Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Oct 17, 2018
    90
    WWE 2K19 is a wrestling fan’s dream. It’s a treasure trove of modes, wrestlers and customization options, and each is equally worth your time. The return of Showcase mode is welcome, while MyCareer is a huge step up for the franchise and brings it closer to 2K’s NBA efforts. Quite simply, this is the best there is, the best there was, and the best there will be – until next year, at least.
  2. Oct 16, 2018
    90
    2K Games succeed on the hard task of outdone WWE 2K18. Yuke's and Visual Concepts have created the best wrestling title to date.
  3. Oct 11, 2018
    87
    WWE 2K19 is the best WWE game that 2K has delivered to us since it took over the franchise. With the return of the 2K Showcase mode, the improved Race Mode and the improvements made in the gameplay we have as a result a great wrestling game.
  4. Oct 16, 2018
    85
    WWE 2K19 is a massive improvement over 2K18 in overall content. If you want more single player action and a far better My Career mode in your WWE game then be sure to give this game a try! For the past several years, I've been walking away from WWE games feeling disappointed or indifferent but with 2K19, I finally feel a sense of satisfaction after checking it out.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 18, 2018
    80
    The most polished WWE game for years, with MyPlayer mode a highlight. [Christmas 2018, p.88]
  6. Nov 2, 2018
    80
    Overall 2K19, while certainly not perfect, is the best version of this series that we’ve seen yet. Tons of options and modes, a nearly endless list of creation options, some cool new gameplay changes, and a fantastic career mode add up to a game that long suffering WWE fans can really sink their teeth into. Some glitches and an overall staleness to the style of the gameplay in the game keep it from really getting to it’s potential though in my opinion. At the very least there’s a good base here, but I feel like we say that every year.
  7. Oct 23, 2018
    80
    It will almost certainly improve with age, but at launch, WWE 2K19 is still a generally high quality professional wrestling experience that will give fans of the franchise plenty of bang for their buck.
  8. Oct 12, 2018
    80
    Even though WWE 2K19 doesn't offer the graphical overhaul the franchise so desperately deserves, it takes quite a few steps in the right direction. Its new modes are fun, the Showcase mode makes a triumphant return and its new features are well thought out. WWE 2K19 clearly gives WWE fans something to have a good time with.
  9. 80
    With new kinds of ways to play that give this entry its own distinct identity, lacking something to do is never a worry here. From the surprisingly varied and fun single player options to the customization suites that have come into their own and endless multiplayer, WWE 2K19 is a wrestling game that feels closer to how fans picture a wrestling game than the series has in several years. It isn’t without its issues, but the efforts to keep this ship sailing are tangible here in ways I wasn’t seeing in the recent past.
  10. Nov 21, 2018
    78
    It may not be enough to make me tune into RAW and SmackDown every week once again, but I am enjoying my time in the squared circle after such a long hiatus. There’s no shortage of modes to enjoy and fans should be content with the additions and changes in 2K19. I’ll definitely be checking out 2K20 next year to see what more improvements have been made on top of these, as this is a great step in the right direction. For the non-fan, sure, it’s not going to convert them, but that doesn’t mean there’s still not a good time to be had baw gawd.
  11. Oct 17, 2018
    75
    This year’s game is one of the better ones that I have played in years. With the inclusion of voice acting for your main character in career mode, to the showcase mode taking one of my favorite wrestlers, Daniel Bryan, and walking through his career, it makes for a really fun and good time.
  12. Oct 10, 2018
    75
    Loaded with content, WWE 2K19 still bears some of the previous games’ flaws, such as its out-dated visual and irritating micro-transactions. But there’s too much to do, too much to enjoy for all wrestling fans.
  13. Oct 9, 2018
    75
    This year’s WWE 2K release does a lot of things right but still has a way to go in order to lock down the genre with fans.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    I was very impressed with the improvements in the MyCareer mode and when those improvements combined with the very good story I ended upI was very impressed with the improvements in the MyCareer mode and when those improvements combined with the very good story I ended up having a great time in this mode. In terms of content the game feels like it has much more this time around and without a doubt it will keep you satisfied for many months to come. The new addition of Paybacks and Overcharges is a welcome addition because it keeps each match fresh and no match ever plays out the same way. Grappling and striking feel very satisfying this year because everything flows perfectly and on the whole the moves just feel more on point. I found the online components of the game to work very well and I can see me having a ton of fun here this year. The presentation side of the game whilst not bad doesn’t offer anything new and both the visuals and sound design fail to capture your imagination at times. I was a little disappointed with Hell in a Cell because fighting in these surroundings still feels awkward and too finnicky for its own good. Overall I was a little disappointed with last year’s game because it didn’t offer anything new and it just felt like the series was stuck in a rut a little. Thankfully WWE 2K19 whilst not perfect has tried to solve some of last year’s previous shortcomings, and thankfully I’m pleased to say that they’ve successfully done this. WWE 2K19 is probably the best WWE game in quite a while and there’s so much content that you’ll find it quite difficult to put down. There’s new modes and some of the old modes have been improved significantly which shows that the developers are listening to us. Grappling and striking also feels improved this time around and I must admit that the fluid way you can do certain moves does make for a more satisfying experience. In terms of problems the game doesn’t have too many and the problems it does have like the boring visuals and sound design can easily be tweaked so it doesn’t really harm the fun factor much. At the end of the day then recommending WWE 2K19 is quite easy because it feels much more fun and worthwhile this year and fans of the series will no doubt be excited again and I hope they carry on with the momentum they’ve built. Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2018
    7
    Get rid of the reversal system and the kick out of the pin system! This is the bane of every WWE game. It's about time overhauled these outGet rid of the reversal system and the kick out of the pin system! This is the bane of every WWE game. It's about time overhauled these out dated frustrating systems Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2018
    8
    Visually, through the power of the 4K HDR Xbox One X... this is VISUALLY the best WWE game ever. Holds a consistent 60fps. Gameplay remainsVisually, through the power of the 4K HDR Xbox One X... this is VISUALLY the best WWE game ever. Holds a consistent 60fps. Gameplay remains relatively unchanged.... however I've been churning for a Daniel Bryan 2K Showcase mode forever....and it's amazing! Full Review »