trying to beat your friends highscore is also challenging but keeps you wanting to play more and more. definetely worth it!
  17. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    Another Xbox one Exclusive. Microsoft keeps pumping games out. I know this game isn't a AAA exclusive,but it's a lot better than the indie sidescrollers that are on ps now or the game you're getting for free on either console. This games is SOO fun. It's something different and exciting. It has 3 different categories so it doesn't get boring. The career mode is a blast. The animations areAnother Xbox one Exclusive. Microsoft keeps pumping games out. I know this game isn't a AAA exclusive,but it's a lot better than the indie sidescrollers that are on ps now or the game you're getting for free on either console. This games is SOO fun. It's something different and exciting. It has 3 different categories so it doesn't get boring. The career mode is a blast. The animations are nice though can get sort of repetitive at time. Controls voice is such a breath of fresh air. Her silly humor is so fun and keeps things interesting and keeps you smiling throughout. The game is less than the price of a full retail release its only 39.99 instead of 59.99 and I gotta say it's great value from what I've played so far. Microsoft hasn't let us gamers down with the quality of games!! Thank the lord I bought an XBOX ONE!! Keep EM coming MICROSOFT!!!! Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Jul 7, 2015
    80
    ScreamRide is a pleasant surprise. What’s more, it was developed by Elite: Dangerous studio Frontier Developments. As it turns out, they’re adept at both space simulation and theme park design.
  2. Games Master UK
    May 6, 2015
    63
    The game modes may keep you hooked, but the good stuff is obscured through a poor UI. [May 2015, p.71]
  3. CD-Action
    Apr 30, 2015
    55
    If you expected Screamride to be a theme park tycoon, think again, because it’s just a collection of three casual minigames. [05/2015, p.59]