Echo Generation Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Echo Generation follows a gang of kids through otherworldly adventures as they investigate mysterious and supernatural events in their hometown that will change the course of their lives forever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 20, 2021
    90
    Echo Generation does an excellent job of combining nostalgic feelings for the 90s with modern game development in a way that makes every second an enjoyable time. The characters are diverse and interesting, the combat is varied and fun, and the world is about as beautiful as it gets. Combine all of that with the fact that it’s launching on Xbox Gamepass, and it’s impossible not to recommend Echo Generation.
  2. Nov 7, 2021
    83
    The Good Life is an open-world life simulator with detective overtones, strange and messy situations, plus transformations to cats and dogs.
  3. Oct 21, 2021
    80
    Echo Generation is a simple but very enjoyable adventure which captures the magic of being young. It skillfully creates a sense of excitement and wonder, yet has enough going on to prevent it from becoming a repetitive slog; a trap similar games often fall into.
  4. Nov 1, 2021
    71
    Echo Generation feels like one of those games that try to capture all the elements which made the older games interesting. No hand-holding, no easy setting, no guidance and very challenging. The art design is quite cool and it is what will lure to the game as it seems very chilled. But it’s a false sense of security the game is far from chilled and is decidedly tricky. Coupled with the creepy unnerving undertones of the story this game is not for the faint-hearted.
  5. Oct 20, 2021
    70
    Echo Generation is a gorgeous turn-based adventure game with an awesome retro vibe. It doesn’t always live up to the adventure it promises, with combat sometimes feeling too lengthy or repetitive, and it’s not always clear what you should be doing, but if you’re browsing that Xbox Game Pass library and wondering what to try next, or if you’re looking for something that captures that sense of childhood adventure, you should give Echo Generation a try.
  6. Oct 20, 2021
    70
    Echo Generation is visually striking, with a lot of intriguing concepts and solid combat and gameplay at its core. Unfortunately, a lack of focus with the narrative holds it back from being a truly impressive RPG. The boss battles alone might be worth the price of admission, and there’s still other bits to enjoy, but those looking for more meat would best be off searching for another tale of adventurous kids from decades past.
  7. Oct 24, 2021
    60
    It’s beautiful to look at and has an engaging turn based combat system but Echo Generation has a few core issues that undermine its best qualities. An unfocused narrative leads to confused and unclear quest lines which, combined with some curious design choices, means the game doesn’t manage to fulfil its obvious potential.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 1, 2021
    10
    Hidden gem. Nice psychadelic scif i story and very nice turn based combat. Great RPG elements and exploration
  2. Nov 2, 2021
    10
    Fantastic game! I saw this game with a small download size on game pass and thought I'd give it ago and didn't think much of it. And now I'mFantastic game! I saw this game with a small download size on game pass and thought I'd give it ago and didn't think much of it. And now I'm enjoying it more than most triple A games out there. It's so much fun and unique and smart and it looks fantastic!! The progression and mini game and writing and story and mechanics, all fantastic! I'm surprised that a small game like this is as fun as 60$ games and even more. I always loved games to be more simple and straightforward than complicated and convoluted. I spent 7 hours playing in one sitting and I almost never do that, I haven't done that in years. This game is insanely fun and unique. And I will definitely be looking for what the devs release in the future. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2022
    9
    I really enjoyed the game. An old school JRPG mechanic but with a story inspired by teen adventures from the 80s like Stranger Things.
  4. Nov 7, 2021
    8
    A love letter to Mother / Earthbound. While the gameplay is not ground breaking, the charming world ensures that this game is plenty enjoyable.
  5. Dec 20, 2021
    8
    I typically do not like turned based games…but the art style and story of this gem of a game really did it for me. I was surprised how much II typically do not like turned based games…but the art style and story of this gem of a game really did it for me. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. Not a long game, but it under 10 hours, but we’ll worth it.

    If you want something different, into voxel art or even standard rpgs…give this a shot
    Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2022
    8
    Wow, this was a surprising good game. i made all 1000G
    Give it a try if you can.