Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. May 25, 2018
    83
    Very tempting and cheap, especially considering the variety of selections - with experiences ranging between different genres, even if to dominate can only be platformers and Scrolling fighter - and support for online multiplayer. But be careful, because not everything you remember with the big eyes is actually as sweet as memory suggests.
  2. Jun 6, 2018
    80
    The SEGA Mega Drive Classics Collection is an excellent compendium of games where the vast majority still play incredibly well. Old hands and newcomers alike will find plenty of games to keep them busy here.
  3. Jun 1, 2018
    80
    While the sheer number of selected games will satisfy old-school fans - even though some of the games already released on PC are missing. But it would be even better if you could get some bonus material like artworks, soundtracks etc.
  4. 80
    This collection of classic Sega Genesis games features a wide array of great titles at an unbeatable price. Just make sure you have a passion for retro games - or feel hopelessly nostalgic for the 16-bit era.
  5. May 27, 2018
    80
    SEGA Mega Drive Classics’ most impressive achievement is its vast and carefully selected collection of titles. There are games in this bundle that will appeal to everyone and although there’s a few performance hiccups to contend with, this is, by and large, one of the best compilations available on Xbox One.
  6. May 25, 2018
    80
    A great compilation with a lot of classics but we miss some games and a few more extras in the mix.
  7. Jun 7, 2018
    75
    With more than 50 games and a ton of options to customize your experience, SEGA Mega Drive Classics is just pure fun and nostalgia. Too bad some iconic games missed the cut.
  8. Jun 25, 2018
    73
    SEGA Mega Drive Classics offers a great collection of classics at a great price along with added challenges such as achievement and online gaming. However, there are unexplained absences and room for improvement.
  9. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jul 23, 2018
    70
    A nostalgia-filled, well-rounded collection which will keep gamers absorbed for AGES. [Aug 2018, p.86]
  10. May 29, 2018
    65
    This collection shines with the underlying impressive emulation of Mega Drive hardware, the variety of visual options you get to switch between realistic and pixel-heavy versions of each game, and the quality of life stuff like rewinding and picking up where you left off. And thanks to over 50 titles in the collection there are gems to find that you may not have played before - including Phantasy Star and Alien Soldier.
  11. 60
    SEGA Mega Drive Classics does a great job at modernising the classics, bringing in some games that we haven’t seen in a release like this before, but at the same time drops some true classics like Sonic 3. While a plethora of features and some slick presentation make this feel like less of a cynical cash grab than it could be, the omission of these titles and cumbersome navigation makes this collection serviceable but less than definitive.
  12. Jun 18, 2018
    50
    There aren't many complaints to be had when it comes to the library, yet the emulation is never up to snuff. Perhaps dedicating such a large amount of resources to the UI wasn't the right call. A number of features are poorly-realised and implemented. It's hard to enjoy the games when nothing sounds or feels quite right. The stuttering is especially baffling. While its appearance is rare, it should be non-existent. In short, fans of the console deserve better.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jun 5, 2018
    9
    The Sega Genesis console gave me a lot of joy when I was growing up and I still have two Mega Drive’s to this day and of course I still playThe Sega Genesis console gave me a lot of joy when I was growing up and I still have two Mega Drive’s to this day and of course I still play them to this day because some classics never die. Obviously when I first heard about Sega Genesis Classics the boy in me came alive and to say I was excited would be a massive understatement. Thankfully this collection of fantastic game’s has been done really well and you can see that a lot of love and effort has gone into the collection. Speaking about the collection there are over 50 game’s for you to get to grips with and some of them are true gems which will keep you coming back for more time and time again. There are a few noticeable omissions in the line up though and it would’ve been nice to see them, but this isn’t a major problem because there’s more than enough here to keep you satisfied. I’m not exaggerating when I say that the replaybility present in the game is almost endless and I’ve already sunk quite a few hours into various game’s and the best thing is that I’m nowhere near close to getting bored. I must admit that I was surprised by the price of the game because I expected it to be quite a bit more expensive. For £24.99/$29.99 you get great value for money and when you think what you can buy with that type of money nowadays you realise it isn’t much so this makes this collection even more of a steal. You also realise that you get even more bang for your buck when you notice that there are online and local multiplayer options present. I was very eager to play the collection of game’s in these modes and thankfully they hold up really well without any problems. Trust me when I say there’s nothing better than playing these classic game’s with friends and family and in the end playing the game’s like this brings back even more fantastic memories, which is great. You will however have to get used to the controls in the game because the control schemes can cause you a few problems at the start and it would’ve been nice to have been able to chop and change the controller input more. The presentation side of the game is absolutely fantastic and ticks a lot of boxes for me. Visually the game stays very close to the retro style and most of the game’s still look and sound great to this day, which is awesome. At the end of the day any fan of the old-school Sega consoles will enjoy this collection of game’s. In fact I can see Sega Genesis Classics bringing even more fans to the table because I know quite a few modern gamer’s who would absolutely adore this collection of game’s. I of course adored these game’s and in the end this compilation gets a huge recommendation from me. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2021
    8
    This collection is similar to Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection. In fact, it does feature many of the same games. But it does include onlineThis collection is similar to Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection. In fact, it does feature many of the same games. But it does include online play and several graphic filters. Unfortunately, it does not have the Sega Master System or Sega Arcade games from Sonic. Nor does it include trivia information or behind-the-scene videos. However, it features a nostalgic 90's-themed bedroom which acts as menu screen hub. Also included are the different regional versions of some titles. There's also leaderboards and mini-challenges for each game. Overall, a solid compilation for those that don't own the Sonic collection. I would rate it with an 8 out of 10. Full Review »