Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    95
    Whatever frustrations and let-downs fans of The Division suffered, their patience has been more than repaid with The Division 2. With new, free content scheduled for release throughout 2019, and considering Ubisoft’s recent track record with keeping releases like Rainbow Six Siege and Ghost Recon Wildlands fresh for years with new content, I wouldn’t bet against The Division 2 being a thousand-hour game for dedicated players. The Division 2 is surely the game that fans of The Division wanted to play and that Massive Entertainment wanted to deliver the first time around.
  2. Mar 25, 2019
    92
    The refined combat, improved AI, and other elements overshadow any detriments and lingering bugs. The Division 2 is not only a refined follow-up, it’s the arguably the best ‘looter shooter’ this generation has seen.
  3. May 7, 2019
    90
    For what it’s worth, The Division 2 is a fine game. It’s finely tuned, looks gorgeous in 4K, plays like I would have hoped, and just takes a great idea and improves on it. Co-op is the way to go, and solo players will still have some fun with it, but it will be a more difficult romp. Massive has shown they listened to their fans and wanted to make a game that the players wanted to see and they did just that. It’s a great shooter, great RPG, and well worth the time for anyone looking for a rewarding adventure.
  4. May 6, 2019
    90
    Not only is The Division 2 a solid gaming experience, but it's one that Ubisoft plans to continually support over time. We've already seen the beginning of that support, and there is no indication that it'll let up. Whether you are a solo player or someone ready to jump in with a squad of friends, The Division 2 is a game you don't want to miss.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Apr 9, 2019
    90
    A seriously accomplished looter shooter, with plenty to do on day one.
  6. Apr 5, 2019
    90
    Ubisoft has taken criticisms to heart, and made changes that capitalize on the series' potential in ways the first game never did. Their approach to this title should be considered a success on many fronts, with their main downgrade from the predecessor coming in the form of a lackluster main plot and forgettable characters. Technical issues and instances of poor AI shouldn’t be ignored either, but they’re outshined by the superb gameplay improvements that include meaningful optional content, a deeper well of skills and gear, and a more level playing field in PvP. The Division 2 has something here for fans, critics, and newcomers alike.
  7. Mar 31, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is probably the best looter shooter of this generation of videogames. Its addictive gameplay, the large amount of content and a tactical AI make it indispensable.
  8. Critical Hit
    Mar 25, 2019
    90
    As a first step towards a future of more live service content, The Division 2 already feels amazingly complete. It works from day one, its various systems are staggeringly deep and its combat is in a class of its own. Everything else that’s still to come over the next couple of years? That’s a satisfying cherry on top of an already massive sundae of excellence.
  9. Mar 24, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is not a radical change, but it is that little twist that the game needed. It's a much more complete game than its first installment in every aspect. Starting with the content, but also, and not less important, by how well integrated are this time almost all elements: progress, gameplay, endgame...
  10. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    The range of enemy types continues to keep combat encounters challenging, the equipment I earn and pick up continues to feel different, valuable, and asks me to consider new ways of play. The ravaged environments continue to intrigue, and sometimes they're so stunning I find myself needing to take screenshots before I move on.
  11. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    At times, The Division 2 does just feel like more of the same but with a new setting, but when it’s pulled off this well, who cares? In developing The Division 2, Ubisoft has taken what worked from the first game and listened to fans, creating a follow up that’s captivating and densely packed with things to do. If you like third-person shooters or love loot, it’s a must-buy.
  12. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    As someone who plays this genre more than any other, there is too much that The Division 2 does right to ignore, and it’s doing it right from launch, which is a mountain of points in its favor. I have sunk in 60 hours in a week and a half and I have no plans to stop playing any time soon. This is a big win for Massive, Ubisoft and players themselves.
  13. Mar 20, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 feels like a watershed moment for the loot-shooter sub-genre. Its mechanics are solid, its performance is great (aside from some minor glitches and bugs), and its content is bountiful. These things make it a rarity in the genre, an outlier from games that launch half-finished and limping from patch to patch and DLC to DLC. The Division 2 is the new gold standard for games-as-a-service – D.C. really is lovely this time of year.
  14. Mar 20, 2019
    90
    A triumphant follow-up that sets the bar for the looter-shooter. There are some teething issues, but The Division 2 is an incredibly polished product, and downright compelling at the same time.
  15. Mar 29, 2019
    89
    Outside of some terrible soundtrack music and gameplay mechanic hiccups, The Division 2 is everything you hope a sequel should be. In today's world it's rare to see a sequel deliver a better experience than the original. The Division 2 does just that. So, to sum things up, buy the game. You can thank me later.
  16. Apr 29, 2019
    88
    You'll certainly get a lot of bang for your entertainment buck with it.
  17. Mar 24, 2019
    88
    The Division 2 improves on the previous game in many areas, especially gameplay and end-game content, managing to feel always captivating and never boring. Too bad for the skinny and unsatisfying story, while the PvP section and modes needs more refinement and balance.
  18. Mar 22, 2019
    87
    The Division 2 is a huge game, full of content and things to do. The best part of it is that, thanks to its excellent gameplay, you’ll enjoy every single mission. The missions themselves could have better design, and things like the matchmaking are far from perfect, but overall it’s a great ‘shooter looter’.
  19. Mar 19, 2019
    85
    The Division 2 is almost certainly a step up from its predecessor, offering more content than you can shake a stick at and enough tweaks to make it feel somewhat fresh. While Massive has attempted to rectify the issues of the original, it hasn’t quite managed that yet: yes, enemies are still kind of bullet-spongey and the missions can get quite repetitive after a while, but aside from that, The Division 2 is an impressive follow-up, building upon what was already a solid foundation.
  20. Mar 19, 2019
    85
    For those who finished the first Division game, this second episode will probably lack some new and exclusive features. That being said, The Division 2 is definately a great game that mixes polished gameplay and a huge amount of content, especially for the end game.
  21. Mar 18, 2019
    85
    The Division 2 does not introduce a massive revolution in its formula, nor does it pretend to be on, given the good taste in our mouths that the first one left. It more than meets the "more and better" expected of a sequel.
  22. Mar 29, 2019
    80
    The Division 2 is very much like the first game of the franchise. The gameplay feels familiar, but there are noticeable tweaks and additions to all the modes on offer, all of which are for the best. I’ve had a blast playing through it all in co-op with a friend, but it’s certainly different playing on your own; far from terrible but you’ll need lots of willpower.
  23. Mar 28, 2019
    80
    The Division 2 is a safe but overall well-made sequel. Although the most noticeable difference compared to the predecessor might be the shift from winter to spring, there have been several improvements that do a lot for the gameplay - not the least in terms of combat. Liberating Washington is also just as fun and rewarding today as it was to help New York three years ago. If you want a more down to earth online action game, The Division 2 is the game for you.
  24. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    The second entry in The Division series has improved greatly in almost every aspect, and can be easily considered as one of the best multiplayer role playing titles ever, and the experience could have been just flawless if not for the weak story and some enemy AI issues.
  25. Mar 25, 2019
    80
    Sure, The Division 2 isn’t perfect. Those hoping for an in-depth and engaging story will find themselves extremely disappointed in the meager offering on hand here. But, if you can overlook that, you’ll find an amazing experience beneath that is just teeming with engaging content. Considering how easy it is to sink 60+ hours into the game and still have activities to complete, I’m confident in saying that Massive Entertainment has earned themselves a giant gold star.
  26. Mar 23, 2019
    80
    The Division 2 is better than it has any right to be. Considering how well everything works with one another, it is hard to not overstate how much this game does right. This is what “games as a service” games are supposed to be. Sure, it has the launch hiccups of its predecessors and that one mission that I loathed, but it is loaded with so much content that is both fun and challenging. The Division 2 is the litmus test for loot shooters from here on out and I will surely be playing more as its free DLC starts rolling out.
  27. May 13, 2019
    70
    The Division 2 may be making a mess on Tom Clancy's grave by betraying his highly conservative values, but what is here is a very competent and polished third-person open-world action game with a big emphasis on co-op. The value in this package is seemingly nigh on endless with the amount of things to do and see. Even the core gameplay loop, though simplistic, is satisfying enough to keep things stimulating, even when they feel monotonous at times. Just when things feel the most tedious, the end game content really mixes things up in a big way to reinvigorate the formula.
  28. Mar 28, 2019
    70
    For me, The Division 2 is little more than a cornucopia of hyper-detailed shooting galleries. I doubt I’ll keep up with it as it’s updated with new content since I inevitably grow bored of open-ended shooters with weak narrative hooks.
  29. Mar 21, 2019
    60
    Shooting the bad men and tinkering with your loot in The Division 2 is good enough to keep you coming back to something that’s regularly monotonous and lacks any real message.
  30. Mar 19, 2019
    40
    An accomplished but rather tedious and macabre game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 23, 2019
    Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 is a huge game. I feel its sprawl in the time it takes to run the length of the National Mall in Washington. And yet it all loads and runs like a dream, making this a technical achievement as much as an artistic one. There are no wheels being reinvented here, no new ground broken, but all of my complaints about the first game are addressed and improved upon. And Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 is just fun piled upon fun, sometimes despite its ridiculously serious tone, often because of it. [Polygon Recommends]
  2. Mar 14, 2019
    The Division 2 sets the standard for visual quality on Xbox One X. Moody lighting, evocative weather effects, and painstakingly-detailed environments have pretty much become Ubisoft's calling card, and they're all the more impressive when you consider how Division 2 increases the stakes...Early on, The Division 2 feels very similar to the original game, but the small improvements look as though they could help the franchise realize the potential largely missed by The Division when it launched in 2016.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 391 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 16, 2019
    9
    The combat in the division 2 feels as smooth and responsive as its predecessor which is a good thing indeed. The original Division was a gamesThe combat in the division 2 feels as smooth and responsive as its predecessor which is a good thing indeed. The original Division was a games you either embraced or possibly looked by until you found a great sale. Initially it still had a few too many issues which many were resolved during the lifespan of the game or I grew to love over time. Despite the previous game I was still an optimist of The Division 2, and I was confident they corrected some of the problems the first game had early on. After completing the main content it became quite clear that they did just that and whilst it isn’t perfect I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my journey my only complaint is the glitch that exists for the rare weapons that can be obtained thru the glitch which I would expect should be corrected shortly. One of the biggest improvements I found this time around then was definitely the AI and controls because without a doubt these both feel more intelligent and realistic, and quite frankly I felt I was battling my best even early in the game while I got the feel for the new game. The gunplay does feel more realistic and smooth this time around, as well and whenever I took down an enemy opponents it felt rewarding and and very exciting. In terms of mission content the game has a lot for you to explore the activities you can do within this content to keep things fresh and interesting. The loot you get keeps things fun and interesting as well and this aspect will keep your interest peaked for a long while to come. Even though the presentation doesn’t feel improved over the predecessor along with the absence of an offline component again, I feel that the improvements have been made The Division 2 a better game overall and definitely a worth addition to your library, especially If your a fan of shooters. Well done UBISoft, hope to see your software continue to improve and bring us the long time classics we have enjoyed for years. Two Thumbs up! Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2019
    10
    This is a great game. Ubisoft made so many big and minor changes that make this game a joy to play. I like how agents can call for assist andThis is a great game. Ubisoft made so many big and minor changes that make this game a joy to play. I like how agents can call for assist and you can join their session to help them out. I like how they added a countdown timer for your skills so you know how long before your able to use them. The movement is more deliberate, the shooting and gun sounds feel more powerful. There are a host of other improvements that make this game a must buy for looter/shooter/RPG fans. see you on the battlefield. Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2019
    0
    I thought the first The Division game was a breath of fresh air. It was a decent way to pass some time. Most of all, it had a really niceI thought the first The Division game was a breath of fresh air. It was a decent way to pass some time. Most of all, it had a really nice atmosphere. Walking through the desolate streets of a snowy NY really hit the mark with that post-apocalyptic feeling.

    The Division 2 is another story completely though:
    - The mood of the first game is 100 percent gone. Washington DC in the middle of the summer just isn't the same thing.
    - The game is super laggy on X-Box One. If your game can't run 60 fps in 4K, it shouldn't have 4K at all
    - Aiming absolutely sucks compared to PC. Combined with the lagginess it makes the game barely playable. The small autoaim they've put in there is really random and stupid
    - Graphics look like garbage. They are detailed, but they look like last gen compared to a game like RE2.
    - Tried refunding but I've played barely more than 2 hours, and there is of course no way checking my in game play time.
    - There is barely any story at all compared to the first game. Super lazy for an AAA game. Where there was so much character and backstory in the first game that played in to the atmosphere, there is almost none here? Makes the game feel more like an expansion of the first one.

    If you have to play this game, buy it for PC and play it on a good gaming rig.

    Edit: Go in and look at the user profiles of the people who have posted positive reviews here. They have either no other reviews or only 10's for Ubisoft games. What a joke.
    Full Review »