Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 31, 2022
    90
    There’s just so much to discover and learn for yourself. I didn't want to spoil the experience, because for me it was incredible. Gritty and majestic, all at once.
  2. Mar 31, 2022
    90
    With a fantastic roster of stories to play through and characters to interact with, Weird West is sure to please any fan of the Old West. Its mix of fantasy and spaghetti western tropes blends beautifully to create a memorable experience that twists and turns around the believable and magical. While there are a few niggles here and there, the overall experience feels polished throughout and WolfEye's attention to detail is noticeable in all aspects. The Weird West is beautiful, deadly, and free from constraining gameplay choices.
  3. Mar 31, 2022
    90
    Weird West is a fantastic debut from Wolfeye Studios, a slick and addictive action-RPG that delivers a top-notch narrative alongside some delightfully chaotic combat in a world that absolutely oozes atmosphere. The Arkane DNA is evident here in the slick selection of powers and abilities, the choice-driven storylines and combat that gives you the tools to experiment, to toy with your enemies and approach problems from multiple angles. Side missions are delightfully well-written, there's a ton of dungeons, looting and crafting to dig into and, beyond a handful of buggy enemy encounters, the whole thing looks, sounds and plays like a dream.
  4. May 26, 2022
    85
    Engaging combat is matched with stellar writing, great music, and most importantly it’s just damned fun.
  5. Apr 29, 2022
    85
    We are facing a title as rare as fun, which combines elements of multiple genres to create something new that won’t leave anyone indifferent. Expectations were high and it has far exceeded them.
  6. Mar 31, 2022
    85
    Seductive atmosphere, impeccable immersion, neat narrative, the supercharged universe of Weird West is as vast as it is generous. For twenty hours in a straight line, the immersive simulation experience provides good sensations and a coherent RPG dimension despite an AI that is still too perfectible.
  7. Apr 8, 2022
    84
    Weird West is now one of my top Devolver Digital games. This action RPG set on a fun and strange spaghetti western stage provides an engaging story the brings all the chapters together nicely albeit through some repetitious gameplay loops to ultimately build a universe I hope we get to explore more of someday.
  8. May 9, 2022
    80
    The work that has gone into the Weird West world and the characters that frequent it is impressive. Yes the grind is real, but it is a rewarding experience when it all comes together.
  9. Apr 25, 2022
    80
    A western immersive sim with isometric camera mixed with supernatural elements is something that can only be experienced in video games format; and despite all the technical shortcomings caused by limited resources, Weird West is one of those very unique games that emerge once every 10 years.
  10. Mar 31, 2022
    80
    Weird West is smaller in comparison to Colantonio's previous games like Prey and Dishonored 2, but it's nonetheless ambitious and leaves a lot of choice in the hands of the player. A little gem that needs just a little bit of extra polish to shine even brighter.
  11. Apr 25, 2022
    77
    As I played through Weird West (and wrote this review) I talked to many people, none more than one person in particular who often laughed and sent memes about how much I hated the game but kept going back to it. I will confess, I wasn’t a fan at the beginning, but now I’m deep in the midst of a second playthrough because I want more. That, to me, is what any game wants for its audience. Something that resonates with them, something they want to talk about and share. Weird West was never really weird enough in the supernatural sense, but compelling enough for me to get past the unremarkable loot and lackluster weapons, just to dive deeper into the stories of five unlikely heroes of their own wild west stories.
  12. Mar 31, 2022
    70
    Weird West doesn’t quite gel on every level, but it still makes for a fascinating and deep action RPG sure to entertain fans of the late-90s CRPGs.
  13. Mar 31, 2022
    70
    When everything works, Weird West feels great to play. Sadly, sometimes you can see how budget and time constraints hindered the game as a whole. Still we believe Raphael Colantonio can make necessary updates and fixes to their project, because it sure has a lot of potential.
  14. Mar 31, 2022
    70
    Weird West's astounding world-building and intriguing singleplayer campaign are worth the cost of entry on their own, but the game's lackluster technical performance and polish are huge negatives that prevent it from achieving greatness.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 5, 2022
    Succeeding on many levels, Weird West is a very good first game that bodes well for the next titles from the WolfEye studio. We clearly enjoyed the universe and the narration and the different ways of approaching the action phases are quite ingenious. Unfortunately, several small flaws darken the picture, starting with a controller gameplay that doesn’t really match the title’s ambitions. A lack of precision is quickly felt and makes certain actions, such as the infiltration phases, completely impossible. Nevertheless, this dive into the horrific desert remains convincing, and we particularly recommend it to fans of Arkane’s previous productions.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Apr 5, 2022
    0
    Vendu comme un jeu de rôle (indépendant à très petit budget) mais au prix fort (tout de même !) de 40 boules (ils ne doutent de rien, cesVendu comme un jeu de rôle (indépendant à très petit budget) mais au prix fort (tout de même !) de 40 boules (ils ne doutent de rien, ces crevards), Weird West est un « western » très bizarre et volontiers ésotérique… avec des monstres et des mutants ici et là…

    En vue aérienne et en cel shading (pas terrible), le jeu aurait mérité un combat au tour par tour… Hélas, ce n’est pas le cas et on se retrouve avec un temps réel foireux du type ‘haque et slache’… avec des flingues… ou du corps-à-corps. La visée (au stick droit) est particulièrement merdique et la confusion qui règne (avec des explosions venant de barils ou de projectiles enflammés par exemple) rend les affrontements encore plus bordéliques… et confus.

    Les combats sont très nombreux et la furtivité complètement claquée au sol ne pourra pas prendre le relais : c’est dans ce jeu une totale perte de temps tellement, elle s’avère pénible et mal faite. L’inventaire est très mal fait lui aussi, ne repose pas sur le poids mais sur le nombre d’emplacements… on ramasse juste quelques merdes et… plus de place ! on revend ça une misère et pendant ce temps, les trousses de soin et les munitions (rares) coûtent très cher…

    Mais le pire concerne l’espèce de simulacre d’histoire principale : elle se révèle soit-disant originale (au début) mais fait long feu, devient répétitif et ne parvient jamais à vraiment démarrer… on passe de personnage en personnage à faire des trucs qui n’ont aucun rapport, à se demander ce qu’on fout là ! ils ont tenté de copier sur l’excellent Torment (Numenera) mais ont échoué lamentablement.

    Quant au côté ‘jeu de rôle’ ici, il est aussi limité que pathétique ! les dialogues sont rares et d’une grande pauvreté ; les choix ne sont que poudre aux yeux ou au mieux purement anecdotiques… Une immense déception donc pour ce gros étron indé qui pue de la gueule !
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2022
    0
    Nenache capaci di mettere i sottotitoli in italiano , è tempo perso solo l'idea di scricare sto schifo
  3. Apr 2, 2022
    10
    Metacritic, where people leave negative reviews without playing the game. I pity these people. Weird West is unique and the type of game IMetacritic, where people leave negative reviews without playing the game. I pity these people. Weird West is unique and the type of game I wish we had more of these days. Impactful choices, solid writing, abundant interactivity, interesting quests, enticing random encounters, promised post-launch content, good atmosphere, immersion, etc. The only demerits are the clunky controls, lack of voice acting, and the camera. Full Review »