Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
Buy On
  1. Though the replacement of authored characters with procedurally generated avatars has mixed results, Watch Dogs Legion is unique among GTA-style open world crime games as a result. The city is vast and beautiful, your options for vigilante havoc very broad and the potential for it all to explode into a memorably janky anecdote generally sky high.
  2. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Unlike the previous chapters, Watch Dogs Legion has a strong identity and some bold takes on the action adventure genre, on top of an inspired setting. However, it still suffers the usual Ubisoft open world's troubled progression and meaningful narrative.
  3. 70
    Watch Dogs: Legion is incredibly ambitious, but the play as anyone system needs a little more work. The story suffers from the lack of a central protagonist, and it's hard to get attached to any of your characters when the character models and animations are stiff and robotic. Still, there's a lot of fun to be had in futuristic London.
  4. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Watch Dogs Legion is an enjoyable open-world adventure that provides you with a beautiful vision of dystopian London to explore, but its ambitious mechanics simply don’t reach the heights I was hoping for.
  5. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Watch Dogs: Legion is a good game that could have been a great game if it had fully committed to its systems. Its recreation of London is stunning, its core concept is up there with Shadow of Mordor’s Nemesis system in terms of innovation, and I would love to see where it could go if Ubisoft gives the team a second crack at it. With a stronger story, a much better ending, an improved driving model, and a bit more polish, I could see Legion being a classic. I hope the series continues in this interesting direction and it’s not unceremoniously shunted into a lake.
  6. Oct 28, 2020
    70
    Watch Dogs Legion is a rather fun game built on the basis of a very interesting storyline. Too bad that gameplay is excessively anchored to the two previous chapters, and the tech side is quite disappointing.
  7. Nov 25, 2020
    65
    My gripes really stem from the place of being a fan. Anyone entering Watch Dogs: Legion looking for a by the books open world game is going to find a lot to enjoy. There are small puzzles to solve, plenty of collectibles, lots of missions and I would say the shooting and driving are the best this series has ever been. Fans of the series like myself however will be disappointed by the lack of enjoyable characters as well as stand out missions and story beats. With how close Legion is releasing to Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla and Immortals Fenyx Rising it feels like Watch Dogs: Legion was left to fight for your attention and your money with less money put into development. I would recommend both Watch Dogs 1 & 2 as well as plenty of other Ubisoft experiences from the last few years before Legion at full price.
  8. Nov 24, 2020
    65
    Ubisoft have done well with this game but if you get frustrated easily I would maybe wait till this game has had a few more updates first before playing it.
  9. Oct 28, 2020
    65
    After so much anticipation, Watch Dogs: Legion is finally here, failing to impress. Almost every single problem that prevented the two previous versions from reaching their full potential is still there, and the ability to play as all NPCs added even more issues to the game. Yes, the world is beautiful and you have all the freedom that you want, but as a game, Watch Dogs Legion is shallow and suffers from poor level and character design. A strong contender for the most disappointing game of the year.
  10. Oct 28, 2020
    65
    Being able to Play As Anyone in Watch Dogs: Legion is impressive at first, but it becomes a detriment to the core experience that's in need of revitalization. The hacking and stealth infiltrations haven't changed a bit, and with repetitive mission design and numerous technical issues, this latest chapter finds DedSec in an identity crisis.
  11. Nov 13, 2020
    60
    It’s a convincing facsimile, which makes trying to save it from Albion and its assorted cronies a more compelling task. And Legion’s big gimmick is that you can play as, well, anyone. Construction workers, lawyers, YouTube stars, retired cage fighters, Anarchists, football hooligans. All are served up by Ubisoft’s smart procedurally-generated trick, each with their own look, background and sometimes even voting record.
  12. Nov 10, 2020
    60
    Legion doesn’t quite reach the lofty heights of its San Francisco predecessor. Your team isn’t as endearing, the missions aren’t as fun and the story is just not quite as engaging. Though, if you take the time to explore the streets of London, and make it your playground, there is still lots to like. The gameplay loop is addictive once you get into it and if you can look past the bugs and pantomime voices, you’ll be happy you digitally toured one of the worlds greatest cities, albeit a bleak one.
  13. Nov 2, 2020
    60
    Watch Dogs: Legion is a bold move with a few highlights here and there, but still a disappointment that will have you going back to Watch Dogs 2 instead.
  14. Oct 30, 2020
    60
    With a darker storyline and a wonderfully re-imagined London that is the star of the show, the third entry into the franchise feels as if it’s slightly matured from Watch Dogs 2. The new ‘play as anyone’ mechanic is innovative but sadly soon becomes redundant. Numerous bugs and glitches also mar the overall experience. Having the game crash several times and losing about 20 minutes worth of progress each time is not something that should be happening with a big-budget title such as Legion. Even after downloading the latest hotfix, crashing issues still persisted. This will likely be fixed with more patches later on down the line, but it will still be disappointing for those who purchase the game on day one. However, if you can keep a stiff upper lip about some of the bugs, you’ll have a lot of fun with Legion. Even if someone does end up calling you a twatwaffle.
  15. Oct 28, 2020
    60
    Watch Dogs fans and more die-hard anarchists among you might enjoy it more, but between the short storylines, underwhelming tech and mission types and the general “everything is on fire” vibe, it just doesn’t rate highly for me.
  16. Oct 28, 2020
    60
    Ubisoft Toronto has done a fine job in bringing a broken, near-future London to grim life in Watch Dogs: Legion, and playing as anyone you like has a certain appeal, but ultimately, it doesn't quite work as well as one might have hoped.
  17. Oct 28, 2020
    58
    If I’d paid full price for it on release day, I’d be wondering why I paid so much money for a game that feels closer to EDF or Goat Simulator than anything else. Obviously, I had fun with it, so I wouldn’t say never buy it or never play it — but you may be better off waiting it bit for it to come down in price. Then you hop in, and start crashing cars and causing mayhem to your heart’s content.
  18. Nov 12, 2020
    50
    The failures of Legion lie at its very heart, in the option to play as anybody you want. The only way to recommend this game? Try it out if you wish to virtually visit a beautiful, faithfully recreated London.
  19. Oct 30, 2020
    50
    If you’re a fan of Ubisoft’s open-world design, then you’ll enjoy this game to an extent, but there’s little done here that Watch Dogs 2 didn’t do as well or more so in 2016. It’s a fun stealth-action open-world hacking game, but it’s one that falls under its own weight in many ways. So please, do not play the Xbox One S version. Like the first Watch Dogs, it over promises, under preforms, and this soon-to-be previous-generation version will be forgotten quickly.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 3, 2020
    Legion's near-future London is almost too close for comfort, though the game it hosts is a characterless slog.
  2. Oct 28, 2020
    Mostly, I am impressed at how Ubisoft Montreal got me to care about people more than skills, even in a game set up to prioritize the latter. Like a card trick, I’m left with the sense that the developers coaxed me to pick the person it needed to complete this particular chapter of the story, while making it seem like it was my call all the way. For interactive entertainment, that’s outstanding storytelling, and it supports gameplay that has rewarded my own risk-taking and creativity with the urge to play it all again, with an entirely new cast
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 3, 2020
    8
    This game is funny and thats the important, it is not a master pice but it is funny, the story could be better and ubisoft could use betterThis game is funny and thats the important, it is not a master pice but it is funny, the story could be better and ubisoft could use better the resources of the game, the misions sometimes feel repetitive but thet are funny.
    My final veredict is: it is funny game that could be better
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2020
    10
    Doesn't deserve that low user score, i would like to bet tons of these 0's are fake accounts made by losers who are angry that cyberdelay 2077Doesn't deserve that low user score, i would like to bet tons of these 0's are fake accounts made by losers who are angry that cyberdelay 2077 moved into late december and now they let their anger out on this game. lol.
    Legion is overall pretty enjoyable game. Nothing super special.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2020
    10
    Jogo Pesado que envolve muita tecnologia e história fascinante. Monstrooo !!!