User Score
1.8

Overwhelming dislike- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 19 out of 24
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2022
    2
    Disappointing implementation of cross-play, suppose to be the big new feature this year, i mean come on, you can't even play WITH a friend that have the opposite console and the market in HUT is not crossplatform.

    Almost no graphical and gameplay update, really feel like i paid a full priced game for something that could have been a patch. The game itself is not bad, but im still
    Disappointing implementation of cross-play, suppose to be the big new feature this year, i mean come on, you can't even play WITH a friend that have the opposite console and the market in HUT is not crossplatform.

    Almost no graphical and gameplay update, really feel like i paid a full priced game for something that could have been a patch.

    The game itself is not bad, but im still looking for that usual leap between console generation.

    If you are not a serious HUT player and you just love hockey and play casually, i strongly advise to wait at least a price drop.

    If you skipped last year, i guess it's ok...
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2022
    0
    Same **** , but with the number 23. I dream about a good game of NHL since NHL 14.
  3. Oct 16, 2022
    0
    They put 2 weeks of work in and slap a new number on it every year. Should be illegal

    EA sports is a joke
  4. Oct 15, 2022
    0
    There is no excuse for the state of this game and complete reluctance towards improving any mode other than HUT.

    The only solution I can see is to take the pay-to-win micro-transaction cancer that is HUT and make it a free to download entity on it's own. They could then completely separate the development team who works on the actual NHL game from those who work on the absolute PoS mode
    There is no excuse for the state of this game and complete reluctance towards improving any mode other than HUT.

    The only solution I can see is to take the pay-to-win micro-transaction cancer that is HUT and make it a free to download entity on it's own. They could then completely separate the development team who works on the actual NHL game from those who work on the absolute PoS mode known as HUT; which only exists because of the profit it generates from morons who are actually dumb enough to spend real money on intangible pieces of code who's value immediately becomes zero when the next game is released. I have purchased every NHL game from 2001-2023, but I will be boycotting this franchise until HUT is removed.

    Do not buy this game if you care at all about EA's complete negligence towards any mode other than HUT, or about combating micro-transactions in gaming. If you're one of the useful morons who continues to play HUT despite how it was patient zero in the pay-to-win pandemic, has destroyed the real NHL game that millions loved, and has spread the infection that is it's valueless model of micro-transactions to nearly the entirety of the gaming community, then this game is for you.

    I miss the days when hearing "EA sports, it's in the game" made me excited every October, rather than make me cringe.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2022
    2
    After releasing one of the series' best games in recent memory in NHL 22 last season, EA Sports has followed it up with the, unfortunately, massively disappointing NHL 23. Outside of additional customization elements to franchise mode and the infrequent but cool last minute animations added to the game, next to nothing has been added and, in fact, some aspects are worse. Online has beenAfter releasing one of the series' best games in recent memory in NHL 22 last season, EA Sports has followed it up with the, unfortunately, massively disappointing NHL 23. Outside of additional customization elements to franchise mode and the infrequent but cool last minute animations added to the game, next to nothing has been added and, in fact, some aspects are worse. Online has been extremely glitchy for me with sync errors, players teleporting on goal celebrations, and frequent crashes before puck drop, while other modes like Be-A-Pro and WOC continue to go ignored. The most egregious offense though is the "new presentation upgrades", which, outside of not being much to write home about, were blatantly falsely advertised and, in reality, only apply to 6 of the 32 NHL teams. If you're going to talk about that being a main upgrade, EA, don't lie and say it's there when it's not for many fans' teams (including mine, as I'm a Rangers and Blues fan). If you have NHL 22, skip it entirely, as it looks and plays exactly the same as the aforementioned and is far more broken to boot. If you haven't bought an NHL game in a couple of years, wait til a price drop. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2022
    0
    EA hid the fact that the new presentation features were only available for 6 teams which sums up how much effort they have put into this years hockey game.

    Where is the introduction of the goalies and leading scorers on the team? Showcasing elite players before the starting face off was in last gen games as was players who get booed when injuring another player on the home team. Where
    EA hid the fact that the new presentation features were only available for 6 teams which sums up how much effort they have put into this years hockey game.

    Where is the introduction of the goalies and leading scorers on the team? Showcasing elite players before the starting face off was in last gen games as was players who get booed when injuring another player on the home team.

    Where are the authentic goal songs for each team to add realism if that’s what they were aiming for?

    Still not PC release. One can only hope that 2K gets back into making a hockey game as this is series is going downhill quickly.

    Be a pro is untouched, no GM connected.. this is purely made for HUT players who are spending the $$$ and not caring about authentic gameplay. It’s sad to see.

    This game is a joke and at $89.99 CAD for the series X/PS5 (next gen pricing). This game is a step backward and nowhere near worth that price, especially if you own NHL 21/22.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2022
    0
    EA have actually nuked this once beloved franchise.
    The game was marketed on the merits of its presentation this year and last chance puck movement neither of which seem to actually appear in game (in the 25+ hours ive played i have seen two instances of the last chance puck movement)
    in relation to the presentation its genuinely baffling that EA purposely decided to nuke replays and
    EA have actually nuked this once beloved franchise.
    The game was marketed on the merits of its presentation this year and last chance puck movement neither of which seem to actually appear in game (in the 25+ hours ive played i have seen two instances of the last chance puck movement)

    in relation to the presentation its genuinely baffling that EA purposely decided to nuke replays and other mainstays of the presentation in favour of a more streamlined experience for online players (ok, sure i can buy that...but why not give offline players the option of full presentation or a cut down version? MLB the show offers its user base this option each and every installment)

    furthermore in its most recent patch EA removed true broadcast camera and again its reasoning was questionable at best! EA stated that it was removed at the request of fans (EA forums suggest otherwise with fans in uproar at the removal of yet more features)

    Gameplay wise its actually ...Ok'..ish. Again the title suffers from some buttons not registering which really is not acceptable for a game in 2022, AI becomes overly aggressive on a penalty kill forcing you out of the zone via perfectly placed poke checks or stick lifts on each occassion and on that note if you attempt a stick lift 70% of the time you are getting a penalty!

    Players are still skating into the boards headfirst because of poor momentum animations and despite noticeable graphical fidelity improvements on next gen thers still a lack of facial scans and why do we still have generic coaches when other titles like madden and fifa give you your coach/manager at the sidelines.

    Overall i think this years title although enjoyable gameplay wise at times the lack of immersive cameras and presntation means this will be the last NHL game i play until EA does a complete overhaul of the franchise and i suspect that is probaly 3 to 4 years away if at all
    Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2022
    0
    The advertised additions to presentation for introductions prior the the game starting is about a 7 second crowd sweep and only applies to 6 teams total. Multiple settings have been locked or removed entirely, the reason for this can only be that bad code was causing crashes & laziness won in trying to fix anything.

    Multiple games start and crash instantly, or are completely blacked out
    The advertised additions to presentation for introductions prior the the game starting is about a 7 second crowd sweep and only applies to 6 teams total. Multiple settings have been locked or removed entirely, the reason for this can only be that bad code was causing crashes & laziness won in trying to fix anything.

    Multiple games start and crash instantly, or are completely blacked out with only your player indicator showing.

    The lead developer Sean Ramjagsingh is well known for habitually throwing kittens & puppies into burlap sacks and drowning them in the river

    The cover star does not have their play-by-play voiceover in the game.

    Rampant typos in menus (especially BAP, which are still laggy even on Next Gen)

    Cross play only works for matchmaking randoms (you cannot play with friends on opposite consoles) if it connects at all.

    It's extremely evident little to no effort was put into the development of the game and marketing was the main focus. Multiple streamers as of today have received "surprise" gift packages from EA and have begun praising EA's latest update to the series. This just days & weeks after exposing their lack of improvement.

    Do not buy this game, get a cheap copy of NHL 22 and use the roster sharing for the latest rosters.
    Expand
  9. Oct 22, 2022
    0
    The "most socially connected Chel experience" does not include GM connected...Again
  10. Oct 30, 2022
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is just a $70 roster update that actually took a step back with presentation. Rubber band ai is also horrendous. With no competition ea sports continues to be lazy. This company is a joke. Please 2k sports get involved . Competition will improve products across the board. Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2022
    0
    With no competition in the market, EA can do whatever the balls they want.

    This includes changing a fan favorite True Broadcast camera angle to a new nose bleed angle very similar to the other Broadcast camera available in game. There's a thread in their forums and at OperationSports with lots of unhappy people, with some asking for a refund:
    With no competition in the market, EA can do whatever the balls they want.

    This includes changing a fan favorite True Broadcast camera angle to a new nose bleed angle very similar to the other Broadcast camera available in game. There's a thread in their forums and at OperationSports with lots of unhappy people, with some asking for a refund: https://answers.ea.com/t5/General-Discussion-News/True-broadcast-camera/td-p/12052719/page/28

    The way EA is handling it? By banning or blocking opinions which are against their stupid decision making. For the love of game, only a boycott will send a message to these greedy, self-pampered people. I hope you find some time to drop a comment in their forum and help to send the message. Stay away from greedy companies using big sports franchises name to deliver mediocre experiences.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 19, 2022
    60
    Tweet Share Share By Brad Bortone on December 16, 2022 in Reviews Prettier, Smoother, And Frustratingly Familiar HIGH The visuals finally feel worthy of new console horsepower… LOW …until the replays are seen up close. WTF SNES hockey strategy shouldn’t work in 2022. Last year I described NHL 22 as a “mildly underwhelming next-gen experience that still holds promise for the future.” Today, after nearly a month of play, I’m describing NHL 23 as a “visually appealing current-gen experience that needs to start delivering more on its promise.” Visually, it’s clear that EA Sports took past criticism to heart. While previous editions hinted at ramped-up eye candy, NHL 23 seems to make the most of current hardware, from player faces to subtle animations. For example, when taking a faceoff, real-time reflections of the overhead scoreboard are seen on the freshly-polished ice surface. As each period progresses, visible deterioration from skaters dulls the reflection until the next one starts. Details like this don’t affect gameplay, but they do allow for a sense of immersion, even from a distant overhead camera. Likewise, player faces and reactions are far more accurate and situationally appropriate, leaving lifeless expressions on last-gen consoles. The league’s current lighting and concert-like presentations are also well-implemented into each opening segment. It’s clear that EA wants NHL to be a visually arresting series in the next few years, and this year’s edition takes a big step forward by focusing on the nuances that make live hockey such an unforgettable experience. Overall, NHL 23 is a strong visual contender in the sports game arena — at least until replays, when the camera zooms in. Once up close, users will see cracks in the graphical armor, as smooth animations seen from above are revealed to be somewhat janky and stilted. It may not affect gameplay one iota, but it seems odd to see butter-smooth movements from one angle reduced to marionette performances, just from getting a slow-motion view of the action. Thankfully, the controls and gameplay speed are more realistic than ever thanks to improved physics, and an AI that demands more user accountability. Easier difficulties will still see goalies turn to swiss cheese on virtually every breakaway, but moderate-to-hard difficulties are fair, challenging, rewarding, and accurate. Disciplined hockey strategy will always beat button mashing in PvP matchups, which should appease many critics of this series, present company included. At the same time, the often-cumbersome control scheme has been made more accessible to newcomers and old souls alike. Admittedly, I’ve often reverted to the simplified NHL ’94 controls to enjoy the game at my own casual pace. For NHL 23, I never even considered it, as for the first time, using a simplified control made it feel as if I was missing out. The streamlined advanced control scheme still takes some work to master, but once it clicks with users, I don’t foresee many gamers regressing ever again. In terms of modes, NHL 23 delivers the usual deep slate of offerings, from the microtransaction-heavy Ultimate Team to the deeper and more engaging Franchise Mode. None of it is new or revolutionary. but it’s all been fine-tuned to keep the focus on the ice, and not the grind of micromanagement. Unfortunately, there are notable flaws in some of the longstanding modes and features. First, the omnipresent Be a Pro mode continues EA’s downward trend of career mode storytelling. At no point during my avatar’s hockey journey did I ever feel engaged or connected to the narrative, nor the decisions I was making. None of it seemed to matter on the ice, anyway. Maybe a deeper dive would produce a long-term storyline reward, but I felt trapped in a week-to-week deluge of minutiae, rather than feeling the excitement of a pro hockey career. Last year, I enjoyed the online “World of Chel” offerings, praising the matchmaking and overall online gameplay balance. This year, the mode took a serious step backward. While the wide variety of arcade and simulation play options is welcome, I had significant difficulty finding a stable game, and the matchmaking usually placed me with far better players than I could ever hope to beat. Over the course of several weeks, I experienced considerably more imbalance and fickle connections than in the previous edition, and before long I disconnected permanently in favor of the same, reliable offline hockey I know and love. Sadly, I think this is the key problem with the NHL series in its current form — despite all the visual sheen, extensive modes, and unparalleled control depth, this is still, at its core, the same game we’ve been playing for decades. Online and offline, even with the engine rewarding well-executed hockey strategy, most games ultimately devolve into a redundant pattern of “check/breakaway/shoot/repeat.” Even on the most stringent difficulty levels, I rarely saw the game AI slow down and run a cohesive offensive series. Instead, it shot at will, never seeking to set up an open skater. There may only be a few realistic ways to present videogame hockey in a playable form, but once the AI chose to play “run and gun” arcade hockey, I realized I was employing the same tactics I did in my college dorm room, far too many years ago. If this series is going to truly progress and make good on the updated visual presentation, more nuanced gameplay will have to become a reality, not just a promise.
  2. 75
    NHL 23 seems like an iterative instalment, as EA Vancouver settles in with NHL 22's Frostbite Engine. Nevertheless, if it's an excellent game of ice hockey you seek, then this is - quite literally, as it happens - the only game in town.
  3. Nov 2, 2022
    60
    NHL 23 will satisfy hard-core hockey video game fans, but if you didn't like the recent NHL releases, this year's relatively small additions won't change your mind.