User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 124
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    Excellent game, great graphics, frame rates etc on the Series X, really good game play and many varied things to do. Really good value game, Must buy.
  2. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    I personally don't like it, but giving it 10 just to troll ps4 fanboys who are most likely downvoting this version, because it had higher metascore lol.
  3. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    Great action-RPG. Is a little buggy on Series X but, still runs and looks a lot better than the PS4 version.
  4. Nov 14, 2020
    9
    This Yakuza 7 is amazing, don't stop playing because of the change in combat style. I prefer the old style myself, specifically Yakuza 6 and Yakuza Kiwami 2, I hope SEGA will return to that style in yakuza 8. The story of 7 is very good and remember that this game is the beginning of a new era in the saga with the new protagonist Kasuga Ichiban. whoever says the game is bad just because ofThis Yakuza 7 is amazing, don't stop playing because of the change in combat style. I prefer the old style myself, specifically Yakuza 6 and Yakuza Kiwami 2, I hope SEGA will return to that style in yakuza 8. The story of 7 is very good and remember that this game is the beginning of a new era in the saga with the new protagonist Kasuga Ichiban. whoever says the game is bad just because of the fighting style is being hater. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2020
    10
    The first Yakuza game I have stuck with, and loving every minute - with those minutes getting better and better the further into the game you go. Technically excellent in the 60hz mode on X Box 1X - whilst meaning I am more than happy to leave Cyberpunk until it sorts itself out. Still surprising me after +60 hrs, and making me miss Japan even more (2020 sucks). Mini-games that areThe first Yakuza game I have stuck with, and loving every minute - with those minutes getting better and better the further into the game you go. Technically excellent in the 60hz mode on X Box 1X - whilst meaning I am more than happy to leave Cyberpunk until it sorts itself out. Still surprising me after +60 hrs, and making me miss Japan even more (2020 sucks). Mini-games that are better than standalone games - with a fantastic story, and excellent acting for those parts that are properly voice. Do your self a favour and make sure it is in Japanese/with subtitles for even better immersion. Close to Hades/Ori as my game of the year. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2020
    10
    Yakuza Like a Dragon is a game that made me happy in Years! The references on Dragon Quest complete the game. Ichiban-san has a Hero Feeling that motives you and the party. Yakuza Like a Dragon it's a game to be played for many, many hours. It's one of the best games on Xbox. Thanks MIcrosoft and SEGA.
  7. Nov 18, 2020
    10
    Full disclosure: I’ve not finished 0, Kiwami 1 or 2. I’ve played and finished all other English-released Yakuza titles (from PS2 onwards). Yakuza: Like a Dragon is my favourite in the series. Kasuga Ichiban channels Goku-level innocence but harbours surprising depth. He’s got a heart of gold, cares about those around him and throws himself into situations regardless of his safety. He’s theFull disclosure: I’ve not finished 0, Kiwami 1 or 2. I’ve played and finished all other English-released Yakuza titles (from PS2 onwards). Yakuza: Like a Dragon is my favourite in the series. Kasuga Ichiban channels Goku-level innocence but harbours surprising depth. He’s got a heart of gold, cares about those around him and throws himself into situations regardless of his safety. He’s the Jackie Chan to Kiryu’s Bruce Lee. In every 2-3 hour session with the game I’ve found something to laugh, gasp or cry over. The story pacing and localisation is at it’s very best. I guarantee the localisation team took a look at FF7: Remake and thought “this is the new bar”. I played the game with English subs and can tell that the script improves upon the Japanese original. I won’t get into any more specifics, but if you’ve ever played an RPG and thought “imagine it they did Dragon Quest in modern Tokyo with gangsters”, then this game is unmissable. Congrats to everyone behind this gem. You’ve made the best Yakuza yet. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2021
    10
    First yakuza game played and its amazing! The storyline is brilliant and definitely worth getting!
  9. Dec 22, 2020
    10
    Absolutely loved every minute of this game it came as a surprise honestly as I’d heard it was a spoof JRPG but little did I know I would be sucked in by the awesome cast of characters and the dumb but lovable main character.
  10. Dec 9, 2020
    10
    I have been a fan of the yakuza games for about 4 years, I have finished 0, kiwami, kiwami 2, 3 remastered, and dead souls. I went into this game expecting to have to just tolerate the new fight style, and I didnt understand how they could think it would be okay to change the games core fighting system this much and still make it part of the same series, but I was wrong. This is currentlyI have been a fan of the yakuza games for about 4 years, I have finished 0, kiwami, kiwami 2, 3 remastered, and dead souls. I went into this game expecting to have to just tolerate the new fight style, and I didnt understand how they could think it would be okay to change the games core fighting system this much and still make it part of the same series, but I was wrong. This is currently my favorite game in the yakuza series. I thought the old games were amazing, but this one is way better. The new fight system is actually more entertaining and challenging than the previous games. There are several new and a few formerly retired games that are lots of fun and can keep you playing the mini game for a whole day. The characters are just as lovable if not more so than kiryu and they even added a kiryu and majima costume for the long time fans. Money seems more reasonable too, you actually have to earn money in this game instead of having 30 million left unspent when completing the game. There are lots of new elements being introduced throughout the game, so there is always a new surprise around the corner. The new map feels much bigger than kamurocho and it is nice to see a new part of Japan. I would definitely recommend this game to people, and while the English dub may be nice for some people, I prefer to play the game in Japanese with subtitles. The game is also free of glitches and looks pretty good on my Xbox one s, though I do feel that the graphics could have been slightly better, however, the new UI design is very nice. Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    despite changing the fighting style, the game maintained the quality of what it is to be a YAKUZA. great game, with great story. it is guaranteed more than 30 hours easily. for hardcores players, for platinum it the game offers more than 50 hours. Anyone who says the game is bad because combat is now a turn-based RPG should review the concept of what a bad game is. for the novice, try itdespite changing the fighting style, the game maintained the quality of what it is to be a YAKUZA. great game, with great story. it is guaranteed more than 30 hours easily. for hardcores players, for platinum it the game offers more than 50 hours. Anyone who says the game is bad because combat is now a turn-based RPG should review the concept of what a bad game is. for the novice, try it worthwhile. Expand
  12. Dec 10, 2020
    9
    I return back to English-Dubbed Yakuza game, and I love it. Finally don't have to rwad. Hated that about all that came after the Ps2 OG because of that, thank you Sega for dubbing this game. One point knocked off for making me read most of the game still.
  13. Dec 15, 2020
    10
    Yakuza with rpg is greaaaat Awesome story charecters with a lot of mini games and unique side quests
  14. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    Great game. Better than SJW of us 2. I strongly recommend this game. Shouts out 2 Hex89
  15. Jun 14, 2021
    1
    This may indeed be a great game. I wouldn't know. Two hours in and it's just been cutscene after cutscene. Not sure at what point there's an actual game to be played, but if it takes more than two hours, it should probably go back to the cutting board. I can only imagine at what point you get to actually play this game. 3 hours? 4 hours?
  16. Jan 3, 2021
    10
    Un juego con una buena historia, un sistema de combate que no es el mejor en su genero, pero sin embargo no deja de ser divertido, mapas con un montón de historias secundarias interesantes y buenos mini juegos.
  17. Jan 5, 2021
    10
    Realmente el mimo que le ha dado sega a este juego, es difícil de superar, detalles enfermizos, y subtitulado.... maravilloso (eso si vaya novela venezolana)
  18. Sep 24, 2021
    10
    One of the best 77 hours run in life. The gameplay, the humor, the music (pinnacle in some boss fights) the story and specially the characters.

    I don't know how Ryo Ga Gotoku has this much talent, because after so many games in the series, they come with radical change to turn based battles, and they still have juice to mix all the ingredients necessary for a masterpiece, and come out with it
  19. Jun 17, 2021
    3
    Really wanted to play this game as the combat seemed fun but unfortunately after 4 hours of playing I had managed a grand total of about 10 minutes of actual gameplay. If you want to watch a jaoenese soap opera this is for you, if you want to play a video game chose something else.
  20. Jul 25, 2021
    9
    This is an awesome over-the-top turn based RPG in this brilliant long running series. Highly recommend it anyone who enjoys a fantastic story and excellent gameplay
  21. Dec 21, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like a Dragon is a goofy, funny, strange, fun, and optimistic exiting game which is exactly what a Yakuza game should be like. When the gameplay was first shown, I was upset that the game went from a beat em up rpg to a turn based rpg as I don't really like those types of games, however after giving this game a shot, I fell in love, The story is pretty simple and similar to most fo the other games, gang memeber gets betrayed and framed by fellow gang member and goes on revenge quest with allies to take them out, the games are usually goofy but this Yakuza game takes goofyness to the next level, literally every attack in the game is trying to give you a chuckle and every animation along with its open world feels so fresh, only in Yakuza can a guy using a salmon beat up a guy using a katana, overall the game is amazing and if you're upset about the gameplay change, just give it a shot like me, you might be surprised. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2020
    10
    Juegazo imprescindible para todo el público que le gusten los buenos videojuegos
  23. Jan 19, 2022
    10
    O melhor RPG de turno que eu já joguei e um dos melhores jogos da minha vida! História impecável, gameplay divertida, sistema de construção de itens muito bom, minigames enriquecedores, personagens cativantes e gráficos bem legais. Uma obra prima da SEGA
  24. Jun 8, 2021
    9
    I love the yakuza series amazing story's mini games side quest I love combat from the old games better the nee jrpg style has grown on me the story in this game is nuts alot saddest and that signature yakuza humor I recommend to any rpg fan its a great game I got over 80 hours must have
  25. Jun 18, 2021
    9
    Good game, good story, good charming character. Excellent gameplay. Solid game
  26. Aug 22, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Obrigado gamepass!!! Como não conhecia essa maravilha antes! E comecei logo pelo que trouxe sua maior mudança desde sua criação! Mas, não poderia ser melhor. Enredo fantástico! Personagens memoráveis! Quando um jogo consegue te fazer sentir algo fora do comum é aí que você percebe a grandiosidade do mesmo! Ele vai te fazer rir (e muito com suas loucuras), ao passo que também vai lhe emocionar e te fazer pensar! Justamente por ser tão real! Nada de preto no branco! Camadas de cinza! Personagens identificados ao ser humano, cheio de problemas e falhas! História que tratam assuntos sérios sobre preconceito, falta de empatia, discriminação e honra de uma maneira fenomenal! Trilha sonora memorável ( tanto que já salvei no Spotify). O combate também não deixa nada a desejar ( combos e maluquices dos mais bravos). Apesar de ser um jrpg ( que eu particularmente curto muito), funciona de maneira exemplar! Não entendo as críticas sobre ter muita "curscenes", é um RPG cambada! O foco é esse! Quer apertar botão vai jogar Battlefield! Sem mais, só joguem essa maravilha!!! Expand
  27. Sep 13, 2021
    10
    Terminé sur Xbox Séries X, le jeu est une pépite. Mettre Yakuza en format RPG, le tout dans un délire psy, fallait oser, le pari était risqué. Eh bien ça marche et redoutablement bien. Tout est excellent dans ce jeu. Des personnages à la fois hyper attachant, burlesques, profonds, ou dans le gameplay, les invocations à mourir de rire, etc...
    Tout n'est pas parfait techniquement mais c'est
    Terminé sur Xbox Séries X, le jeu est une pépite. Mettre Yakuza en format RPG, le tout dans un délire psy, fallait oser, le pari était risqué. Eh bien ça marche et redoutablement bien. Tout est excellent dans ce jeu. Des personnages à la fois hyper attachant, burlesques, profonds, ou dans le gameplay, les invocations à mourir de rire, etc...
    Tout n'est pas parfait techniquement mais c'est pour moi l'un (voir LE) des meilleurs Yakuza de la saga.
    A faire absolument.
    Expand
  28. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    El juego es una obra maestra, hay que jugarlo para creer que algo tan magnífico existe de verdad. El el gameplay del juego en sí no es nada impresionante, pero si es bastante más entretenido que el de varios rpg por turnos, es mas dinámico por decirlo, además que como todo rpg tiene un apartado de niveles, habilidades e items que puedes equipar le a tu personaje, estos son muy simples, enEl juego es una obra maestra, hay que jugarlo para creer que algo tan magnífico existe de verdad. El el gameplay del juego en sí no es nada impresionante, pero si es bastante más entretenido que el de varios rpg por turnos, es mas dinámico por decirlo, además que como todo rpg tiene un apartado de niveles, habilidades e items que puedes equipar le a tu personaje, estos son muy simples, en el sentido de que son agradables, no te tendrás que molestar en aprender algún sistema complicado de clases o debilidades, simplemente eliges la que más te acomode y vas progresando en el juego junto con la campaña, ya que este nunca te exigirá más en la campaña, puedes completarla del tirón si así lo desea uno, pero sus objetivos secundarios no se quedan cortos, ya que estamos ante una enorme variedad de misiones secundarias muy divertidas y que si las completamos, nos darán más que una ayuda para facilitarnos un poco más la campaña y misiones difíciles, nada exagerado, pero al hacerlas se entiende. Cambiando de tema, la historia que narra este título es simplemente asombrosa, increíble, y consta decir que no es necesario jugar ningún yakuza anterior, puedes jugar este como tu primer yakuza. A diferencia de los yakuza anteriores este cambia totalmente, como de gameplay y de guin, siendo algo sumamente nuevo y único, yo particularmente recomendaría el juego 100% ya por su campaña maravillosa, con una duración de unas 37 horas (eso me duró a mi) completando algunos objetivos secundarios. Dale una oportunidad, ya que estamos frente a uno de los títulos más increíble que se ha creado jamás, dejando un montón de enseñanzas y recuerdos su campaña, en más de una ocasión tocando fuertemente los sentimental, y es tan completa, que es fácil perderse y adentrarse por completo en la campaña, me explico, sentirse dentro de ella, agarrar cariño a los personajes es algo que se vuelve así automático cuando progresa en la historia, no te das cuenta y ya conoces muy bien al protagonista, o sabes como piensa en cierta situación. En fin, un juego sumamente recomendable para todo el público, además que su precio actual no es nada excesivo, esta mucho más bajo que la mayoría de juegos triple A actuales, llegue a comprarlo a 15 dólares en xbox. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 28, 2021
    90
    Yakuza: Like a Dragon takes the risky option of including RPG elements in its core, but it does this absolutely brilliantly. It's a new approach that may make those fans of action in previous games a little apprehensive, but it does deserve a chance. It's a fantastic gateway to the series and not to be missed by fans of Japanese RPGs. It maintains the series' spirit, refreshing it with Ichiban Kaguya, heroes who risk becoming the new icon of Yakuza.
  2. Nov 25, 2020
    85
    Yakuza: Like a Dragon is surprisingly one of the best JRPGs that I’ve played since I beat Dragon Quest XI over three years ago. It’s especially impressive coming from Ryu ga Gotoku studios which has never made a turn-based RPG before. However, there are some glaring issues that take away from the overall experience; most notably the lack of a weakness indicator and wonky AoE moves during battles. If only the battle system was perfected, then Like a Dragon would be a top-tier JRPG. Regardless, I would recommend to any RPG fans that Yakuza: Like a Dragon is a must-play title.
  3. Nov 11, 2020
    100
    Yakuza: Like a Dragon is ultimately a masterclass in pacing and storytelling with an fabulously gorgeous backdrop, welcome combat shake-up, and a cast of extremely affable characters, especially the newcomer Ichiban Kasuga.