Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 12, 2022
    95
    Metal: Hellsinger is an indie that no one who loves shooters, frantic games or rhythm games should miss out on, especially if they have already played works like the DOOM franchise before, as this game will steal their hearts with its song.
  2. Sep 16, 2022
    91
    I really found myself engrossed with Metal: Hellsinger, and the solid FPS gunplay paired with a challenging rhythm mechanic keeps you pretty engaged throughout. It’s a neat concept that certainly hasn’t worn out its welcome so far, and I’d certainly like to see it expanded upon in the future, so hopefully a sequel or DLC won’t be out of the question. Definitely check it out Metal: Hellsinger if any of this sounds intriguing, you won’t be disappointed.
  3. Sep 12, 2022
    90
    Metal Hellsinger is a slick and addictive rhythm FPS with style and attitude to spare. With shooter action that's heavily reminiscent of Bethesda's 2016 DOOM reboot mashed together with superbly well-realised rhythm game aspects that enhance the core combat experience, this is a fiendishly satisfying arcade game that sucks you right into its twisted hellscapes and refuses to let you go. Get ready for some super-sweaty Heavy Metal vengeance.
  4. Sep 13, 2022
    80
    Metal: Hellsinger is a scream come true for metal music FPS fans and could make anyone a fan of The Metal.
  5. Sep 12, 2022
    80
    It's not all that unique, with games like BPM: Bullets Per Minute already "inventing" some of these concepts, but the quality is undeniable, and FPS fans should not skip this one for sure. Especially since it's launching day one into Xbox Game Pass.
  6. Sep 22, 2022
    75
    A hardcore heavy-metal shooter boasting a side order of rhythm with its brutal ultra-violence, Metal: Hellsinger is good fun, but you'll probably get a lot more out of it if you actually enjoy the music.
  7. Sep 13, 2022
    75
    If taken as a simple FPS, Metal: Hellsinger would be an average one, due to non-stellar graphics, short levels and repetitive boss fights. But add its heavy metal rhythm game gameplay to the mix, and you'll find yourselves captivated by the challenge of flawlessly executing every level, aiming to obtain the highest multiplier possible by hitting enemies following the great head-banging music tracks.
  8. Sep 12, 2022
    75
    In its way of transforming the fast FPS into a raging rhythm game, thanks to the support of an impeccable soundtrack, Metal: Hellsinger gave us a few hours of pure adrenaline. The gameplay loop is mastered, the instinctive handling and the multiple levels of difficulty allow you to create an à la carte experience. The fact remains that the content is a little too light, since we will complete the main campaign in 5 to 6 hours depending on the desired challenge. The challenges, however, allow you to extend the lifespan, but it is above all the interest in scoring and the desire to climb the world rankings that will allow you, or not, to play Metal: Hellsinger for more than 10 hours. As it is, it's still an experience to try if you like "Doom Like" and big guitar riffs.
  9. Sep 29, 2022
    70
    Metal: Hellsinger is relatively short, and while there are additional challenges you can complete if you fell in love with it, that’s mostly a good thing. While its core mechanics are strong, and I love its soundtrack, it’s a one-dimensional game where you’ll have seen most everything it has to offer quickly. At that point, it’s just a matter of how much you enjoy the feel of it. While it won’t be for everyone, it’s absolutely a game those with Game Pass should give a chance.
  10. Sep 13, 2022
    70
    Metal: Hellsinger on Xbox Series X|S isn’t quite the Symphony of Destruction we were hoping for. It feels more akin to a band’s debut EP; a noteworthy introduction but one that is just a snapshot into the potential.
  11. Sep 12, 2022
    60
    Metal: Hellsinger enlists some all-star musical talent to bring its dream of metal-based FPS mayhem to life, but stumbles in finding its gameplay rhythm.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 14, 2022
    For those fond of metal music and Doom, Metal: Hellsinger had all the ingredients to rock our hearts. The final product is as good as we hoped it would be and we loved the adventure albeit it being a little too short. Considering its efficient gameplay mixed with a delightful banger soundtrack, we were gutted to see the credits roll after less than 5 hours: we wanted more! If headbanging is your jam, Metal: Hellsinger is the way to go, especially as it is released day one in the Xbox Game Pass.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sep 18, 2022
    7
    I really liked this game, but it's not perfect.

    I wish the boss fights throughout were better. All of them underwhelmed outside of the
    I really liked this game, but it's not perfect.

    I wish the boss fights throughout were better. All of them underwhelmed outside of the final boss. I also wish the weapon varieties and rhythm patterns were more varied. The entire game seems to play at the exact same 'rhythm' no matter which weapon you use, and all weapons are made to work within that seemingly constant rhythm. More variety would've made the game more challenging and fun, IMO. The music, while very good, was a bit lacking in the first half of the game. The metal songs sound really generic, but it definitely picks up in the latter levels. Especially the final level, but again, I wish more of the game was like that final stage. It's worth playing, and overall it about met & maybe exceeded my expectations, but there is clear room for growth in a potential sequel.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2022
    9
    i am not a huge fan of metal and rhythm games but this game is the exception. i love how the game combine action with rhythm and all songsi am not a huge fan of metal and rhythm games but this game is the exception. i love how the game combine action with rhythm and all songs especially "no tomorrow" are amazing. i finished the game and each time i listen the soundtracks in youtube, i want to play it again. i don't give a 10/10 because i think all the bosses are similar in appearance with a little change. i think that maybe the needed to add different bosses with different styles. i recommend this game to everyone. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2022
    10
    AWESOME game, music is fantastic, gameplay is fun. Highly recommended, try it!!