Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Oct 21, 2018
    74
    While in terms of story-mode finally on par with the sports game competition and filled to the rim wrestlers, modes and match-types, technical issues and longterm problems dragged around now for years hold this years’ wrestling back.
  2. Oct 9, 2018
    73
    WWE 2K19 is a rebound in the right direction, but it is held back by many long-standing issues.
  3. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    They don't all come out a perfect ten, but WWE 2K19 has improved on its predecessor. Even if the changes are somewhat small, they do make a difference. Unfortunately, to fully enjoy MyCareer and CAW, a lot of content has to be unlocked via randomised loot-boxes or sheer dedication to earning in-game currency. Aside from over gate-keeping the unlockables, WWE 2K19 has a lot of content under its hood, which should keep any wrestling fan entertained for quite some time.
  4. Nov 20, 2018
    70
    I’d argue that wrestling aficionados will still find WWE 2K19 to be joyous in short spells and it’s definitely an improvement, so it’s worth a look. Maybe, just maybe, wait for a sale if you’re not entirely convinced.
  5. Oct 23, 2018
    70
    WWE 2K19 is not without issues, but I can't deny that I have fun stepping into the squared circle. It may not hold much appeal to non-wrestling fans, but for those who have been burned over the years, it finally feels like things are getting better. In traditional WWE fashion, I'm not sure how long this will last, though.
  6. Oct 11, 2018
    70
    Each year, WWE 2K seems to be gradually getting better and better, and in WWE 2K19, the series appears to be making moves towards reestablishing itself as the enjoyable grappling game it once was. We live in hope that even bigger changes will be introduced for WWE 2K20, because WWE 2K19 is certainly a step in the right direction.
  7. Oct 11, 2018
    70
    It presents some solid ideas that are really needed to make this series worthwhile.
  8. Oct 10, 2018
    60
    All in all, WWE 2K19 feels like a game in which annual players will find enough to enjoy, but anyone looking to make their way back into the ring is best to wait it out in the locker room for another year.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    I was very impressed with the improvements in the MyCareer mode and when those improvements combined with the very good story I ended upI was very impressed with the improvements in the MyCareer mode and when those improvements combined with the very good story I ended up having a great time in this mode. In terms of content the game feels like it has much more this time around and without a doubt it will keep you satisfied for many months to come. The new addition of Paybacks and Overcharges is a welcome addition because it keeps each match fresh and no match ever plays out the same way. Grappling and striking feel very satisfying this year because everything flows perfectly and on the whole the moves just feel more on point. I found the online components of the game to work very well and I can see me having a ton of fun here this year. The presentation side of the game whilst not bad doesn’t offer anything new and both the visuals and sound design fail to capture your imagination at times. I was a little disappointed with Hell in a Cell because fighting in these surroundings still feels awkward and too finnicky for its own good. Overall I was a little disappointed with last year’s game because it didn’t offer anything new and it just felt like the series was stuck in a rut a little. Thankfully WWE 2K19 whilst not perfect has tried to solve some of last year’s previous shortcomings, and thankfully I’m pleased to say that they’ve successfully done this. WWE 2K19 is probably the best WWE game in quite a while and there’s so much content that you’ll find it quite difficult to put down. There’s new modes and some of the old modes have been improved significantly which shows that the developers are listening to us. Grappling and striking also feels improved this time around and I must admit that the fluid way you can do certain moves does make for a more satisfying experience. In terms of problems the game doesn’t have too many and the problems it does have like the boring visuals and sound design can easily be tweaked so it doesn’t really harm the fun factor much. At the end of the day then recommending WWE 2K19 is quite easy because it feels much more fun and worthwhile this year and fans of the series will no doubt be excited again and I hope they carry on with the momentum they’ve built. Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2018
    7
    Get rid of the reversal system and the kick out of the pin system! This is the bane of every WWE game. It's about time overhauled these outGet rid of the reversal system and the kick out of the pin system! This is the bane of every WWE game. It's about time overhauled these out dated frustrating systems Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2018
    8
    Visually, through the power of the 4K HDR Xbox One X... this is VISUALLY the best WWE game ever. Holds a consistent 60fps. Gameplay remainsVisually, through the power of the 4K HDR Xbox One X... this is VISUALLY the best WWE game ever. Holds a consistent 60fps. Gameplay remains relatively unchanged.... however I've been churning for a Daniel Bryan 2K Showcase mode forever....and it's amazing! Full Review »