User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2019
    9
    Yooka-Laylee And The Impossible Lair: I highly recommend trying this game even if you weren't a huge fan oof the 1st game in the series as it’s completely different and extremely well done to the excellence we've come to expect from Rare. An Absolute delight to play, every bit of this game shows how much heart and soul was poured into making this brilliant 2.5 platforming game, the gameYooka-Laylee And The Impossible Lair: I highly recommend trying this game even if you weren't a huge fan oof the 1st game in the series as it’s completely different and extremely well done to the excellence we've come to expect from Rare. An Absolute delight to play, every bit of this game shows how much heart and soul was poured into making this brilliant 2.5 platforming game, the game play is top notch the platforming is near perfect, the difficultly doesn’t expect amazing feats of platforming nor is it afraid of challenging you at times. The game rewards exploration with an abundance of secrets, some are really hard to find some are easy, again it has the perfect balance, The game feels like a perfect length, not to short and doesn't overstay it’s welcome. The way the levels play is very unique as each level has two variants, these variants are not simple padding nor are they duplicates, each variant offers a big change in the gameplay of that level. The variants are unlocked in a rather unique way, you have to change the overworld in some small way and have it effect the level’s entrance to access them. The music is outstanding, truly an OST that will be put on repeat many times over the following years, each track fits the level perfectly in both theme and pace of the levels, The graphics are beautiful, colorful and charming to say the least, the strong art direction has easily helped give Yooka-Laylee their own identity in the gaming world. With so many games going for the simplistic flatfish art style, Yooka Laylee easily standout with their strong vibrant colourful style in your Xbox One Library. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2019
    5
    While this game can be very fun in some parts, it´s too frustrating found glitches in every level. You can pass time with this, but this "little fun" goes away after a while. Recommended only if you are a platformer fan.
  3. Oct 9, 2019
    0
    If you like bad games with plenty of DLC and game breaking bugs... this is for you.
  4. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    DON'T believe the negative reviews (which are all posted by 1 guy with multiple accounts), 'cause it runs like a charm (60fps) and the only DLC is a tonic pack, which costs just $/€4,- (and is 100% optional)!
  5. Oct 9, 2019
    0
    There´s some things that i like but overall is a buggy experience. Play the first game instead.
  6. Oct 9, 2019
    1
    Right now, this game is unplayable in some parts. Well, it can be a decent game, but the DLC are a joke. With this buggy game what man wants to paid for this???
  7. Dec 21, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jogo excelente e muito bem desenvolvido!. é isso ai Playtonic, mostra para a Rare as origens deles e como é pra ser feito. Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2020
    0
    One of the best platformers I've played in a long time. Reminds me of the warm fuzzy feeling I'd get playing the N64
  9. Apr 12, 2020
    9
    Excelente juego que trae a la memoria a Donkey Kong de Rare, difícil y retador, excelentes gráficas, excelente control, un OST fascinante, es un juego genial para la vieja escuela, los únicos puntos malos son que esporádicamente tiene lag en momentos importantes, en los cuales debes ser preciso, el "Imposible lair" es prácticamente eso... Imposible, por lo que los niños no están aptos paraExcelente juego que trae a la memoria a Donkey Kong de Rare, difícil y retador, excelentes gráficas, excelente control, un OST fascinante, es un juego genial para la vieja escuela, los únicos puntos malos son que esporádicamente tiene lag en momentos importantes, en los cuales debes ser preciso, el "Imposible lair" es prácticamente eso... Imposible, por lo que los niños no están aptos para un nivel tan elevado. Recomendable. Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game , full of awesome quests ans mystery, even after 6 hours of gameplay wanted more. Expand
  11. Feb 1, 2021
    5
    The core of this game as a platformer is great and most of the overworld stuff really enhances the experience that brings back some great nostalgia from older SNES platformer games with hub worlds. Unfortunately though, there's a lot of major issues with the hit boxes in this game. I believe a lot of the hitbox problems are built around the reliance on creating tonics as collectibles,The core of this game as a platformer is great and most of the overworld stuff really enhances the experience that brings back some great nostalgia from older SNES platformer games with hub worlds. Unfortunately though, there's a lot of major issues with the hit boxes in this game. I believe a lot of the hitbox problems are built around the reliance on creating tonics as collectibles, having to balance a game around a collection of Tonics that increase speed and rolling and enemy health seems lacking as parts of the games can feel broken with certain tonics on or off. Early on in the game, I put a tonic on that made enemies take 2 hits which made some future collectibles nearly impossible to collect, doubly so when 75% of the games hitboxes feel off. The overworld gimmicks are awesome but the fact that every level has one felt like it took away some of that special feeling of finding them. I believe the game would have benefited from more unique levels and making the alternate levels more scarce especially when you sometimes feel like you are spending more time on the overworld than in actual levels. A lot of this is nitpicky but in the long run, that is because I really like the basic aspect of the game but the little things here and there add up but ultimately this game would be a solid 8/10 if the hitboxes and occassional jump momentum shifts didn't feel off so frequently. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    90
    Yooka-Laylee smartly ditches 3D to instead focus on perfecting 2D platforming. [Issue#184, p.77]
  2. Nov 3, 2019
    90
    Yooka-Laylee and The Impossible Lair manages to surpass its predecessor in almost every aspect. The change to the two dimensions has been great.
  3. Oct 28, 2019
    100
    I love this game. Playtonic definitely made something special here. It’s going to be hard to look at other platformers without wondering why they didn’t ape more of the concepts from The Impossible Lair. Not to mention the soundtrack by Grant Kirkhope and David Wise – which is probably one of my favorite soundtracks of the year. While I hope they give the 3D platformer another fair shake, I will be more than happy if Playtonic does more sidescrolling platformers in the future because The Impossible Lair is impossibly good.