User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 197

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2020
    0
    This game sounded really interesting and appealed to me. Unfortunately it was so terribly ridden with bugs that I couldn't even get past the "Molly" chapter without multiple playthroughs. Don't waste your time, go play a game that has developers care about it.
  2. Jul 31, 2020
    10
    Si créatif dans la diversité, les idées et la réalisation. bluffant ! Joué sur One X.
  3. Jun 17, 2020
    10
    It's 2 hours long but it has stuck with me for 2 months and the variety of the gameplay keeps it interesting if the incredible, intriguing story didn't. Price is the only drawback, but going off the quality of the game alone it's no trouble deciding the score.
  4. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    História bem louca e interessante. O que passou naquela casa é um horror. A Protagonista ver tudo que acontece no passado naquela casa. Os antecessores teve cada coisa que me assustou. Coitado dessa família. Linda História de Suspense. GT: WilliamHaole
  5. Feb 26, 2020
    8
    bom jogo, bonitinho mas triste, sei lá mas recomendo, facil de gamerscore, não me deu sono, ta otimo
  6. Jan 16, 2020
    7
    Is more like a movie where you need to move main character. You watch many well-drawn stories and locations, some of them interesting, other boring. Visuals are strong side of that "game". Unfortunately gamer has nothing to do here. You cannot make any choices, cannot save anyone or at least unravel mystery. Ending is very disappointing. Game is short what here becomes a plus. I didn'tIs more like a movie where you need to move main character. You watch many well-drawn stories and locations, some of them interesting, other boring. Visuals are strong side of that "game". Unfortunately gamer has nothing to do here. You cannot make any choices, cannot save anyone or at least unravel mystery. Ending is very disappointing. Game is short what here becomes a plus. I didn't want to play it more. Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Эта игра, она просто потрясающая!!! Тронула сердце. Чего только стоила история маленького брата главной героини. Если у вас есть дети, вы просто не сможете остаться равнодушным. История девочки-кошки тоже поразила. История рабочего рыбного цеха, это просто невероятный полет фантазии. Спасибо огромное авторам игры! Вы тронули думаю очень много сердец. Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2019
    10
    Una increíble historia y un apartado artístico de gran nivel te lleva a conocer la historia (maldita)de los Finch.
    Te cambia la manera de entender la vida.
  9. Nov 14, 2019
    10
    I can certainly recommend this game. For me, It's got a great and interesting story and I dig the art direction. It is quite short; I beat the game in about 2 hours, but there is some replay-ability in this game, since there are details you'll likely miss the first time around.

    The voice acting is well done and does a great job of narrating the story and making emotions spark off my
    I can certainly recommend this game. For me, It's got a great and interesting story and I dig the art direction. It is quite short; I beat the game in about 2 hours, but there is some replay-ability in this game, since there are details you'll likely miss the first time around.

    The voice acting is well done and does a great job of narrating the story and making emotions spark off my otherwise cold, flinty heart.

    This is one of the games that I would love explore in VR, if that's not already possible.

    Overall, What Remains of Edith Finch is a fantastic game with a great story and wonderful visuals.
    Expand
  10. Sep 8, 2019
    9
    Its fair to start this review making clear that we're talking about a short gameplay game with the narrative as the main goal. The way the game shows u the story its perfect. For a indie game the graphics are good but if u're really accustomed to triple A's games... u're probably gonna fell strange about playing this. The game its good in what it propose to reach... Nothing more about it.Its fair to start this review making clear that we're talking about a short gameplay game with the narrative as the main goal. The way the game shows u the story its perfect. For a indie game the graphics are good but if u're really accustomed to triple A's games... u're probably gonna fell strange about playing this. The game its good in what it propose to reach... Nothing more about it. Its very well written and the way the story is told to us its satisfying. Beautiful game. Expand
  11. Jun 4, 2019
    10
    The story is great, the gameplay is fun, it is the best story I ever experienced in a game.
  12. May 29, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I NEED MORE, who killed barbara, the hause, WHO WAS IN THE HAUSE OF THE SHORE, AND MORE THINGS, I love this game and i hate this game AAAAAH I NEED MORE Expand
  13. Mar 28, 2019
    7
    What Remains of Edith Finch крайне занятная инди-игра, представляет собой сборник историй рассказанных в разных игровых жанрах с разным геймплеем. Удивляет как сюжетом, так и мини-играми, завёрнутыми в обложку повествования.
    Нам предстоит исследовать дом, который хранит тайны многострадальной семьи Финчей, полученный в наследство главной героиней. Дом крайне высоко детализирован хоть и
    What Remains of Edith Finch крайне занятная инди-игра, представляет собой сборник историй рассказанных в разных игровых жанрах с разным геймплеем. Удивляет как сюжетом, так и мини-играми, завёрнутыми в обложку повествования.
    Нам предстоит исследовать дом, который хранит тайны многострадальной семьи Финчей, полученный в наследство главной героиней. Дом крайне высоко детализирован хоть и невелик, то есть упор делался на качество, а не количество, чего очень не хватает в современных играх. Чуть ли не каждая первая игра однотипный мёртвый открытый мир, созданный для убивания времени гриндом, но сейчас такой тренд делать много, иначе не выдержать конкуренцию на рынке, ведь позволить себе купить короткую сюжетную игру за фулл прайс могут не многие, а так вроде большая игра и надолго, ну ок куплю.
    Рекомендую не торопиться и внимательно совать нос в каждый угол, иначе рискуете не уловить весь шарм данного проекта.
    Отдельно хотел бы отметить крайне качественную адаптацию на русский язык - весь текст стилизован под пропись и пишется прямо на стенах, на объектах, а также можно в специальных местах на него воздействовать, например, в одной истории нужно воздушным змеем собрать буквы и тянуть за собой по экрану.
    Из минусов отмечу продолжительность - игру можно пройти за 3 часа не торопясь, но с другой стороны, хорошего по-немножко.
    Технически игра выполнена слабовато и это второй минус - графика мыльная на самой мощной консоли Xbox One X и при этом ещё умудряется местами проседать в закрытом пространстве, где толком ничего нет, то есть с оптимизацией как-то не очень.
    Вердикт: нетривиальная игра, которую будет не лишним пройти всем от мала до велика. Твёрдая 7 из 10… было бы 8, если бы игра технически была такой же вылизанной, как её локации визуально.
    Я поиграл считай бесплатно в Game Pass, за что спасибо Майкам, добавившим игру в подписку!
    Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2019
    8
    A unique, varied, narrative-driven gem. Interesting throughout. Slight frame-rate issues and some awkward gameplay moments are the only gripes with an otherwise engaging experience. Its a testament to its design that i completed the entire game in one play-through, despite only planning to play for 30 minutes.
  15. Mar 22, 2019
    0
    Dans le genre "simulateur de promenade", Ce qui reste d'Edith est sans aucun doute l'un des plus mauvais... En effet, ce qui nous pousserait à se promener dans cette baraque improbable et complètement fantaisiste est tout-à-fait absent. D'abord parce que ce n'est pas crédible une seule seconde ; ensuite parce que même en tant que pure fantaisie, c'est tout simplement idiot et niais ;Dans le genre "simulateur de promenade", Ce qui reste d'Edith est sans aucun doute l'un des plus mauvais... En effet, ce qui nous pousserait à se promener dans cette baraque improbable et complètement fantaisiste est tout-à-fait absent. D'abord parce que ce n'est pas crédible une seule seconde ; ensuite parce que même en tant que pure fantaisie, c'est tout simplement idiot et niais ; enfin, parce qu'on s'en fout totalement.

    On se fout de cette famille de frappadingues et autres névropathes, de ses mômes constamment dans la lune, de leurs atermoiements, de la poésie à deux balles et de toute cette espèce d'histoire (mais quelle histoire au juste ?) de la famille psycho dans leur maison à la con.

    Le personnage principal (Edith) se déplace à deux à l'heure et tous ses commentaires sont incroyablement barbants, en plus de s'avérer non pertinents : c'est juste du blabla de merde dont on se contrefout. Et avec son accent amerloque à marshmallows, c'est encore plus désagrable.

    Techniquement, c'est du 256 couleurs plutôt terne, ponctué de nombreux ralentissements... pourtant, il n'y a vraiment rien de fou à afficher, loin de là... Encore un indé boulotté avec le fion de toute façon.
    Expand
  16. Jun 16, 2018
    9
    One of the best games I've played, I cant recommend it enough. Sure, it aint a 'game' by gameplay mechanics, but more of an experience. And this is a beautifully put together experience; its filled with emotions, great story pacing, great characters, great visuals (UE4 ftw!). It may only take 3 or so hours, but these are 3 freaking powerfull and awesome hours. Get it, play it, love it,One of the best games I've played, I cant recommend it enough. Sure, it aint a 'game' by gameplay mechanics, but more of an experience. And this is a beautifully put together experience; its filled with emotions, great story pacing, great characters, great visuals (UE4 ftw!). It may only take 3 or so hours, but these are 3 freaking powerfull and awesome hours. Get it, play it, love it, share it to a friend. Expand
  17. Jun 6, 2018
    9
    Un paseo para recordar
    Acabo de terminarlo, y con todo reciente resumo los puntos fuertes y lo que no me ha convencido
    Puntos positivos: -La imaginación para narrar cada historia de una manera diferente y única, -Las ganas que te da de seguir explorando el entorno porque en cualquier esquina habrá algo que hará sorprenderte -La inclusión de los subtitulos lejos de ser una necesidad
    Un paseo para recordar
    Acabo de terminarlo, y con todo reciente resumo los puntos fuertes y lo que no me ha convencido

    Puntos positivos:
    -La imaginación para narrar cada historia de una manera diferente y única,
    -Las ganas que te da de seguir explorando el entorno porque en cualquier esquina habrá algo que hará sorprenderte
    -La inclusión de los subtitulos lejos de ser una necesidad del guión, lo transforman en algo mas para aumentar le carga narrativa de la historia
    -El final me ha dejado sorprendido.

    Puntos Negativo
    -Rendimiento, esta mal optimizado y en una OneX, tiene tirones.

    Traducido al español, seria una obra de arte, pero bastante esfuerzo les habra costado lo que han creado.

    Muy recomendado.
    Expand
  18. May 28, 2018
    10
    Stunning game. This is indisputable proof to those that believe video games aren't art that they are quite mistaken. An example of how to do a "walking simulator" correctly. Heavy focus on story and exploration (although quite linear, it still feels self guided).
  19. May 4, 2018
    10
    This video game is nothing but pure ART. This is most definitely an experience worth the money if you would like to be emotionally and spiritually moved to the point that tears will be falling come its endgame.
  20. Mar 28, 2018
    7
    Hikaye = 9
    Oynanış = 7
    Grafikler = 7
    Sesler = 7
    Keyif = 7
    Atmosfer = 7
    Süre = 6
  21. Jan 28, 2018
    3
    It's deceptive, really. At the beginning it looks like it's going to be a good game. But about an hour into it you get the sinking feeling like this game isn't going to bother to explain anything. You're just watching it build roads to nowhere until it's over, and the ending is the laziest cop out I've seen since Star Wars Episode 3. Don't waste your money.
  22. Jan 21, 2018
    0
    What was that? 2 hours (or less) "gameplay" in probably 5 frames per second (played on xbox one x). Forced story to be unique but become stupid. I'm mac, owl, shark, snake?!? Reading comics. It's even not walking simulator.. There should be warning about this games in store before you buy. One reason more to avoid indie "games".
  23. Jan 2, 2018
    10
    A truly magical and memorable game. Every inch of the game is crafted with exquisite care. I enjoyed myself in the 2-3 hours with Edith Finch more than almost any movie. It is a really emotional experience and has elements of The Twilight Zone, Black Mirror, fantasy worlds, children's imaginations, and the memories of a truly haunted and unlucky family. Every gamer should play it, and aA truly magical and memorable game. Every inch of the game is crafted with exquisite care. I enjoyed myself in the 2-3 hours with Edith Finch more than almost any movie. It is a really emotional experience and has elements of The Twilight Zone, Black Mirror, fantasy worlds, children's imaginations, and the memories of a truly haunted and unlucky family. Every gamer should play it, and a lot of people who aren't gamers should play it. Expand
  24. Sep 26, 2017
    10
    One of the most beautiful games I´ve ever played. You are going to feel things that are indescriptibles. Especially if you have a big family. Yes, interaction is very limited but if you are curious and you have a sensible heart, this game is going to blow your mind. Guaranteed.
  25. Aug 27, 2017
    10
    I really loved this game/story. I had low expectations, given the price of admission and that I knew nothing about it before purchasing it. I think it is an impressive achievement in immersive, interactive storytelling. Is it perfect? No, but Elite Dangerous, Forza Horizon 3, Rainbow Six Siege, Fallout 4 - every game that I have played and enjoyed is imperfect.

    This game reminds me
    I really loved this game/story. I had low expectations, given the price of admission and that I knew nothing about it before purchasing it. I think it is an impressive achievement in immersive, interactive storytelling. Is it perfect? No, but Elite Dangerous, Forza Horizon 3, Rainbow Six Siege, Fallout 4 - every game that I have played and enjoyed is imperfect.

    This game reminds me of what "That Dragon Cancer" was trying to do, but I can't go there emotionally. This creatively approaches the difficult subject of depression and mental illness - and if you struggle with it or have a family member that does, you might just appreciate the tenderness (and straight forwardness) that they treat the subject.

    Great job Annapurna Interactive! I will look for more good things from you in the future.
    Expand
  26. Aug 11, 2017
    10
    Even if it's short and even boring to some people, What Remains Of Edith Finch proves that games can be more than "just games". A very short game that made me feel moved and captivated by the interesting story that follows a terribly unlucky family. I just had fun watching how the story vastly developed with every second. Definitely a masterpiece I will visit soon once again.
  27. Aug 11, 2017
    6
    My first and last 'story' type 'game'. Can this really be called a game without competition, points, or any action taken not influencing the outcome? No. I'd call it the digital cartoon equivalent of a pop-up book. Essentially a tragic, somewhat depressing story told with beautiful visuals, this is less a game and more a literary visual art work.
  28. Jul 30, 2017
    9
    First off this game reminds me a lot of another walking simulator Gone Home and I absolutely hated that game, 2 hours of my life which I want back along with the money I spent on it, however I absolutely loved this game. It has a lot more interactivity to it than other walking simulators, the stories are evocative and unique and the house is a joy to navigate through because of it'sFirst off this game reminds me a lot of another walking simulator Gone Home and I absolutely hated that game, 2 hours of my life which I want back along with the money I spent on it, however I absolutely loved this game. It has a lot more interactivity to it than other walking simulators, the stories are evocative and unique and the house is a joy to navigate through because of it's complexity.

    The game itself is really just a series of interconnected vignettes about the ancestors and relatives of the protagonist who lived and died in the house which you find out about by exploring their individual rooms. Each story is it's own entity and you play through them in first person, 3rd person, comic book form, platforming or any other game related way you can think of. The imagination and sense of exploration you get from the game is top notch and it tells quite a moving tale of this cursed family living in a strange dreamlike house.
    I would highly recommend it and even though on the surface it is like Gone Home it is more like Firewatch with it's complex story and large world waiting for exploration. Well worth the money and time in my opinion.
    Expand
  29. Jul 26, 2017
    8
    WREF involves very little gaming, per se, or any gamefulness for that matter; neither does it deliver story with a mystery to solve in a conventionally satisfying way. If you are intolerant of games that ignore these standards, steer clear. Yet it excels as a new kind of animal: an interactive movie with startlingly imaginative play modes (you get to live out a panel-by-panel comic book,WREF involves very little gaming, per se, or any gamefulness for that matter; neither does it deliver story with a mystery to solve in a conventionally satisfying way. If you are intolerant of games that ignore these standards, steer clear. Yet it excels as a new kind of animal: an interactive movie with startlingly imaginative play modes (you get to live out a panel-by-panel comic book, eat humans as a sea monster, make bath toys ballet as a baby) and a novel, beautiful rumination on life, including an inventive twist on the main farce of video games: death and the infinite respawn. It also is quite possibly the best video game simulation of family-inherited madness that's ever been made.

    An unfortunately short experience, it is nevertheless an engaging, if not engrossing, long afternoon unto evening. For anyone looking for game design that pushes ideas to the fore, this one's worth the money, the try, and the reflections.
    Collapse
  30. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    Beautiful moving thought provoking and totally charming in every way. This is a very singular experience in gaming and not to be missed. I suppose there are some who will not enjoy this very special game but I am sure those people won't even consider playing it anyway. For those of you curious or on the fence I highly recommend this game. Totally loved every minute and would love toBeautiful moving thought provoking and totally charming in every way. This is a very singular experience in gaming and not to be missed. I suppose there are some who will not enjoy this very special game but I am sure those people won't even consider playing it anyway. For those of you curious or on the fence I highly recommend this game. Totally loved every minute and would love to elaborate but would hate to spoil the experience for anyone. Just lovely! Expand
  31. Jul 26, 2017
    8
    WREF involves very little gaming, per se, or any gamefulness for that matter; neither does it deliver story with a mystery to solve in a conventionally satisfying way. If you are intolerant of games that ignore these standards, steer clear. Yet it excels as a new kind of animal: an interactive movie with startlingly imaginative play modes (you get to live out a panel-by-panel comic book,WREF involves very little gaming, per se, or any gamefulness for that matter; neither does it deliver story with a mystery to solve in a conventionally satisfying way. If you are intolerant of games that ignore these standards, steer clear. Yet it excels as a new kind of animal: an interactive movie with startlingly imaginative play modes (you get to live out a panel-by-panel comic book, eat humans as a sea monster, make bath toys ballet as a baby) and a novel, beautiful rumination on life, including an inventive twist on the main farce of video games: death and the infinite respawn. It also is quite possibly the best video game simulation of family-inherited madness that's ever been made.

    An unfortunately short experience, it is nevertheless an engaging, if not engrossing, long afternoon unto evening. For anyone looking for game design that pushes ideas to the fore, this one's worth the money, the try, and the reflections.
    Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2017
    90
    A beautiful and haunting exploration of life, death and family tragedy.
  2. Sep 1, 2017
    100
    What Remains of Edith Finch is an absolutely beautiful and emotionally complex game. Despite a certain sense of morbidity in telling so many tales of death, the game is truly about the celebration of life. Despite all their differences, each family member is remembered more for who they were than how they were lost. This is a wonderful little tale that uses every second to the fullest, and truly should not be missed.
  3. Aug 18, 2017
    90
    What Remains of Edith Finch knows its niche from the beginning and rarely strays, resulting in a cohesive experience that I was never jolted out of. It elicits the strangest mixture of emotions, and its different modes of storytelling are second to none. The controls don’t translate seamlessly from PC to Xbox One, but you don’t play this game for the controls; you play for the story, and the story is gripping.