Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Dec 11, 2020
    93
    If you take one thing away from this review, be it this; playing Haven is utterly mesmerising, a wonderfully written and performed tale of two lovers taking a chance on each other even at the cost of their very way of life. Yu and Kay have become two of my favourite characters this year, and even now I can’t help wonder where they will go next. Exploring Source is an exercise if joy, even when we have to repeat sections a few times, and there always feels like there is something else to find or see. It could have been a tad shorter, but when what’s here is this enjoyable I’ll allow it!
  2. Dec 4, 2020
    90
    Part of me wants to say Haven is my game of the year, but I should probably let the post-play buzz die down first. What I do know is that Yu and Kay will stick with me for a long time.
  3. Dec 3, 2020
    90
    Along with being one of the most gentle and soothing games of the year, Haven is also gaming at its most compassionate.
  4. Dec 14, 2020
    80
    Haven is an uplifting and positive tale of a young couple setting out to make an alien planet their home. Yu and Kay are a likeable pair as you watch their relationship strengthen, the world of Source is a gorgeous place to explore, and the soundtrack is great as well. While the overarching story could be deeper and battles could be streamlined further, Haven is a game that offers a chilled out escape.
  5. Dec 13, 2020
    80
    Haven tells a tale of love and freedom in an intriguing alien world, beautifully depicted and sided by a great electro soundtrack. A game to try, even if you'll need some patience to move past the first, too slow, couple of hours.
  6. Dec 9, 2020
    80
    Travelling around Source is a pleasant and chilled experience, if a little bland at times.
  7. Dec 4, 2020
    80
    What Haven doesn’t quite perfect in its gameplay, it makes up for with a beautifully crafted, surprisingly human relationship, accompanied by a brilliant soundtrack and gorgeous presentation.
  8. Dec 3, 2020
    80
    At the end of the twenty hours required to complete it, Haven is confirmed as an intimate and daily love story, which rejects the pomposity of the epic to settle on the sweetness of adolescence. And it's a rarity in the gaming world.
  9. Dec 3, 2020
    80
    Losing yourself in Haven on the Xbox is a sedate joy. You can wile away hours, clearing Rust from the world and pocketing alien produce. Then it’s back to the Nest for a night’s kip and one of the more endearing romantic relationships in video games. But as you skim across the surface of the Source, you’ll be left wishing that Haven could have trusted you a little more, and let you dive deeper into its shallow systems. It may not quite reach the heights of its inspirations, then, but Haven is an alien holiday that might just blow your troubles away.
  10. Dec 3, 2020
    78
    Even when I was frustrated, I was impressed by the touching and thrilling moments Haven creates. I enjoyed the genuine connection between Yu and Kay, and jetting off into the unknown with a pair of hover-boots is a blast. But this otherworldly adventure extends itself too far beyond its strengths. Sometimes the rough patches are worth working through, but like any relationship, sometimes you’re just giving more than you’re getting.
  11. Dec 6, 2020
    75
    Despite its technical hangups, Haven has passion and charisma to spare thanks to some clever writing and an honest portrayal of a devoted relationship. There are rough patches when you get stuck on confusing terrain or come up against a temperamental adversary, but the journey is mostly as difficult as you want to make it. Keeping these wanderers together is a pleasant challenge, and re-assembling the puzzle pieces of their past has a satisfying payoff.
  12. Dec 3, 2020
    75
    A charming surprise and should mark the genre of adventure game thanks to the quality of the writing, the few mechanics borrowed from RPGs, the possibility of playing as a duo and its accessibility.
  13. Jan 27, 2021
    72
    Haven is a special game that is hard to recommend, but hard to miss. If you want a good honest look at star crossed lovers, and you have someone to play it with, definitely consider dropping some time into this lovely world.
  14. Dec 3, 2020
    70
    This is my dilemma with Haven, then: as a chill-out RPG with a beautiful world to explore, it’s a pleasant experience that really helped me relax in the evenings after a rough day. But it has a story, a story with a real threat that is swept aside, and a central couple that, while sweet and believable, never grow beyond their typical “hot-headed girl” and “meticulous research boy” characteristics. Even as I was rebuilding my ship and growing plants, I didn’t feel like I’d gained anything or learnt anything new about the characters. If I were to return to Source, it would be to give my pet lizard Oink a little scratch on the chin, or to see the breeze blow through the grass and experience a brief moment of calm in this currently chaotic world.
  15. Dec 3, 2020
    70
    Even if it fails to depict the different aspects of and mature love story, Haven has undoubted qualities and its artistic side will make a wide range of players fall in love.
  16. Dec 3, 2020
    45
    The endearing love story and vibrant art style of Haven can't save it from being a derivative and forgettable RPG adventure.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Dec 6, 2020
    10
    What a fantastic Xbox Gamepass game. The music is appropriate and atmospheric, the gameplay feels new yet familiar, this is especially trueWhat a fantastic Xbox Gamepass game. The music is appropriate and atmospheric, the gameplay feels new yet familiar, this is especially true for the combat system, but the best of all the great things about the game is the synergy between the two main characters. I've played almost all of the games that the general public dubbed the best of the decade, and yet none of them have shown me such an honest and well-written relationship as Haven can. Truly a recommendation. Full Review »
  2. Jan 18, 2021
    4
    I liked the game bakers previous game Furi quite a bit so I was actually anticipating Haven and thought it was cool that you could play it dayI liked the game bakers previous game Furi quite a bit so I was actually anticipating Haven and thought it was cool that you could play it day one on gamepass, unfortunately that anticipation turned into disappointment. There really isn't much to Haven you go around and pick up goo and fight corrupted wildlife in turn based combat. When you're not exploring the focus is the relationship of the 2 main characters which is fairly well developed for what it is, the voice acting was pretty good for an indie game but the story never takes the characters into any interesting directions or at least nothing interesting enough to keep me playing. The turn based combat it pretty derivative, coming from the devs who made Furi which had amazing combat I expected much more in this area of the game but its just dull and never challenges you so your just left wondering what was even the point as you wonder through the bland environments.

    Even as a gamepass title Haven is a shallow experience that never offers anything worth the time investment needed to see it, it has some nice music but that's about it.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2020
    10
    It has some minor flaws but it is a gem nevertheless. Pros:
    - it's relaxing and engaging at the same time
    - creative vision of the story and
    It has some minor flaws but it is a gem nevertheless. Pros:
    - it's relaxing and engaging at the same time
    - creative vision of the story and environment
    - believable, charming characters
    - how every game mechanics are connected and related to the story
    - it has ZERO bugs - something AAA productions cannot active nova days
    - the level of user accessibility customisation is one of the best I ever saw
    - delightful dialogues

    Flaws: - repetitive music
    - sometimes its not clear what to do next
    Full Review »