Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
Buy On
  1. Sep 10, 2018
    70
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider takes the series’ formula and pushes it, polishing the platforming and bolstering its tombs, but the game’s power ebbs as the main quest is bloated with distraction, and the writing is still patchy and dull.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 21, 2018
    60
    Solid yet underwhelming, shadow fails to send Lara out on a high. [Dec 2018, p.75]
  3. Sep 11, 2018
    60
    Though it climbs to impressive heights, it fails to stick the landing.
  4. Sep 10, 2018
    60
    Making the journey to Shadow of the Tomb Raider's peaks is certainly an attractive goal, but like the challenging terrain Lara needs to traverse, the path there is getting rougher and more unpredictable.
  5. Sep 10, 2018
    60
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider is basically the same game as Rise of theTomb Raider, but in a new environment. This time Lara finds her self in the Peruvian jungle – and it looks absolutely stunning. Unfortunately the graphics are about the only thing new in this game and we wish the gameplay would have been improved as well. But despite it's shortcomings, Shadow of the Tomb Raider has a great entertainment. value.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 10, 2018
    Shadow stands as near the best version of what it sets out to be. Luddington's finale is a grand one, and well worth it for fans of the series. Even if it can't quite manage to keep all its balls in the air.
  2. Sep 10, 2018
    Eventually, Shadow of the Tomb Raider succumbs to the darkness, repeating many of the series’ usual mistakes, but along the way it shines a thrilling and refreshing light. [Polygon Recommends]
  3. Sep 11, 2018
    Shadow Of The Tomb Raider’s roughest patches push Lara around for the sake of the plot, reducing her to little more than the flat video game avatar she was in the ’90s. For one brief moment, though, while she’s standing on the roof of her home and wondering why she puts herself in such ridiculous situations, Lara Croft actually feels like a real person.
  4. Sep 11, 2018
    Much like Mission Impossible movies, linear action games like this either need to blow you away with their direction or deliver on their story — preferably both. Shadow of the Tomb Raider does neither. As a fan of the previous two games, I was happy enough to blast through another near-identical adventure. But the series now finds itself at the same place it was before the reboot: stale and out of ideas.
  5. Sep 11, 2018
    Closes the book on Lara's origin story, but whether players (or Lara herself) have learned anything is entirely debatable.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 492
  1. Sep 24, 2018
    10
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible and both the visuals and sound design had no faults within them whatsoever. I foundThe presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible and both the visuals and sound design had no faults within them whatsoever. I found the story to be amazing and not once did my interest dwindle because it was compelling throughout my time with the game. There is more than enough content to keep you satisfied for quite a while and without a doubt you will find the game very difficult to put down. I loved tackling the challenge tombs because everything about them is intricate and unique and this of course made tackling them rewarding as well. Exploring in the game always felt rewarding because there is so much to collect and collecting all of the different items was always fun and exciting.
    There are different mechanics this time around and these different mechanics feel great and definitely add an extra dimension to the game. The gunplay could be a little better because it doesn’t always make an impact and it doesn’t always feel as responsive and fluid as it should. Rise of the Tomb Raider was my game of the year back in 2015 because everything about it was pretty much perfect and in my opinion it made Tomb Raider relevant and exciting again. As you can imagine then Shadow of the Tomb Raider was a game I was extremely looking forward to, and thankfully it didn’t disappoint. From the moment I started the game I fell in love with it because the game looks and sounds incredible and it immersed me right from the get go. This immersion didn’t dwindle either and that was thanks to the excellent story that accompanies the awesome visuals and sound design. You’ll also be pleased to know that the gameplay is also absolutely fantastic and the new mechanics that have been implemented make the game stand out even more. In terms of problems the game only has one in my opinion and that is the gunplay. This though is only a very small problem and everything else is basically perfect so I can’t recommend Shadow of the Tomb Raider enough. In fact it’s that good that this new Tomb Raider is once again going to be be my game of the year.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    0
    A terrible follow up to Rise of the Tomb Raider that forgets every lesson that game learned from the original reboot. The level design isA terrible follow up to Rise of the Tomb Raider that forgets every lesson that game learned from the original reboot. The level design is boring and dull, the game keeps interrupting with cutscenes at the worst times, controls are sluggish (that one is baffling, why didn't they just keep the controls from Rise?) and the art direction is all over the place as if several parts of the same levels had been contracted out to different people without any design guidelines. It honestly feels like Core got their B-team making this, it's the Andromeda of the Tomb Raider series. Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2018
    0
    The most disappointing game of the year.
    First game is good, but Shadow of the tomb raider just so bad.