User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2019
    7
    I would rate this game a solid 8 if its price were set right.
    It’s undeniably a high quality port of a high quality game.
    But the fact is this is a 3 year old game. And it had previously been ported to the switch. So full retail price + $50 for the DLC is just too much. I tried it long enough to rate it without guilt. But I’ll definitely be waiting for a big sale before I buy my own copy,
    I would rate this game a solid 8 if its price were set right.
    It’s undeniably a high quality port of a high quality game.
    But the fact is this is a 3 year old game. And it had previously been ported to the switch.
    So full retail price + $50 for the DLC is just too much. I tried it long enough to rate it without guilt.
    But I’ll definitely be waiting for a big sale before I buy my own copy, as much as I like the game. It just sets a bad precedent otherwise.
    Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2019
    9
    Civilization had been out since 2017 on PC being a big release back then . Finally it as arrived and with out a doubt worth the wait being a new player of experienced . Civilization VI is a turn-based strategy game, much like its predecessors, taking place on a board game-like map . Each tile on the board represents unit positions, as well as strategic resources, battling over which formsCivilization had been out since 2017 on PC being a big release back then . Finally it as arrived and with out a doubt worth the wait being a new player of experienced . Civilization VI is a turn-based strategy game, much like its predecessors, taking place on a board game-like map . Each tile on the board represents unit positions, as well as strategic resources, battling over which forms the basis of play.
    The xbox One edition has all the rich ideas of ​​not losing some mechanical editing of the PC edition. You will find all the depth of gameplay of the original title, including the size of maps that can be skim faced 11 civilizations . You will seek out new lands, plan your cities, and create districts within them that give you bonus points in different strategic areas. You will control your Civilization’s destiny by guiding it thouth a series of choices for what things you want to spend your time researching, the types of structures you want to build, and the type of government you want to have . Overhaul the game is very smooth on xbox and runs perfectly well just a bit slow on the loading but thats not very important. An amazing release on xbox we have been waiting for.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2019
    10
    As great as on PC and and even better than the great predecessors. Great job Firaxis Games, 2K Games and Take-Two Interactive!
  4. Feb 4, 2020
    10
    Civilization is best strategy game. I like it, in the civilization you can go way from small tribe to a modern state that can destroy the earth in the blink of eye
  5. Feb 14, 2020
    8
    Civilization was one of few franchises I would go back to PC gaming for. With a pretty decent port to PS4, it's now off that list.
  6. Mar 29, 2020
    1
    I would describe myself as quite a strategy game enthusiast. I played every single age of empires game on pc for hundred and hundreds of hours, red alert, tower defence games – you name it.. I recently bought and Xbox one X, and naturally started searching for a strategy game to play. I stumbled upon the various reviews in here, and everyone is yay-9/10 positive – so I thought yes thisI would describe myself as quite a strategy game enthusiast. I played every single age of empires game on pc for hundred and hundreds of hours, red alert, tower defence games – you name it.. I recently bought and Xbox one X, and naturally started searching for a strategy game to play. I stumbled upon the various reviews in here, and everyone is yay-9/10 positive – so I thought yes this must be it! A little pricy but what the hell if it is fun. Opening the game for first time was quite a thrill, and I really liked the intro and especially the music composition. Then the fun stopped. After finally getting through the dreadful and confusing tutorial, I thought okay, I just need to learn this before it will get fun. But after several hours of really trying to get into this game, I just never got that feeling of excitement. The gameplay seems incredible messy with various parameters that just does not seem logical in any way. In each turn it just feels like: “hmm I can move my scout a few spots, hmm okay still 14 turns until the next unit it ready, move my scout a bit again, oh it’s my turn again..” Seriously I have never been so frustrated on a strategy game. There is no red thread, no overview, or general purpose of anything. Just feels very dull, unnecessary complicated, the parameters and stats illogical and just generally unrewarding and confusing. This game is not addicting in any way. And I really always otherwise always love strategy games. So I cannot get my head around these reviews in here. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 28, 2020
    90
    Intuitively designed and thrilling, Civilization makes a brilliant move over to console. [Issue#186, p.78]
  2. Dec 13, 2019
    83
    Civilisation VI is very much a marmite kind of game – you’ll either love it or hate it. While I am indeed a fan (of marmite and Civ), I did feel slightly let down by the laggy performance and seemingly slower pace than I remember. The wonderful aesthetics manage to make up for this to a degree though, and if you’re after something to sink some real time into the Civ VI will absolutely be your cup of tea.
  3. Dec 13, 2019
    100
    This is a game that you can pour hundreds of hours into, and still find rewarding gameplay and new strategies. Not to mention, it’s dangerously addictive. Clear your schedule for this one. Multi-hour gaming sessions have never gone by so fast.