User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 154

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    It feels like an unreal remake of a non existent Saturn or Dreamcast game. I can dig it. They chose the worst levels for the demo, so don't judge it on that.
  2. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    chouf ana mou la3bha bas did fic ya ahmed
    chouf lazm adif kada 7arf 3achan a9dar a7out almouraja3a
  3. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    And there you have it, beautiful graphics, great tunes, solid gameplay, surprisingly good and thoughtful gameplay add up to an experience that no action/platformer gamer should miss 93% -Dave
  4. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    The best advice I can give you is, give it a try.
    It might sound strange, but this is the typical game case with a Demo version that doesn't do the full game justice at all.
    There are really cool levels in this game. And multiple mechanics that might surprise even the most hardcore platform player today.
    Happy with my purchase.
  5. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    If you are searching for a good platform game, with basic gameplay, but intriguing puzzle map, this is the best.
  6. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    This game menage to be more original than many other platform games today, with only some of the more advanced costumes present in the game.
    Just incredible
  7. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Lovely and fun to play.
    More than many other platform.
    And this is more than enough for this truly gem
  8. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    Loved it.
    Just love everything, from the design to the ost.
    A true surprising fun game indeed
  9. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Balan Wonderworld è un’opera d’arte, un monumentale esempio di game design e storytelling, una testimonianza per le future generazioni della grandezza di un sviluppatore leggendario, Yuji Naka, che ha firmato molti dei più grandi capolavori usciti nel corso degli anni sulle console Sega. Esatto, è proprio così, ed è bene proclamarlo ad alta voce e subito, prima ancora di qualsiasiBalan Wonderworld è un’opera d’arte, un monumentale esempio di game design e storytelling, una testimonianza per le future generazioni della grandezza di un sviluppatore leggendario, Yuji Naka, che ha firmato molti dei più grandi capolavori usciti nel corso degli anni sulle console Sega. Esatto, è proprio così, ed è bene proclamarlo ad alta voce e subito, prima ancora di qualsiasi descrizione e spiegazione, o di qualsivoglia analisi critica, in modo che il giocatore, anche il più distratto o superficiale, sappia immediatamente di fronte a che genere di gemma preziosa egli si trovi davanti, un oggetto che, sempre che non detestiate visceralmente il genere dei Platform con elementi GdR, non può neanche lontanamente essere ignorato, a meno di non volersi perdere il più grande videogioco mai uscito su Next Gen. E attenzione: persino i più feroci hater di Sonic, Mario, Crash o di questa tipologia di videogiochi dovrebbero seriamente considerare di dare una chance a questo episodio della lunga serie di successi di Yuji Naka, poiché molto probabilmente non avranno un’opportunità migliore di scoprire un universo spettacolare e meraviglioso e, in definitiva, convertirsi a Balan. Expand
  10. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    I'm really happy to enjoyed this game.
    A kind of interesting and magical story that I always like.

    I love this
  11. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    An absolutely stunning game!
    Especially in the art design.

    I've really liked it this kind of approach
  12. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    After having personally played many platform games in these years, I've finally found an original platform game here in this Balan Wonderworld.
    Sure isn't perfect, especially from a graphic side, but as a pure platform side this game actually works pretty well
  13. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played.

    Absolutely recommended to anyone who likes platforms
  14. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Don't trust the negative fake 0 reviews.
    Are made by delusional cry babies that never even try to play this.

    This game is an awesome platform game
  15. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    If you are looking for an original platform game, you should definitely buy this game.
    It will surely surprise you in a good way
  16. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    The surprise of the year.
    At first I thought that this was just a platform geme, like many others. And instead it's end up to surprise me really positively.

    Recommend it, of course if you are seriously interested in platform games
  17. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    I'm like a lot this game.
    And I find that the platform design is really interesting.
    You should try this
  18. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    The most fun and interesting platform game made in these years.
    I'm really loving this
  19. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    An egregious wonderful game.
    Full of heart and with an incredible art style.
    This charming game is already now a platform Gem
  20. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    Me dio un derrame cerebral mientras lo jugaba y me salvó de seguir avanzando, gracias!
  21. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    Unique and lovely great game.
    This Balan Wonderworld it is basically a classic platform game, but with many original and cool elements.
    Like the awesome costumes mechanics. While the soundtrack is Awesome, the thing that makes this whole great game shine it is definitely the art design. Beautiful and charming, especially Balan. I highly suggest to any platform gamer to play this
    Unique and lovely great game.
    This Balan Wonderworld it is basically a classic platform game, but with many original and cool elements.
    Like the awesome costumes mechanics.

    While the soundtrack is Awesome, the thing that makes this whole great game shine it is definitely the art design.
    Beautiful and charming, especially Balan.

    I highly suggest to any platform gamer to play this awesome and beautiful cool game.
    And you will find out all the best quality of this
    Expand
  22. Apr 11, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is extremely fun to play square Enix and Balan Company really listen to feed back with the day one patch they fix everything people complained about in the demo and the graphics are beautiful the story and music is freaking amazing no matter what the harsh critics been saying about this game people should play this game before judging it. Expand
  23. Apr 30, 2021
    10
    Balland Disneyland is so good I can bear the wait for knack 3 to come out on the ouya.
  24. Apr 14, 2021
    9
    Balan Wonderworld is sadly being bashed to the cosmos and back for mostly it's story telling and gameplay controls. I for one actually see this game for the "hidden" underrated masterpiece that it truly is. As much as I would love to type up a whole essay or present a powerpoint presentation via Youtube on why the "gamers" are actually wrong about this game, I figured I just sum what thisBalan Wonderworld is sadly being bashed to the cosmos and back for mostly it's story telling and gameplay controls. I for one actually see this game for the "hidden" underrated masterpiece that it truly is. As much as I would love to type up a whole essay or present a powerpoint presentation via Youtube on why the "gamers" are actually wrong about this game, I figured I just sum what this game's main intention was all along. Do you want to know what that is? To challenge the "gamers" perspective of what an actual puzzle platformer is! It is hard to tell at first but hear me out.

    From the start of the game, the main character (from what I am hearing from other gamers/consumers) is abducting characters and taking them on an adventure, that helps them find themselves, solve their main issues that they are dealing with in life and to learn about the true nature/meaning of friendship and bonding with others. What's really fascinating about this game from other "world famous" and "well known" platformers, is that it does not give you the freedom to use all the power ups or switch between them at once. While this maybe an insult to others, I can see where the game designers were coming from based on a game design stand point. They wanted to challenge the term "puzzle platformer" and see what the player can do with limited power ups/embarking on various missions, that will showcase just how intelligent and open minded gamers really are. It is NOT supposed to be another Mario, Crash Bandicoot, Spyro, Sonic and etc., based action/puzzle platformer. Balan Wonderworld wants to be it's own individual game. The issue/main complain here, is that "gamers" don't want nothing innovative/ new at all. As a matter of fact, this game exposes how much the players/gamers, do not like big changes or to be challenged on certain aspects of the game at all.

    Long story short, I agree with every Youtuber who detests this game for a lot of things. However, I do not agree with them for simply bashing this game over it's hidden deep story, (which requires a lot of critical thinking on our end) different/simplistic power ups, (which also requires the player to decide how they want to play the game) and for just comparing it to other well known platformers. If we stop comparing Balan Wonderworld to other Nintendo games, (tons of gamers have been spoiled by Nintendo and mostly expect certain platformers to play like a Mario, Yoshi, Donkey Kong and etc.) I honestly believe that gamers will enjoy the game more, play it from a different perspective and stop increasing their expectations to such impossible levels. Once Balan Wonderworld does the following, I believe that the game will do just fine: (But the game designers and etc., are probably already demotivated about the poor sales/well deserved criticism, so they are probably going to cancel a sequel/move on to other projects. This is why Indies thrive in innovation and AAA games stick to FPS, battle royale and etc.)

    -Fix the bugs/glitches (Listen to the consumer/gamers complaints carefully on what really needs to be changed/fixed)
    -Add a game + mode where players can use all the power ups on a harder or easier difficulty setting.
    -Add a mode where players can experience the game/ as a narrator is telling the story. (Kind of like what Guilty Gear Xrd does, except a narrator is talking instead of the characters. There is no gameplay. It can be like a movie mode.)
    -Create an After story DLC, where we can play as Balan in a whole new way. (I do admit that the quick time events are rather disappointing/sorely not needed in this game)
    -Lower the price of this game by $20. (This game should have never been $60+ tax to begin with)

    The rest is up to you all. Not everyone is going to agree with you at all times and that is ok. Give this game another chance. Or you could just use a PC trainer (For the PC port) to experience this game in a new way on PC. ;) Until certain gameplay issues are fixed, I can not give it a 10 sadly.
    Expand
  25. Mar 27, 2021
    9
    This is a true platformer. The Demo didn't work because its only a piece of the puzzle. Crash and Spyro work because you have a few actions to experiment and exploit with right off the bat. In Balan Wonderworld, you can work up your costume army and re-traverse the levels just like any good platformer. And just like any good platformer, it has good platforming.

    Really good platforming!
    This is a true platformer. The Demo didn't work because its only a piece of the puzzle. Crash and Spyro work because you have a few actions to experiment and exploit with right off the bat. In Balan Wonderworld, you can work up your costume army and re-traverse the levels just like any good platformer. And just like any good platformer, it has good platforming.

    Really good platforming! The controls are tight (with that familiar slight drift that works somehow), damage control/jumping is effective and falling is your fault. Level design is akin to Super Mario 64, and the more costumes you have the more interesting the levels become. You collect raindrops and Balan Statues in true-to-form collectathon style. The only lacking aspect here is any opportunities to communicate with any NPC's while doing challenges and getting to know the inhabitants of Wonderworld more. Expect dynamic, beautiful level designs, I was not. Another aspect the demo left most short on was how fleshed out everything becomes, proving this was a labor of love.

    Once you take damage you lose one of your costumes ( they are stackable) this can become cumbersome if you need it and you ran out. If there was a way to quickly spend drops to buy one in a pinch would be nice (A Tim Blackmarket per level if you will) but a keen strategy and observing your surroundings with the improved camera controls will keep you out of trouble.
    Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2021
    9
    The game is visually colourful! Has a heartwarming story, and at least some decent gameplay!

    Balan Wonderworld has it’s own flaws and won’t exactly fit with everyone, despite some of the exaggerated hate since the gameplay doesn’t reach to modern game play standards on 3D-platformers. But It’s definitely enjoyable for those who want a good-heart filled story with some awesome visual
    The game is visually colourful! Has a heartwarming story, and at least some decent gameplay!

    Balan Wonderworld has it’s own flaws and won’t exactly fit with everyone, despite some of the exaggerated hate since the gameplay doesn’t reach to modern game play standards on 3D-platformers.
    But It’s definitely enjoyable for those who want a good-heart filled story with some awesome visual designs, music, and just simple gameplay to relax to!

    The game has twelve worlds to explore with twelve characters in mind to save their hearts through their circumstances and consequences. Each world is creatively well-done and does bring in some tricks for some replay-ability that adds more to it’s puzzling and exploration method to it’s gameplay. While it may be troubling for some to understand what the hell they should be doing and only having a one button control, I think it’s nice to have a creative understanding to figure it out on your own and what new ways you can get some achievements with the Balan statues and get used to the simplicity of the controls.

    There were some noticeable improvements on the game that made through some of the feedback. Character’s speed is a little bit faster, the jumps aren’t too floaty, some of the graphic visuals were handled a bit better with some textures and shadows, the models have been improved with some expression but it would be nice to see more expressive ones for the characters we encounter, some changes with the items being switched around like the jewel droplets, frame rate is fixed, and overall improvements that were made necessary for what’s currently offered. There’s some minor nitpicks I have in mind, though they aren’t currently too annoying or unbearable, but could be something to be improved if they’re willing to make another update in the future!

    For nitpicks:
    - there’ll be times when the negati would reappear again and again whenever you return to a certain area. It does bring in a lot of jewels but it get’s kinda time consuming when you just head back in the same spot and figure out all possible routes to encounter a statue or costume.
    - there’ll be minor glitches and slowed frame rates. Which the slow frame rate can encounter with the train cutscene and some inconveniences you’ll encounter, but might not happen to everyone.

    There’s a few more complaints, but I still loved it no matter what and doesn’t ruin my experience! The game may not be a masterpiece, and isn’t for everyone! But at least give a chance with open mindedness! It won’t be something like Mario odyssey or crash bandicoot, but I like the way it is and know there’ll be improvements on it. The NiGHTs elements in the game is what caught me, and I remained hyped no matter how many people argue and bash it. I don’t expect game developers do a very similar gameplay like it’s other IPs, like Sonic or NiGHTs. But I like how it is, and adore how much heart and charm was put into it.

    I’m aware of the bots giving positive reviews and of course the epilepsy effect on the final boss, but so far the patch provides to remove that effect and adjust some improvements that others didn’t really compliment much. Just a reminder for those in case they come across the game with a peak of interest! Or anyone who adores the need of serotonin to have something cute and relaxing to play!
    Expand
  27. Apr 5, 2021
    8
    Balan Wonderworld
    Really Fun, Really Underated
    Look, I of all people have the biggest chip on my shoulder when it comes to Balan, Square Enix doesn’t love me and wont send me codes anymore… And even I am baffled at the low metacritic score and IGN calling this game bad… it isn’t.. not even close to a bad game… This is probably one of the weirdest games youll ever play, you chose your
    Balan Wonderworld
    Really Fun, Really Underated
    Look, I of all people have the biggest chip on my shoulder when it comes to Balan, Square Enix doesn’t love me and wont send me codes anymore… And even I am baffled at the low metacritic score and IGN calling this game bad… it isn’t.. not even close to a bad game… This is probably one of the weirdest games youll ever play, you chose your haracter in the start and youre basically on the journey to fix the hearts of numerous characters all with their own story of sadness… this ggame will remind you a lot of a Mario game… in each level there are golden statues for you to collect that are required to move onto the next section of the world like a star in a Mario game or any other collectathon.. so the challenge does not come in clearing levels, it comes in hunting these things down… which here lies my biggest issue with balan… its insistence to give you collectables that you cant even reach with that level’s characters… each level youll be finding keys and crystals with different chrcters that will give you new abilities, either an attack, or traversal ability for the majority of the time… some charcters not even being able to jump, so youll be essentially character deck building… you can even bring charactrs from other levels into the next levels.. and Balan runs with this in a really frustrating way… there are so many times youll see a statue out of reach because yo udont have the right character from either a previous section or a future section, an in a game all about collecting as many statues as you can to move on, this can be super annoying…. Back tracking and replaying aa few levels almost feels mandatory.. but I do appreciate the variety here.. each level for the most part felt unique to me and memorable.. . at the end of 2 acts in one chapter you will take on a boss, these bosses are all super easy to beat, but it int about beating them, its about finding 3 different ways to deal damage, as youre rewarded up to 3 statues in the end based on your fighting variety… I do feel as though Balan Wonderworld overstays its welcome, clocking in at about 11 hours… and I am annoyed how luck based certain statue erning activites feel… and the overall lenth of the game also makes balan wonderworld just feel overwhelming as again its about colleting, not completing.. you unlock a new set of levels and it isn’t like man I cant wait to see what they throw at me next.. its more so, great, to unlock the next section of the world I need to find 4 statyues in this many levels before it gets back to only finding 3… and it was a strss that proved to just be too much for me during the final stretch.. A game that started with fun, ended with anxiety and frustration….
    Overall though I guess Balan Wonderworld is a game youre either going to click with or not, I for one don’t understand why o many people think this is a bad game,
    I guess because a bit of the sonic team worked on it and this isn’t a sonic game?
    I don’t know, I enjoyed it.
    I give Balan Wonderworld
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  28. Mar 27, 2021
    8
    I know lots of people may be discouraged by the demo, but I can assure you all that the game actually gets better. The levels featured in the demo are not very good levels that should represent the game. This game is by no means perfect, but please try it out before hating and bashing on it. Thank you for reading this.
  29. Mar 29, 2021
    4
    Aggressively mediocre. When the game isn't sluggish or boring it's unnecessarily punishing; got hit by something and you lost your costume? Better backtrack to where you found it! Failed a minigame the game suddenly decided to throw you in? Better restart the entire level because no retries for you!
    There was potential for a decent platformer but something clearly went wrong during
    Aggressively mediocre. When the game isn't sluggish or boring it's unnecessarily punishing; got hit by something and you lost your costume? Better backtrack to where you found it! Failed a minigame the game suddenly decided to throw you in? Better restart the entire level because no retries for you!
    There was potential for a decent platformer but something clearly went wrong during development, could it be Yuji got an inexperienced team or was Square constantly meddling? I hope we'll get an answer when a What Happened episode is made provided Square doesn't completely sweep this game under the rug.
    While we're on the topic of Square, these fake positive reviews by them are so transparent they might as well had them say "Please buy this game and don't look up reviews on Youtube". News flash: this type of review bombing didn't work when you tried to peddle Left Alive to us and it sure as heck won't work here..
    Expand
  30. Mar 29, 2021
    2
    This game is as dull as dishwater. By the way, I love how the bots said to ignore 0 score reviews... before there were actually any 0 score reviews. :D
  31. Apr 28, 2021
    2
    BALAN WONDERWORLD is a brogin stupid game that i HATE!!!! the only good part was the secret soniccharacter unlockable caused by collecting everything in the game and glitching in the first level to a mirror to green hill yeahhhhh SUCLS
  32. Mar 27, 2021
    0
    This is such a bad and boring game with terrible graphics and even worse controls.
  33. Apr 11, 2021
    0
    WARNING! 10/10 scores are people payed off to review this game with a good score, often with broken English, look up video reviews before you buy!!!!!!!
  34. Apr 25, 2021
    0
    What you expected when the game was first announced: Nights into Dreams
    What you got: Rubbish Psychonauts, 'nuff said
  35. Mar 27, 2021
    0
    DO NOT TRUST THESE POSITIVE USER REVIEWS. THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE.

    Seems like Squirt-Enix are resorting to the cheapest tactics possible and are trying to buy their way out of this mess by flooding this site with fake user reviews (look at the profiles of these people, none of them have reviewed anything else besides this POS). For which, shame on you, you f***ers! Don't you have
    DO NOT TRUST THESE POSITIVE USER REVIEWS. THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE.

    Seems like Squirt-Enix are resorting to the cheapest tactics possible and are trying to buy their way out of this mess by flooding this site with fake user reviews (look at the profiles of these people, none of them have reviewed anything else besides this POS). For which, shame on you, you f***ers! Don't you have ANY dignity left?

    There was a reason as to why they didn't hand out any review copies: This game could not even be considered decent as a free-to-play mobile game. To release something this bad as a fully-priced console title borders on fraud and is absolutely shameless.

    If my review gets marked as "not helpful", you know who's to blame (hint: it's not the actual players).
    Expand
  36. Mar 29, 2021
    0
    By far the worst game I have ever played.
    Complete garbage.
    Also, Metacritic has to do something against these bots.
  37. Apr 7, 2021
    0
    **** animations, **** framerate, the final boss even gives you a seizure with flashing lights. Absolute trainwreck and an embarrassment for a big name like Yuki Naka.
  38. Apr 20, 2021
    0
    Todavia seguian sacando juegos para esta "consola" tios?? jajajaj que flipooooo. Madre mia, que ladrillo mas feo chavales. Ni la Maria del Pueblo tiene ahi abajo algo tan feo y roto como la equisbosss jajajaja Con razon lo cuernea al calvo Toxico, si hasta un pie le entra juajaujauaja
  39. Apr 6, 2021
    0
    terrible game... full of fake reviews here. pathetic to say the least. Absolute garbage game..
  40. Mar 28, 2021
    0
    This game completely destroyed my esteem for Yuji Naka. I'm a Sonic fan since i was a child, and i was really hyped for this game. But the demo changed my mind. Slow game, obsolete game design, hate the "one action on all buttons" mechanic, too many power ups, which you'll use twice in the whole game. I just saved 60 bucks from this mess of a game.
  41. Mar 31, 2021
    0
    Descarga Fay Eat en android!!!!!!! Es mejor videojuego que este!!!! Descarga Fay Eat en android!!!!!!! Es mejor videojuego que este!!!! Descarga Fay Eat en android!!!!!!! Es mejor videojuego que este!!!! Descarga Fay Eat en android!!!!!!! Es mejor videojuego que este!!!! Descarga Fay Eat en android!!!!!!! Es mejor videojuego que este!!!!
  42. Apr 17, 2021
    0
    i dont even own this game (or an xbox for that matter) but the amount of 10/10 bots on here are fricking stupid so heres a 0/10 review take that bots
  43. Apr 11, 2021
    0
    Just doing my part in righting the inflated user score by obvious bots and fake accounts. Game sucks. **** Squeenix.
  44. Apr 16, 2021
    0
    looks like people have been making accounts to try and make balan positive.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Edge Magazine
    Apr 22, 2021
    50
    This is not a modern game, no. Nor is it a particularly good one. But nor is it quite the disaster it often threatens to turn into. So, yes, faint praise indeed. We'll ensure such mistakes aren't repeated when they appoint us CEO. [Issue#358, p.116]
  2. Apr 11, 2021
    72
    The magic of Night Into Dreams is glimpsed in small glimpses in Balan Wonderworld, a title with a lot of potential that struggles to get off the ground.
  3. Apr 9, 2021
    53
    Balan Wonderworld comes to the market as a title designed to make children enjoy. However, the title fails in most of its proposals, being the artistic section and the use of costumes the only thing that allows the title to maintain its composure at some point.