Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2017
    85
    A solid new iteration in Sonic's series, with fun and frantic gameplay even if we would have liked more playable characters, while the new Avatars feature left us quite unimpressed.
  2. Dec 16, 2017
    81
    For the first time in years, I actually enjoyed and looked forward to going back to a Sonic game and will continue to hunt those red star rings for a while yet. But the main USP of the avatars let the side down. I really hope Sonic Team continue with the duel Sonic crossover games as they seem to be providing them with their best output in years.
  3. Nov 12, 2017
    80
    Sonic Mania is undoubtedly a tighter, more exceptional experience; Sega should really allow that team to design the levels for the next 3D release! But if you missed the 3D Sonic experience and can tolerate some bland level design and roughness, Forces is certainly a worthwhile follow-up to Generations – especially for the reduced asking price.
  4. Nov 21, 2017
    73
    Sonic is a good game, and very entertaining, with plenty of things to do. With very few arrangements it would be a very good game with a good scoring.
  5. Nov 8, 2017
    65
    While I like the added emphasis put on replaying older levels, I am frustrated and baffled that the action-stopping tutorials from the earlier levels persist on repeated playthroughs.
  6. Nov 20, 2017
    60
    Sonic Forces isn’t a bad game, nor the worst Sonic title in years. In fact, it’s quite fun and keeps up the series tradition of bringing a sense of speed to the forefront. But compared to say, Super Mario Odyssey, you get the feeling that it’s just another example of a fun and shallow Sonic game in a long line of fun and shallow Sonic games.
  7. Nov 15, 2017
    60
    Forces continues the trend of Modern Sonic games being very average and not even an injection boost like Classic Sonic or the new customisable Avatar character can save this from being average at best.
  8. Nov 11, 2017
    60
    Sonic Forces is a short and easy videogame, which also has a rude and imprecise control. In my opinion, nowadays there are many better alternatives than Sonic Forces on the market but it is enjoyable for kids and for all sonic fans.
  9. Dec 5, 2017
    59
    Sonic Forces is a mixed bag, but the bad outweighs the good. Its few bright spots - mostly in the form of classic Sonic - get dimmed by the muddled mess of the weaker elements, and the lack of content doesn't help. The game's biggest achievement is the reminder of old school Sonic's superior gameplay.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 5, 2018
    50
    It's business as usual for dear old Sonic. Which isn't necessarily a very good thing. [Jan 2018, p.82]
  11. Nov 10, 2017
    50
    In this 3D Sonic game, developer Sonic Team attempts to iterate upon the formula of games like Sonic Generations and Sonic Colors, but it falls short due to frustrating design choices and inconsistent level design. Even its most entertaining moments come with caveats.
  12. Nov 17, 2017
    40
    Sonic Forces may not be the worst Sonic game ever made, but it’s close, and I don’t think the speedy blue hedgehog has many more chances to impress before gamers like myself lose all hope of him returning to his former glory.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 183
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    7
    This has definitely been one of Sonic’s best years in recent times and I thoroughly enjoyed Sonic Mania this year, so to say I was lookingThis has definitely been one of Sonic’s best years in recent times and I thoroughly enjoyed Sonic Mania this year, so to say I was looking forward to Sonic Forces would be quite the understatement. Thankfully Sonic Forces does more than enough to scratch my itch, but it is lacking in certain areas and it’s not as good as Sonic Mania. I will say though that the game has some fresh ideas, and I especially loved the inclusion of creating your own character. They’ve done this really well and there are more than enough items to keep you satisfied. The levels in the game are something I really enjoyed, and that was mainly down to the amount of creativeness used in each level. The levels would have been even better if they were a bit longer and I thought they missed a trick here. The gameplay plays well most of the time, but the controls aren’t always responsive which is a massive problem in a game like this. Another problem was that the controls always seemed to fail at the worst times and this made me become very frustrated, so hopefully they manage to patch this. I would also like them to make the game more challenging because it can be too easy for its own good at times. I know some people who didn’t like the story in the game, but I wasn’t one of them and in fact I found it quite enjoyable, and I thought the voice actors did a good job. The presentation side of the game is absolutely brilliant in my opinion. Visually the game is packed full of colour and the cartoon style works brilliantly. The soundtrack in the game was probably my most favourite in a Sonic game to date, which is great. At the end of the day Sonic Forces may not be the best Sonic game of all time and it may suffer with a few problems here and there, but there is more than enough here to satisfy a great number of people. Without a doubt it gets more right than it gets wrong and in the end I enjoyed my time with the blue hedgehog, which is the most important thing. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2017
    10
    this game is pretty fun just like colours and generations although im more of a mario fan but i can sense that ratings on the game are biasedthis game is pretty fun just like colours and generations although im more of a mario fan but i can sense that ratings on the game are biased the story is great , graphics are great , gameplay is great and well the music is the best part Full Review »
  3. Nov 7, 2017
    8
    Sonic Forces attempts to go new on ideas on story and gameplay without improving what might have been the most anticipated game on the market.Sonic Forces attempts to go new on ideas on story and gameplay without improving what might have been the most anticipated game on the market. To be completely fair, this was saved from actually being rushed to the market so I'll give it a chance to give it the score it deserves. There's no other way I can describe Sonic Forces without taking up a huge chunk of my time so I'm just going to call it the newest Windows Vista of the franchise. It's so addicting that you could possibly find a way to play to the end and end up loving it, but, like Windows Vista, it's not safe from the flaws it receives. I'm sure we'll get a better Sonic game one day, but for now we have to get used to what they gave us. Full Review »