Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jan 15, 2021
    90
    Call of the Sea is proof that “Lovecraft” doesn’t have to mean “darkness and tentacles”. This is a positive, sometimes even cheerful adventure and it’s only the undertones which are ominous, and that works surprisingly well. Also, the puzzles are great, as are the graphics and the quietly moving story.
  2. Jan 25, 2021
    85
    My only real complaint is that there’s very little replay value outside of getting the second ending (though it’s just a final choice you make, so you could just play the final chapter again), searching for hidden collectables and cleaning up missing achievements. The setting and narrative are fantastic and it’s an adventure I’m glad to have been a part of. You can tell that Call of the Sea was made with much care and love as it’s one of those games that simply has a lot of character and heart.
  3. Dec 15, 2020
    85
    It is a delightful indie game. They have known how to choose each tool to create an adventure of exploration, mystery and with a variety of puzzles that will undoubtedly leave you hooked.
  4. Dec 21, 2020
    83
    Call of the Sea is a enjoyable first person puzzler that lays on said puzzles thick and fast. That it also looks stunning didn’t hurt my time with it. Having access to the journal is a great touch, and the story kept me hooked and keen to see what was next throughout.
  5. Jan 4, 2021
    80
    The Call of the Sea is one of the better Lovecraftian games in recent memory, thanks to its art, writing, acting and subtle defiance of some well-worn mystery conventions. In general, its puzzles are accessible yet challenging and the story is well told and set in a refreshingly unfamiliar environment. Less passive than a typical walking simulator but still not an action game, The Call of the Sea should appeal to gamers that appreciate beautiful art and an engrossing mystery.
  6. Dec 22, 2020
    80
    Call of the Sea is an enjoyable adventure. The story and setting are refreshingly different from what you’ll find in other games this season, and the puzzles are challenging enough to require some thought but not so much so to be frustrating. If you enjoy puzzles, you’ll enjoy your trip to the South Pacific.
  7. Dec 21, 2020
    80
    Narrative and gameplay come together in a perfect symbiosis.
  8. Dec 21, 2020
    80
    Call of the Sea gives that warm, almost nostalgic feeling of wonder. This six-hour puzzle adventure is filled to the brim with beautiful environments, occult mystery and unexpected plot twists. As a player you get the feeling that you have rediscovered a long forgotten fairy tale. But be warned: Call of the Sea plays anything but smooth and requires a lot of patience.
  9. Dec 14, 2020
    80
    What a surprise Call of the Sea was! Out of the Blue’s debut title shows off its own well-defined personality through a very accurate artistic direction and attention to details. All puzzles have their own logic and the idea of ​​proposing them in blocks, separating the adventure into sealed chapters, helps to focus attention on a limited number of elements. With its crazy atmosphere and an eight-hours duration, which prevents any kind of fatigue, Call of the Sea is a highly recommended game for adventure’s (and Lovecraft’s) lovers.
  10. Dec 11, 2020
    80
    With a style reminiscent of the great classics, it left a great taste in my mouth.
  11. Dec 10, 2020
    80
    Like any good puzzle game, there is special satisfaction in working out a solution to a conundrum that has stumped you, and that’s the best reward in the game. Call of the Sea ramps up the story towards the end, but I cared far more about the clues than Norah and Harry’s tale. It frustrates as the best puzzles often do, but no solutions feel unearned or gimmicky. This is definitely one for the pencil-chewers to check out.
  12. Dec 8, 2020
    80
    Call of the Sea is a great starter for Out of the Blue. The game brings together the best of the puzzle classics of the 90s and combines it with the macabre monster stories of H.P. Lovecraft with a certain cinematic touch. A very successful Xbox debut. Of course, if you don't like puzzles, this is not your game.
  13. Dec 8, 2020
    80
    Who said that single player games were dead? Call of the Sea on Xbox was made for Game Pass: a fantastic story stunningly told, full of well-pitched puzzles, with almost zero replayability. It’s one of 2020’s most surprising genre-reboots, taking Myst and transplanting in a heart, and we’re all for it. You’d do well to buy a ticket to its shores.
  14. 80
    A thoroughly enjoyable first-person adventure brimming with mystery, intrigue and intricate, well-thought-out puzzles, Call of the Sea is a journey into the unknown that proves both rewarding and memorable.
  15. Dec 8, 2020
    78
    Call of The Sea brings us a classic lovecraftian adventure: puzzles, a mystery that must be unveiled and realities abeyond ours. Despite not bringing anything new, it's pretty fresh enjoying a non-horror take on Lovecraft novels. You won't be disappointed.
  16. Dec 17, 2020
    76
    Intriguing and fascinating, Call of the Sea is a worthy new addition to Xbox Game Pass.
  17. Dec 23, 2020
    75
    With a gripping, well-paced story that isn't afraid to delve into the realm of surreal and weird, Call of the Sea is an adventure title that's sure to please fans of the genre. You won't feel like the next Einstein when completing its puzzles, and the love story won't bring you to tears, but there's something charming about it for that very reason. It's a concise, seven-hour journey that progresses at a steady rate without ever overstaying its welcome.
  18. Dec 20, 2020
    75
    Call of the Sea fascinates thanks to great environments and an intriguing story, helped by a good narrative and puzzle structure. Some puzzles feel a bit too cryptic and the story could have expanded more especially towards the final hours, but it's definitely a game to try and a successful debut for developer Out of the Blue.
  19. Dec 10, 2020
    75
    If the writers weren't so eager to spoil their own surprises, I think we'd be looking at one outstanding narrative-driven adventure here. As it is, Call of the Sea is a pleasing piece of pulp fiction and a decent test of your puzzle-solving skills.
  20. Dec 9, 2020
    75
    Out of the Blue's debut game manages to pack in some complex puzzles set amongst some beautiful environments, and has a story that keeps you hooked throughout.
  21. Dec 8, 2020
    75
    Call of the Sea has left a good taste in our mouths, a modest adventure of puzzles and narrative that poses some good puzzles and a very simple and unoriginal story, but that never takes on too much prominence and is followed with pleasure, achieving a good balance between all its parts. If you like riddles in their proper measure, without needing to leave you mentally exhausted, surely you are going to enjoy it.
  22. Dec 20, 2020
    73
    Call of the Sea is a well written game with some flaws when it comes to its puzzles: overall, a fine experience that is surely worth a try.
  23. Dec 14, 2020
    72
    Call of the Sea is an interesting but flawed experiment, denoting some (legitimate) error of inexperience. In general, the feeling is that of an adventure written in a pleasant and moderately enjoyable way to play, without ever reaching that status of a little gem to be discovered that in the past months had accompanied the arrival of the debut title. of Out of the Blue from Madrid. A non-trivial story that leaves good feelings for the future of the Spanish studio, to be enjoyed without too many pretensions towards a rather inspired ending.
  24. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    We get a story whose late twists are telegraphed within the first hour or so, and an ending drenched with homage to the Shape of Water. The journey, however, is worth taking. I relished the spectacle of a stranded ship, its hull gashed with Godzilla-sized claw marks. And, in the wavering depths of a dream sequence, Norah swimming down towards a pair of glowing eyes. Still, that sort of thing is par for the course, when you’re in Lovecraftland. What rescues the game from the descent into cliché isn’t a rise to sanity. Nor is it the call of the sea. It’s Harry. You believe in Norah because she believes in him, and even when the plot goes bats you want to see them back together. Who would have thought that the solution to madness might be marriage? Thanks, Old Pal.
  25. Dec 21, 2020
    70
    Call of the Sea struggles to maintain its momentum as it nears the end of the game in terms of gameplay, but the first few chapters are great and the story at least stays interesting. While its short length may understandably make some hesitant to buy it outright, it's an easy recommendation for Xbox Game Pass subscribers, especially anyone looking for a fresh experience on their Xbox Series X consoles.
  26. Dec 8, 2020
    70
    Call Of The Sea is a good debut, that uses puzzle and riddle-based gameplay to tell an atmospheric story. Its weakness lies in a conception of riddles that is not always very clear, source of some moments of frustration, and in a limited duration. It will probably not remain among the most notable examples of the genre, but we must give credit to the fact that it manages to offer an alternative vision of the Lovecraftian narrative universe, potentially capable of satisfying those who do not always want monsters or scares.
  27. Jan 22, 2021
    65
    When all was said and done, it was a great journey — I just don’t understand why the developers went to such great lengths to make taking that journey as irritating and inconvenient as possible.
  28. Dec 8, 2020
    65
    When finished, Call of the Sea leaves a salty, unfinished aftertaste.
  29. Feb 15, 2021
    60
    Call of the Sea is basically one big escape room, in which you go from location to location while solving varied and mostly interesting puzzles. Sometimes, however, developer Out of the Blue expects a little too much, which can lead to frustrating moments and a wandering player.
  30. Jan 15, 2021
    60
    Call of the Sea will be welcomed by those who enjoy a challenging puzzle game with a matinee feel of familiarity and extravagance. For those of us with less patience, there are other ways to spend our time.
  31. Dec 8, 2020
    60
    Call of the Sea’s intriguing piecemeal story and beautiful setting falls to the wayside when its lack of signposting and overall artificially obtuse puzzles take center stage for much longer than acceptable.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 18, 2020
    Call of the Sea is a game that knows how to find a way to tell its story and integrate its gameplay in an effective and balanced way through the exploration of its scenarios. It is a relaxed puzzle adventure, suitable for all types of players and that invites, through its careful artistic section, to be enjoyed calmly. I think it has the foundation to be a great game, makes some brave decisions and tells a peculiar story. However, I feel that it has been too restrained, that it could have given something more of itself in terms of duration and difficulty, but the truth is that I really want to see what will be next in Out of the Blue [Recommended]
  2. Dec 9, 2020
    A dazzlingly different debut with a haunting sense of place and adventure. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 12 out of 77
  1. Jan 3, 2021
    10
    I don't really like puzzle games regularly, but this one looked so good I had to try(it's on gamepass) I came for the amazing visuals andI don't really like puzzle games regularly, but this one looked so good I had to try(it's on gamepass) I came for the amazing visuals and stayed for the great story, music and puzzles, totally recommend Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2021
    10
    Game is beautiful, challenging but still very relaxing to play. And what a story! I can highly recommend this game to anybody.
  3. Dec 17, 2020
    4
    Call of The Sea was a bumpy ride for me.

    It started great. I was loving the adventure and the graphics + performance on Series X.
    Call of The Sea was a bumpy ride for me.

    It started great.
    I was loving the adventure and the graphics + performance on Series X.

    However, after around 30% of the story the game starts going downhill and continues till the end.
    Puzzles are ok, graphics are great, performance ok (later in the game there are SERIOUS frame drops).
    The thing that made me give this game such a note is story.
    It just wasn't for me apparently.
    As mentioned, I was loving it till a certain point, but afterwards the narrative turns and goes into a different direction, that I was just not a fan of. Disappointing ending as well for me.

    At least the game is in game pass and is 4h long, so you are not risking a lot by giving it a try.
    Full Review »