Strider Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally released in 1989, Strider remains one of Capcom's most enduring franchises. The game tells the story of Hiryu, the youngest ever "Super A" ranked agent of an elite corps known as the Striders. Strider Hiryu receives orders to assassinate Grandmaster Meio, supremeOriginally released in 1989, Strider remains one of Capcom's most enduring franchises. The game tells the story of Hiryu, the youngest ever "Super A" ranked agent of an elite corps known as the Striders. Strider Hiryu receives orders to assassinate Grandmaster Meio, supreme dictator of Earth, who has plunged humanity into a dystopian dark age. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Strider - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    95
    Strider reminds me of a Shadow Complex with a much better combat system and a scaled-down exploration element. And that's perfectly okay with me.
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    81
    With Strider Double Helix walks the tightrope between vintage mechanics and modern visuals – without making concessions to either side. Difficulty could be higher, though.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    From the moment you embark on your journey right up until the final deathblow, Strider is a blast to play. Controlling this agile ninja feels empowering right out of the gate, and each new upgrade brings with it an enjoyable new way to engage your foes.
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    80
    Double Helix managed to modernize Capcom's classic game, even if fans could turn up their noses to the decreased difficulty level. Gameplay mechanics are highly satisfying, boss battles are engaging and fun and even lovers of metroidvania-style games will find something to look forward to: Hiryu is back.
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    70
    A decent revisit of a fondly remembered classic, Strider gives its ageing source material a modern twist to solid effect. Beware though; if you’ve no patience for tough, pattern-filled, old-school boss fights, you may want to look elsewhere.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    70
    Strider is basic fare to snack on between larger courses in the release schedule. Double Helix has easily attained its unambitious goals.
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    50
    Looks stunning, handles well – but the level design and combat will leave you wanting more.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    I came from the original SEGA console release to this, and I am very happy to see a reboot done right! Challenging boss fights and rewardingI came from the original SEGA console release to this, and I am very happy to see a reboot done right! Challenging boss fights and rewarding non-linear secrets, along with classic controls and a beautiful new paint job, big studios should take note: This is how you bring back a classic. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have never played a strider game, so i decided to give this a try, the game seems to be a low budget one, but the people that worked on it made a really good job with that budget, This feels more like Castlevania Symphony of the night, but in this one everything moves at a really fast pace, you can actually run everywhere without killing a single enemy, and feels great, or you can take your time and kill everything in seconds, the music its so good and keeps you moving it really pulls you into the game,

    The only disappointment in this game its that its so fast that you can finish it in 4hrs flat, i would love this game if it had at least 4 times the size of the map, and more variety in enemies and bosses since they keep coming back, with a stronger difficulty and that its part of what makes it feel "low budget",

    Its a great game, a bit short and repetitive, i hope they come out with a 2nd part, focusing in those flaws
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    From someone who played the original arcade version and NES version, this reboot was a very welcome surprise! I enjoyed the fact that StriderFrom someone who played the original arcade version and NES version, this reboot was a very welcome surprise! I enjoyed the fact that Strider Hiryu is back in his own game and must give props that Double Helix did a tremendous job with keeping just enough of the old school and mixing in the newer elements that make it a definite "must buy" for any fans of the original Strider games. The controls can take some getting familiar with because I played on my Xbox One and with all the new powerups with the cypher, it took a few minutes to get used too. The game's graphics are wonderful and the combat is really smooth and fluid. I have no problems with the difficulty with the bosses either because the original bosses were the same way. I must admit, I didn't want to marathon through it yet because I don't want to miss anything in the first play through. The best part about it is the price, $15 for a 6-8 hr game and the fact that it's release was really sooner than expected. If you need a classic arcade platformer/metroidvania type side scroller, you can't go wrong with Strider. Thanks to Capcom and Double Helix for a great reboot! Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2014
    8
    Play If: You have fond memories of Metroid, or loved Shadow Complex. If you like games that have simple mechanics, but provide some challenge.Play If: You have fond memories of Metroid, or loved Shadow Complex. If you like games that have simple mechanics, but provide some challenge.

    Don't Play If: You get easily bored by repetition. If you are easily frustrated by difficult boss battles.
    Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    MaxeeyLP (DEUTSCH)
    Strider ist ein geniales 2D Game mit vielen Fähigkeiten und epischen fights.
    Die Grafik ist Genial für ein 2D Game weil
    MaxeeyLP (DEUTSCH)
    Strider ist ein geniales 2D Game mit vielen Fähigkeiten und epischen fights.
    Die Grafik ist Genial für ein 2D Game weil es Nueartig ist und zurzeit auch den Alten Comic Styl beinhaltet es lohnt sich echt zukaufen und zu spielen!
    Lg euer MaxeeyLP
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2018
    8
    * The good things: the redesign of characters, an excellent ‘metroidvania’, see Strider again in action.

    * The bad things: the difficulty
    * The good things: the redesign of characters, an excellent ‘metroidvania’, see Strider again in action.

    * The bad things: the difficulty of the enemies is very low, there is an item that is badly placed and only reached with a glitch, it seemed very short once you know what to do.

    * The meh! things: I expected more challenge from the villains Grand Master Meio, Solo and Tong Poo.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    **** poorly thought out platforming wasted budget no testing flashy lights boring combat
    -everything wrong with the game
    pros: metroidvania?
    **** poorly thought out platforming wasted budget no testing flashy lights boring combat
    -everything wrong with the game
    pros: metroidvania?

    Dont Buy
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews