Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Feb 17, 2021
    93
    Control has that signature Remedy feel to it, from its unique combat to its completely out there narrative, something only Sam Lake could be a part of. Although the story is Control’s strongest asset, it will take a lot of concentration to piece it all together. While I’m not a fan of forcing a rebuy to get the Series X|S version if you bought the base game at launch, Control: Ultimate Edition is without a doubt the definitive edition you want to experience, even if it’s for the second time, as the 60fps Performance Mode makes it feel like a completely new and better game. Welcome to the FBC Director.
  2. Feb 13, 2021
    90
    Control Ultimate Edition on the Xbox Series X|S is just about every reason to play Control, conveniently stored in a plastic green box. If you’ve played before, the stellar AWE DLC, the stripping away of old infuriations, and the showpiece graphical improvements are convincing arguments for hopping back in (even if it demands that you pay extra for the privilege). If you haven’t played Control before, then you have the reassurance that this is a deserving Game of the Year, in its definitive format.
  3. Feb 8, 2021
    90
    Control was one of 2019's best games, with the only pervasive issue being that consoles couldn't always run the ambitious game so well. That's all changed. Its upgrades are apparent and fit perfectly for the game's lightning-quick gunplay and gorgeous world. And if you missed the game or any of its DLCs until now, then you should absolutely start here for the complete, most impressive version of the best games in recent years.
  4. Feb 2, 2021
    75
    Despite the precision of the reflections provided by the “graphics” mode, we especially appreciated a “performance” mode capable of bringing an epic to life in 60fps. Thus, exploring the Office and the many clashes becomes more enjoyable than ever. The included DLCs extend an adventure that retains the same qualities and flaws as in 2019. If you're still new to Jesse Faden's story, it might be time to catch up.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 2, 2021
    If you can get over having to rebuy the game again and not being able to transfer over old saves, Ultimate Edition on next-gen consoles is the best way to play Control outside of a solidly powerful PC. If you didn’t like Control back when it first came out, because it was too hard or you didn’t find the world engaging, this new port won’t change your mind. But if you bounced off the old game due to long load times or performance problems, this might be the best time to jump back in.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Feb 26, 2021
    0
    I bought this game on the 1st day, but now I need to buy it again to see SX improvements? Maybe if Remedy refund me the original price.
  2. Feb 9, 2021
    8
    Sehr gute Grafik und Kampfgameplay, die Fähigkeiten sind cool, Story kommt langsam in Fahrt, ist dafür herrlich schräg und bleibt spannendSehr gute Grafik und Kampfgameplay, die Fähigkeiten sind cool, Story kommt langsam in Fahrt, ist dafür herrlich schräg und bleibt spannend
    Karte ist suboptimal, eine 3D-Karte wäre praktisch gewesen
    War überrascht, dass das Spiel "Metroidvania"-mäßig aufgebaut ist, hatte was Lineares erwartet...
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2021
    8
    I luckily didn’t buy this game on Xbox one or ps4 so I don’t feel as taken advantage of like most who bought it before and are forced to payI luckily didn’t buy this game on Xbox one or ps4 so I don’t feel as taken advantage of like most who bought it before and are forced to pay extra to get the upgrade which is total bs in my opinion. What does suck for me is I bought this game a month before it released on my series x digitally and then ps5 released it as a ps plus game and I have as well as xsx a ps5 I know I probably could have returned it and got my 40 back but I prefer xsx to my ps5 so now I have this game on both systems. And it is gorgeous and plays great on both I’m not upset with it but do hate they charged for the upgrade that so many other games give away for free. The game is an 8 out of 10 hands down the business practice is a 0 remedy knee they had a game they could do this with and they did it. No one would have done it for quantum break cause that game was meh at best but this game is actually fun and the story is great. If you didn’t buy it on last gen I would say it’s worth the 40 to get it now. Other wise I’m sure it will be a 20 or 30 dollar game soon enough. Full Review »