Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 25, 2018
    95
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales slots into the world in which it’s set magnificently well. The game’s writing and its pacing is top notch, collectively pushing forward a story that’s deep, unique, and thoroughly engaging. Minor and infrequent framerate issues to the side, Thronebreaker offers an exceptional adventure, a compelling RPG, and above all else, a rich and entertaining card battling experience.
  2. Jan 9, 2019
    91
    CD Projekt RED is known for their quality and superb games, and this is no different with Thronebreaker, aside from performance issues. Even as a standalone separate experience from the core Witcher games, Thronebreaker is a great diversion if you’re looking for a deep and challenging card/RPG title, even giving you the option to skip the card portion completely if you wish, allowing for more people to enjoy it how they wish.
  3. Dec 10, 2018
    87
    An RPG story-driven game unlike anything else out there. One that features one of the best interactive bits of fiction this side of The Witcher III – with a flawed, interesting and awe-inspiring protagonist in the form of Meve. No doubt, we can’t wait to check out the next Witcher Tale.
  4. Jan 14, 2019
    85
    Thronebreaker is a great add on to The Witcher franchise, and it blends in a very unique way with the other games.
  5. Jan 2, 2019
    85
    CD Projekt RED managed in making extremely compelling an unusual genre for a narrative game, successfully mixing exploration, dialogues and card battles in a game that will please any The Witcher lover.
  6. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    Thronebreaker is a masterful RPG with a version of Gwent that is well-suited for a single-player experience. Even if you aren’t into card games, this one is worth a try for the story and RPG mechanics alone.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Dec 8, 2018
    8
    The presentation side of the game hits all of the right notes and both the visuals and sound design do a wonderful job of creating a veryThe presentation side of the game hits all of the right notes and both the visuals and sound design do a wonderful job of creating a very immersive experience. I was very impressed with the story that was present in the game because it hooked me right from the start and remained interesting throughout.
    As far as card games go this is up there with the very best because it never seems to get full due to the variety that’s present in each game. There are choices you have to make during some sequences and these choices actually feel like they matter in the grand scheme of things. Once you get used to puzzle battles you realize quite quickly how clever some of the situations are and once completed you get a great sense of achievement. There’s a ton of unique mechanics in play at the same time which combine together flawlessly for the most part. The tutorial that’s in the game lacks in terms of depth so you don’t feel fully confident when you first start out. I really enjoy the Witcher franchise and I really like Gwent as well so for me Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales was a match made in heaven. Thankfully it doesn’t disappoint as well and while it doesn’t have the same amount of depth as a full blown Witcher title it equally feels important and enjoyable throughout. I must admit now that I didn’t expect the story to be as profound and interesting as it was here and the choices you had to make not only mattered but they also made the story matter even more as well. As far as the gameplay goes if you like Gwent then you will thoroughly enjoy what this game has to offer. The first thing you’ll notice about the gameplay is just how much variety it has and being able to craft cards means no game ever plays out the same way. If that isn’t enough for you there are also special puzzle battles as well where you have to do unique instructions to complete a specific battle and for me these battles make the game stand out even more. At the end of the day then Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales gets a massive recommendation from me because it has a number of mechanics that work together flawlessly and if you like the Witcher series you’ll be pleased to know that they’ve done justice to the series with this game. Thumbs up!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2019
    2
    One of my favorite games of all time is the Witcher 3 and all of it's DLC. That said I purchased this game as a hopeful expansion to thatOne of my favorite games of all time is the Witcher 3 and all of it's DLC. That said I purchased this game as a hopeful expansion to that story with meaningful combat experience, though I knew game-play would be different. My take on what I purchased was a card game only remotely tied to Gwent from the game, which I thoroughly enjoyed because it was tied to the story line and gave you bonuses. I found this game to be a very loosely based story line with almost antiquated game play which could be found on a much less expensive game. This might be a great 2.00 game but not for the price I paid. Not happy and would not recommend this. I really hate even say this because I loved the all of the others so much. Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2018
    9
    Are you a fan of the Witcher Series? Are you a fan of gwent? If the answer is yes, buy that game! You should know that this isn't a typicalAre you a fan of the Witcher Series? Are you a fan of gwent? If the answer is yes, buy that game! You should know that this isn't a typical RPG like The Witcher 3 but it gives you an intense Story from the Witcher-Lore with superb detailed graphics (looks like its drawn by hand). The fights in this game are Gwent-Battles. You can improve your Deck by crafting new Cards or just play the Story to "earn" new cards. You can find Loot (wood, gold, soldiers) to craft cards or improve your Base-Camp. To add a little excitement CD Projekt Red put "riddles" in the game. These are gwent battles with special rules and can only be won if you reach one exact goal. Totally funny and sometimes really tricky!

    All-in-all Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a must have for every The Witcher fan and everyone who loves to play "Card-Battle-Games". The Battle-System with Gwent makes sense and is something different than just a multiplayer-battle.
    Full Review »