Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    72
    A fun LEGO game, but not among the best that the series has to offer, which is a real shame as the story going on around the average levels is top notch and probably one of the best. If you’ve seen the The LEGO Movie though then you can probably give The LEGO Movie Videogame a miss without too many regrets.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    This is by no means a bad game, quite the contrary. When it comes to movie tie-ins, The LEGO Movie Videogame is one of the better ones. Compared to other recent LEGO games, though, it still feels like a considerable step back.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Fans of The LEGO Movie are in for a treat, and kids wanting to experience Emmet’s adventures as opposed to just watching them are definitely in for a thrill ride. However, anyone growing tired of the LEGO game formula will likely find nothing here to reignite that love.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    While not everything is awesome, The Lego Movie Videogame should be just the ticket if you're ready to spend another 10 to 12 hours in the fantastic world of animated plastic blocks.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    65
    Amusing scenarios and eye-catching environments are a plus, as is the wide unlockable hero roster, but most of the missions feel like an unimaginative retread of the same LEGO game formula.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2014
    60
    It's not quite what we've come to expect from TT Games; you'd be better off going to watch the film four times. [Issue#109, p.81]
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 26, 2014
    60
    Funny enough, easy enough and familiar enough to feel like an old friend, but this doesn't offer the excitement we expect from a series taking its second step onto a new platform. [Apr 2014, p.81]
  8. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    As a huge fan of Lego games, I've been disappointed by The LEGO Movie Videogame. Of course the title aims at seducing young fans of the film, but is it a reason to ruin the content and the direction? Of course we find humor, platforming riddles and stuff to collect which became the renown of previous titles, but the result is not quite as enjoyable. If we limit ourselves to the bad direction, the crappy music, the bugs and lags will still be enough to displease most achievement hunters. But even the content of the game sucks, fewer characters than usual, a light life, easy progression. As it seems it's not that easy to make a good LEGO game from a great LEGO film. Next try in 2017 with LEGO the movie 2!
  9. Feb 28, 2014
    60
    The LEGO Movie Video Game is not a bad game, and it's a pleasure to have the cast and playgrounds from the movie in front of our eyes again. But it suffers from rhythm and playability issues as well as a lack of imagination. Too bad, Emmet deserves better.
  10. Feb 23, 2014
    60
    The new title from TT Games lacks some of the magic of previous LEGO Games, with the movie’s charisma getting somewhat diluted in the video game translation. We also didn’t like the game lacking any voices localization to Italian, while other European languages like french, German and spanish are fully represented: this makes it much less accessible to young players.
  11. Feb 28, 2014
    55
    Sadly, LEGO The Movie Videogame fails to live up to the expectations set by both it’s source material and its video gaming forebears.
  12. Mar 11, 2014
    50
    Underwhelming is probably the best way to describe The Lego Movie Game; sticking too closely to the movie, lacking in the fun factor, having little character of its own as a result, feeling padded and most certainly rushed to coincide with the movie launch.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    I bought this game because I wanted to play it with my girlfriend. The multiplayer is horrible! The camera is an eyesore--it also constantI bought this game because I wanted to play it with my girlfriend. The multiplayer is horrible! The camera is an eyesore--it also constant glitches back and forth between players making it impossible to play at times. The game doesn't have any interesting mechanics...only forces you to switch between characters to accomplish certain tasks. The game doesn't even save when you tell it to. It is not worth your money. Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2019
    10
    Everything is awesome! This game is amazing. It was the first Lego game I ever played. It was also the first I fully completed.
  3. Jan 24, 2019
    6
    With this, being year 2019, i have played all the LEGO TT games. I guess playing it many years after its release and having played the nextWith this, being year 2019, i have played all the LEGO TT games. I guess playing it many years after its release and having played the next ones made me feel that I was playing a rusty game. Should have played it the year of its release... Full Review »