Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 100
    This is, quite simply, the finest sports game ever made, a game that rethinks what a sports game can be – and will keep you entertained for an impressively long time. If you can avoid constantly restarting and rethinking your dream franchise, that is.
  2. Sep 30, 2022
    93
    There is just so much to talk about, and really more worth experiencing than just reading about. Upgraded graphics with really impressive hair and skin, the ability to download the app to scan your face and put yourself into the game, and even the real contest, there's simply a massive amount of things to do. Make sure you also check out the shoe creator, which lets you design your own kicks and for your created player, give power-ups to give you that on-court advantage you have always wanted, and I absolutely love it. Definitely give NBA 2K23 a chance. Yes, the controls can be hard to learn but if you practice and work at it and do the drills, just like in real-life ball, you too can show you have what it takes to make it in the NBA.
  3. Sep 20, 2022
    90
    NBA 2K23 best honors the number it carries. The playful offer of the new basketball iteration by 2K and Visual Concepts is sumptuous, both in terms of visual presentation and content offer. Alongside the now classic game modes such as My Career and My Team, we find the experience in the expanded and enriched WNBA, a Mia NBA mode even more layered and structured than in the past, with several new features (such as the Age of Basketball) that fans of the wedge ball will love. The highlight, however, is the return of the Jordan Challenge, which could be worth the price of the ticket alone. With NBA 2K23 the development team confirms the very high simulation level that is now the trademark of the franchise, this year further refined and studied in detail.
  4. Sep 18, 2022
    90
    NBA 2K23 has once again hit the jackpot. The very rich offering in terms of modes, a more refined gameplay, an increasingly realistic AI and a top-notch graphical appearance make it an unmissable title, despite some minor imperfections.
  5. Sep 11, 2022
    90
    Undoubtedly the best opus of the license released to date. In addition to the already gargantuan lifespan, further improved in solo and multiplayer thanks to a My NBA mode boosted by the choice of 4 eras, the return of the Jordan Challenge, the co-op mode in My Team and the Career Theater, the gameplay in will delight some. The former crazy dribblers are now limited online and must think collectively, the shooting timing is more demanding, but much fairer and a lot of new animations come to shake up the regulars. Graphically impeccable, taking in immersion with old-school skins for period matches, the title enters the Hall of Fame. Only gray areas, the usual desire (or even need) to take out the credit card to get more VC and advance your player, a matchmaking that is still quite unbalanced and some crashes on certain career quests. Even MJ can have flaws.
  6. Sep 10, 2022
    90
    Simpler and more arcade-like, and therefore more accessible, NBA 2K23 is also a nostalgic love letter to NBA history. My Career mode remains so good that if it weren't plagued by micro transactions or trips to "The City", it would simply be perfect.
  7. Sep 10, 2022
    90
    In a nutshell, this is one of the most complete sports games on the market and you will not be disappointed with NBA 2K23. Simply put, it’s the best basketball videogame of all time.
  8. Sep 27, 2022
    86
    NBA 2K23 is a more than remarkable installment of the famous basketball saga, where the eras of My NBA mode and Jordan Challenge stand out, taking us back to epic moments of the past with a presentation and design adapted to each era. Even so, the abusive use of microtransactions and its dependence on the My Career mode continue to be major negative points.
  9. Sep 19, 2022
    85
    The newest entry of the NBA2K family pays homage to the embodiment of basketball itself: Michael Jordan and it does it flawlessly with very tiny details to polish.
  10. Sep 13, 2022
    85
    Despite its heavy focus on microtransactions, NBA 2K23 is the basketball game that sports fans have been waiting for for quite some time.
  11. Sep 21, 2022
    82
    When you buy NBA 2K, you know what you're getting. Except this year, NBA 2K23 sees Visual Concepts bringing its 'A' game, with an excellent MyCareer mode, the return of Jordan Challenges, and an addictive MyTeam offering. This is a straight-up slam dunk.
  12. Sep 27, 2022
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Sep 26, 2022
    80
    Despite his flaws, NBA 2K23 leaves the franchise in a better position than it was in recent years. Microtransactions continue to devour uncontrollably online modes, however, traditional modes are still there with gameplay better than ever. In the end, this year's edition can satisfy all types of players and although controversial, NBA 2K23 is a positive experience.
  14. Sep 23, 2022
    80
    NBA 2K23 represents one of the biggest steps forward for the franchise in recent years. The abundance of modes will keep players entertained throughout the NBA season, and the on-court gameplay continues to be improved. It's just a shame that microtransactions continue to be as woven within the fabric of the game as they are.
  15. 80
    Refinements to core aspects of NBA 2K23’s gameplay make for some of the most fluid and enjoyable action seen in some years, and it’s all capped off with the excellent Jordan Challenge. It’s not perfect by any means, but this year’s NBA 2K is certainly a big step up from previous entries.
  16. Sep 15, 2022
    80
    No sports game gets the past right quite like NBA 2K23 – and its present-day immersiveness is incredibly powerful, too.
  17. Sep 14, 2022
    80
    NBA 2K23 is the strongest this franchise has looked and felt in recent memory. With a fantastic focus on various eras from the past 50 years of the sport, a superb Michael Jordan Challenge mode, plenty of improvements on the court and series-best presentation, this is a super slick and polished feast of basketball for fans to dig into. Yes, microtransactions are still an ugly issue, especially in MyPlayer mode, but if you can look past this failing, you're in for an absolute treat here with a ton of deep and addictive single player and online modes to get stuck into.
  18. Sep 13, 2022
    80
    These issues, especially due to their persistence year after year, do hinder NBA 2K23 from being historically great, but for annual players who have gotten used to these problems, they'll likely sting less. What remains after you forgive (or just try to forget) those issues is undoubtedly still an exceptional basketball game made with an intense attention to detail and a love of the game. On the court, NBA 2K23 looks and feels lifelike and exciting in every drive, and the new and revamped modes treat the NBA like a revered historical monument. In those important ways it does its best to reflect Jordan's greatness and shows both NBA newcomers and historians what it's like to play like Mike.
  19. Sep 9, 2022
    80
    The gameplay is the best it has ever been, and the live service is the most predatory feeling, but there is enough other content on offer that I’d still recommend this year’s title. It’s stunning to look at, thanks in part to its jaw-droppingly large install size, features tons of classic teams, and far better WNBA integration. If you haven’t played an NBA 2K game in a while this might finally be the year for you to jump back in.
  20. Sep 25, 2022
    75
    After last year's disappointing entry, NBA 2K23 is certainly a step in the right direction. The basketball is as good as it has ever been and the Jordan Challenge is truly wonderful, you just have to ignore a bit of jank to find the fun.
  21. Sep 22, 2022
    75
    NBA 2K23 is a fantastic package that is marred by a heavy reliance on microtransactions. Unless a player is going to spend hours and hours grinding out The City, the only way to find a modicum of success is to open your wallet and buy the virtual currency to boost your players and teams.
  22. Sep 15, 2022
    70
    There's no denying it: NBA 2K23 is once again a sports game of the highest level, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Jordan Challenge and the retro options. However, it's getting harder and harder to perceive the visual and gameplay improvements, along with the most aggressive micropayment system in the entire industry.
  23. Sep 12, 2022
    70
    NBA 2K23 is a step up for the NBA 2K series as far as gameplay and in-game elements go, and the new additions to modes like MyNBA and MyTeam help the game modes feel less stale as a whole. However, the game's incredibly heavy reliance on microtransactions continues to hold back what is otherwise an incredible sports game.
  24. Sep 22, 2022
    65
    If you ask me, if you’re not willing to play MyCareer or even MyTeam, then save your money as NBA 2K23 is not worth it in the long run. You’ll just end up spending more money than you initially thought you would while potentially playing anything but basketball.
  25. Sep 22, 2022
    60
    NBA 2K23 is bogged down in a lot of problems courtesy of predatory monetization and an overzealous RPG game taking priority over the actual basketball-ing, but it does have great qualities as well. There is plenty of content ensuring there's something for everyone to play and the game leans into its simulation aspects in a risky, but effective way. If the series can hone these good qualities and leave behind its outdated monetization schemes, 2K could garner another level of respect and become something that rises above the other sports games.
  26. Sep 14, 2022
    60
    I am heavily conflicted about NBA 2K23. On one hand, the new retro game modes have reached out to my inner sports geek and given me a way to replay NBA history in a way that I’ve never done before. Especially paired with a handful of really strong gameplay changes, like improved spacing and AI, I foresee myself dumping dozens of hours into reliving and reconstructing NBA history. Conversely, I now feel completely and utterly isolated from the MyCareer experience. I have no interest in shelling out additional cash (even beyond the expensive Michael Jordan Edition) or grind for insane hours just to be able to compete on the online court, and the density of The City and its shopping opportunities is lost on me for the same reason. Instead, I’ll take my metaphorical basketball and go home, where I can enjoy the parts of NBA 2K23 that I can fully experience without the repugnant emphasis of its microtransactions.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 16, 2022
    There is no question that NBA 2K23 is the most inspired work in the series, or any other in all of sports video gaming. The real question is how much of its staggering depth most players will ever see. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Sep 12, 2022
    0
    As an only Play-Now Online user, shooting is practically impossible online. There's a noticeable delay compared to 2KU, people are evenAs an only Play-Now Online user, shooting is practically impossible online. There's a noticeable delay compared to 2KU, people are even missing free throws most of the time like they are prime Ben Wallace. Layups are still bad if somebody dares breathes near you in the paint but that's always been the case in 2k.... last year was braindead easy to shoot, but this year you need a PERFECT release or you will miss 99% of the time. There is no real player % for online either now.

    While the shooting in park/rec could make sense, nobody is gonna remember every jumper for every player in Player Control/ Quick Match .... especially with input delays.

    This is coming from a guy that always reaches GOAT tier. Don't ruin the real basketball modes for the 2nd job grind park mode.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2022
    8
    NBA 2K23 continues to set the bar for sports titles, as it plays just as smooth and realistic as ever, which is not much of a surprise at thisNBA 2K23 continues to set the bar for sports titles, as it plays just as smooth and realistic as ever, which is not much of a surprise at this point, as well as retains its very in-depth modes and features, while adding a few new ones. The Jordan Challenge's return is a nice addition, but MyNBA Eras is truly an outstanding mode/feature that makes this game instantly worth buying for any fan of franchise mode. The amount of depth, realism, and love put into Eras is so great to see and allows any NBA fan to accurately recreate the league from various points in NBA history, although I wish we could get even more specific with the starting years. A common downside to 2K, as always, is the micro-transactions in other modes, which is nothing new at this point and while I don't pay a dime, I know others are forced to. A new con, though, is the new shooting meter, which definitely takes a lot of time to get used to, and I'm not quite sure why 2K changed it again. Otherwise, 2K23 definitely is another hit for easily the deepest and most polished sports game on the market today. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2022
    0
    The city and running around not playing basketball has made me despise 2K. I wish I could just play my games and all the other side crap beThe city and running around not playing basketball has made me despise 2K. I wish I could just play my games and all the other side crap be optional. But it's not. You must complete all these small bs missions for like 25vc before you can even play basketball in a basketball game. Pathetic Full Review »