Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Aug 25, 2017
    91
    I may not entirely love where it winds up, but the journey getting to that point is so pitch-perfect, it'd be wrong of me to say it's anything other than a must-play experience for people who enjoy a good walking simulator.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2017
    90
    A clever and absorbing interactive story set in an expertly built sci-fi world.
  3. Aug 7, 2017
    90
    A diverse narrative-driven space adventure for people wanting actual emotions and relationships in their games; that is Tacoma.
  4. Aug 6, 2017
    90
    A piece of art that challenges conventional storytelling to build a socio political critique of our present from our close future. Essential and necessary.
  5. Though the game only takes a few hours to play through, the multiple layers of story — which each unlock additional meaning in the others once uncovered — make for a groundbreaking narrative system unlike anything else. But more impressive is the emotional impact of the stories themselves, not just the tale of a crisis aboard a space station and the perils of corporate-controlled AI, but the intertwining stories of six people's lives, loves and losses.
  6. Aug 30, 2017
    85
    Tacoma is a great experience that’s not only wonderfully designed and produced, it’s one that that richly illustrates a side of videogames that’s worthy of further exploration. I would happily recommend it to nearly anyone – the themes and emotions here will resonate.
  7. Aug 16, 2017
    80
    Tacoma's augmented reality cast allow it to tell its engaging story in a unique way. It's a slow burn of a game that deftly interrogates interpersonal relationships in an engaging sci-fi setting.
  8. Aug 14, 2017
    80
    By the end of the game, I felt like I knew these crew members quite intimately which I’m guessing is part of the charm of Tacoma. Like us, these people are flawed individuals and given your involvement as an observer, it almost feels like a psychological experiment. On that note, Tacoma developer Fullbright should be commended on creating a very original game and given they were responsible for Gone Home, it’s great to see them using this premise and adding another layer of complexity with some very clever story telling.
  9. Aug 12, 2017
    80
    Tacoma is a high quality walking sim that tells a brilliant story of hope, whilst delivering complex and interesting characters.
  10. 80
    Another smart entry into the interactive narrative adventure/walking sim genre, Tacoma is a sci-fi story that's engaging from beginning to end. To state the obvious, if you dig this kind of game, then you're going to love Tacoma too.
  11. Aug 10, 2017
    79
    Tacoma shines where it counts, and that is with the story it tells and the feeling that each character within it feels real. Including the on-board AI called Odin. As an interactive story, getting to pause, rewind, and check out the movements and activities of different people in a digital recreation of past events works flawlessly. And it’s the sort of mechanic that feels fresh, whilst also being something that could only really exist in this form. Lasting roughly two hours or so, Tacoma also never feels laboured or padded with extraneous content. But, as it also doesn't present a story focusing on one character as the lead there’s a feeling that something is missing. Which, robs the ending of some of its emotional weight.
  12. Aug 9, 2017
    77
    Although Tacoma is short, it does a fantastic job telling the stories of the different characters throughout the game, using the non-sequential AR memory recordings to build emotional ties to each. Tacoma is a simple, yet fun narrative driven game that brings time and space together.
  13. Aug 16, 2017
    75
    A compelling three hours narrative experience, sustained by an interesting memories playback mechanic and a good sound design, but without excelling in any particular department.
  14. Aug 9, 2017
    75
    Tacoma excels at creating deeply relatable characters without the extravagance and big budget flashiness that pours from AAA titles, making other games feel almost unauthentic. Experiencing the crew’s highs and lows at your own pace instead of constantly being pushed along lets players relish in what makes Tacoma special; its ability to capture people’s emotions. It’s hard not to fall in love with Tacoma’s crew. Still, it’s difficult to overlook the lag as frequent as it is, so I hope Fullbright continues to patch the game. With a few fixes, Tacoma can stand out as an excellent title.
  15. Aug 7, 2017
    75
    If you’ve played games like Gone Home, Dear Esther or Firewatch, Tacoma is instantly recognizable, but it remains distinct by introducing a wildly exotic space setting and a mechanic that keeps the “look and listen gameplay” from ever becoming a bore. It can, at times, devolve into too much of a linear experience, giving way to predictable pacing, but this is forgivable, because when your time is done on the Tacoma lunar station, your heart will be a little fuller for the people you met while you were there.
  16. Aug 4, 2017
    70
    Less personal than Gone Home but still an enjoyable experience. If a walking simulator is what you’re looking for, Tacoma is able to provide a few strong emotional moments searching for signs of the crew of the space station Tacoma, during their last days aboard. A lack of real empathy with the crew, however, is its weakest point, one that is difficult to forgive. The AR functionality is a very good addition, that we’d like to see in other similar games.
  17. Aug 2, 2017
    70
    Tacoma is a very interesting exploration game that will allow us to recompose a history. It is a failure in some technical aspects, however.
  18. Aug 1, 2017
    70
    Mostly, though, I'm deeply attached to the Tacoma crew, who I only got to know through projections and the things they left behind. Out of everything, that's Tacoma's greatest accomplishment: getting you to care about people who aren't even there.
  19. Aug 3, 2017
    65
    The cold, aseptic and recursive structure of the Tacoma space station is unfortunately reflected in this (almost) emotion-free title.
  20. Aug 9, 2017
    60
    The game’s technical problems on Xbox One are a real shame, especially since the game is console exclusive to Xbox One, but those looking to look past these issues will be treated to an engrossing and surprising story aboard the Tacoma space station.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 49
  2. Negative: 13 out of 49
  1. Aug 7, 2017
    4
    This game is very underwhelming Gone Home was fantastic Tacoma is not its very boring didnt care about any of the characters the story wasntThis game is very underwhelming Gone Home was fantastic Tacoma is not its very boring didnt care about any of the characters the story wasnt very good save ur money buy something else Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2017
    6
    Tacoma takes place aboard a space station in the year 2088.

    You play as Amy Ferrier sent by a large space corporation to retrieve on board
    Tacoma takes place aboard a space station in the year 2088.

    You play as Amy Ferrier sent by a large space corporation to retrieve on board data of what took place aboard the Space Station Tacoma in its final hours and what happened to the crew. Upon docking you will first come in to contact with Odin the onboard AI for everyone aboard Tacoma. You will make your way through a few different sections of the space station unlocking the final moments of the crew and what actions they took, if any, to either save themselves or save the ones deemed most appropriate to live. You will gather data from each of the quarters and use that data on your journey to finding out what truly happened and what the crew did to stop it.

    The game itself isn’t very long at all. It does make the walking simulator a little more fun with the secret achievements and the oddity here and there. I must say that trying to play this game was a problem. Since launch, a little over a week ago, the game would not load past the boot screen where it says “press A to start”. I waited for a while and tried again and still the same thing, I then tweeted to the TacomaGame twitter handle and received a timely response that I should be happy very soon. That night and update came through allowing me to pass that boot screen and play the game. During my play through I did experience some alarming framerate problems where at times it would drop to 0fps (literally stopping and going) until the fps resumed. A couple of times the game completely crashed back to the home screen during one of these 0fps moments. I didn’t let that deter me in playing and enjoying the game but overall I do have to include that in my review for the game as it can affect another person’s enjoyment overall.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2017
    7
    Played my friend's while dog-sitting for a couple of hours . Not bad. Can't wait for the next time he goes out of town and I get to thePlayed my friend's while dog-sitting for a couple of hours . Not bad. Can't wait for the next time he goes out of town and I get to the story's end to find out that my sister is a lesbian or my brother has transitioned to an Albanian vegetarian. Full Review »