Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    85
    Another smash-and-collect game featuring everyone’s favorite building toy. This time around, it’s based on the new animated movie and offers many of the hilarious characters fresh off the screen. A little bit of fresh gameplay livens up this entry, but a few story and camera problems hamper the experience somewhat. Ultimately, The LEGO Movie Videogame is great fun and perfect for fans of the fantastic plastic.
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    82
    While they didn’t necessarily reinvent the wheel (well, in one scene they kind of did) this installment in the LEGO series of games does what LEGO does best and it’s purely fun to play. Now if I could only get this stupid song out of my head.
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    TT Fusion followed instructions to create this game’s foundation, but the art on top of it is the work of master builders. The visuals are a surprising hook in this Lego entry.
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    78
    Captures the brilliance of the movie, with a few extras.
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    76
    The art direction shines, although it could be closer to the source. And even though in local co-op it is as entertaining as any Lego game, the movie conversion can’t hide that mechanically it is merely a risk free collection of everything we got to know over the last few years.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    If you enjoy excellent, funny voice acting and the simplicity of just exploring areas and collecting items, you'll find a lot to like. [May 2014, p.76]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    I bought this game because I wanted to play it with my girlfriend. The multiplayer is horrible! The camera is an eyesore--it also constantI bought this game because I wanted to play it with my girlfriend. The multiplayer is horrible! The camera is an eyesore--it also constant glitches back and forth between players making it impossible to play at times. The game doesn't have any interesting mechanics...only forces you to switch between characters to accomplish certain tasks. The game doesn't even save when you tell it to. It is not worth your money. Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2019
    10
    Everything is awesome! This game is amazing. It was the first Lego game I ever played. It was also the first I fully completed.
  3. Jan 24, 2019
    6
    With this, being year 2019, i have played all the LEGO TT games. I guess playing it many years after its release and having played the nextWith this, being year 2019, i have played all the LEGO TT games. I guess playing it many years after its release and having played the next ones made me feel that I was playing a rusty game. Should have played it the year of its release... Full Review »