Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Sep 18, 2019
    93
    The work done by both Runic Games and Panic Button in Torchlight 2 is simply magnificent, they have not simply managed to bring the full experience of Torchlight 2 to Xbox One, but they have managed to greatly improve its performance, especially in Xbox One X.
  2. Sep 29, 2019
    80
    With all aspects weighed up, including the reasonable price point, you should certainly give Torchlight II a go and let it light up your life with what is an addictive dungeon crawling experience.
  3. Sep 24, 2019
    80
    There is not a whole lot to talk about with Torchlight II. It is a phenomenal game that has taken far too long to bring to consoles. It came and went with little fanfare, which is a shame. Outside of Diablo III this is probably the best action-RPG currently available anywhere. Do not miss out on this exemplary title. It is a shame that the new Torchlight is not a continuation of the formula, but considering the quality of the first two games I will give anything bearing the namesake a shot.
  4. Sep 13, 2019
    80
    Torchlight II is a more than recommended proposal. It is easy to get caught up in your universe and spend hours finishing with dozens of enemies on your fantastic maps. It shows its inspiration in the classics, but it shows charisma and personality everywhere.
  5. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    Torchlight II may not have the best story, but its gameplay is amazing.
  6. Oct 1, 2019
    76
    Torchlight 2 doesn’t explore new territory, but it doesn’t need to. It keeps true to what made the first Torchlight a decent RPG and built on it. Although it has taken a while for it to finally make its way to the Xbox One, fans of the first game or those into isometric RPG’s will be happy to tuck into this game as there is plenty of content and variety to keep things interesting. To also now be able to play this multiplayer as well can only make the game more interesting.
  7. Sep 11, 2019
    60
    If you want some cheap action RPG goodness, by all means pick it up. But you’re not going to be shouting about it from the hilltops.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 13, 2019
    8
    Torchlight II originally came out back in 2012 on the PC and with me not having a PC at that time the only way I could play it was on myTorchlight II originally came out back in 2012 on the PC and with me not having a PC at that time the only way I could play it was on my friends PC. I think my friend got sick of me hogging his PC though because I did sink quite a few hours into it but it was that addictive that I couldn’t help myself. I was hoping then that the game would finally release on console and to my excitement it finally has and even though it’s only 7 years old it could’ve aged badly but thankfully that’s not the case here. Instead it’s just as addictive as I remember but this time I own it instead of using my friends PC to play it so I can sink as many hours into it as I want to and believe me I’ve already put plenty of time into it without any boredom kicking in at all. One of the biggest reasons why you have to get this game is down to its very cheap price because for the very low price of £16.74/$20 you get an amazing amount of value for your money with tons of replayability present throughout. Obviously the cheap price doesn’t mean that the game will be good but that’s not the case here because Torchlight II is very good and whilst you can draw comparisons to that of the Diablo franchise it definitely still has its own unique identity. A lot and you’re introduced to something it gets right immediately because both the art style and sound design are pretty much flawless. The gameplay is pretty much flawless as well with RPG elements mixing in with the hack and slash combat perfectly and with the added bonus of tons of loot wherever you turn here lies Torchlight II’s addictive edge and it doesn’t seem to let go no matter how long you play. It’s a good job then that the game has an almost endless amount of content so expect to give up quite a few hours of your life in the coming months. Was Torchlight II worth the wait for Xbox owners? Absolutely. With lots of variety and plenty to see and explore you’ll probably put about 7 years of gaming into it which in turn makes up for that long wait. Joking apart though Torchlight II definitely deserves to be up there with the best games in this particular genre and even if you only have slight interest in these types of games then this game needs to be right at the top of your list. Full Review »