Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 17, 2023
    100
    The new port of Persona 3 Portable is still the version that so many players fell in love with in 2009, and although it does not have major changes, all the content it offers, such as living the story of a male and female protagonist, is enough to have many hours of game.
  2. Jan 17, 2023
    95
    Persona 3 Portable is a must-play for ALL RPG fans, and with its inclusion on Xbox Game Pass, a MUST try for all gamers.
  3. Jan 30, 2023
    90
    There should be no hesitation in recommending Persona 3 Portable to any fans of the RPG genre.
  4. Jan 18, 2023
    90
    Mixing role-playing, combat and social simulation, Persona 3 Portable teaches us the importance of living in a world of stubborn, hopeless despair.
  5. Jan 17, 2023
    90
    Persona 3 Portable is one of those experiences that I need to let go of, eventually, yet it sticks to me like a wound. Take the time to enjoy the social links, the Persona fusion, and the story because enduring games like this one don’t come along often. Between the different versions, Persona 3 is still begging for completion, though the Portable version is a sight better than nothing. If the rumors of a remake are true, then perhaps all of this will be moot. But until then, this is the only way to play Persona 3, and it’s a dark masterpiece that beckons you to get lost in its labyrinthine setting. Hee-Ho!
  6. Jan 17, 2023
    80
    For Xbox players, Persona 3 Portable is an amazing game. And despite this version’s flaws, I implore you to give it a go.
  7. Jan 17, 2023
    80
    In terms of this new port, well, you've got all the expected upgrades, high resolution graphics locked at 60fps, a quick save system that can be utilised at any point during the action, and the ability to choose your difficulty right from the get-go. All told, it makes for the slickest version of this classic that we've played so far and, if you've yet to play it, we can't recommend it enough really.
  8. Jan 17, 2023
    80
    Though it’s the black sheep of the modern Persona series, Persona 3 Portable still bears the glimmer of gold that Atlus struck in 2009. Though its visual novel format and grating dungeon-crawling won’t land with every player, Persona 3‘s unsettling plot and colourful friendships will leave you eager for another trip to the Velvet Room.
  9. Jan 17, 2023
    75
    While Persona 3 Portable’s monotonous slog through Tartarus might not have aged all that well, its narrative, characters, and soundtrack most certainly have. It’s great to finally experience the roots of the Persona franchise and the birth of the Social Link on Xbox.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Jan 24, 2023
    10
    Persona 3 was a great game on PS2 & PSP

    The years have passed and GOD this game is still awesome ? How it's possible ? Such a good game. I
    Persona 3 was a great game on PS2 & PSP

    The years have passed and GOD this game is still awesome ? How it's possible ? Such a good game. I thought the game would get old but no !

    If you like Persona or Megami Tensei you can play this game don't worry, and for people who don't understand English don't worry, it is possible to change the language
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2023
    0
    Currently playing this and very long and boring it sux the writing is tomuch I want devil may cry meets Darksiders style of fighting not thisCurrently playing this and very long and boring it sux the writing is tomuch I want devil may cry meets Darksiders style of fighting not this RPG BS plus it's rubbish anyway I hate it
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2023
    9
    A pesar de ser un port de la versión portable de PSP, el juego se encuentra a la altura de su nombre. El juego cuenta con una historiaA pesar de ser un port de la versión portable de PSP, el juego se encuentra a la altura de su nombre. El juego cuenta con una historia bastante trabajada e inmersiva, música al nivel de la saga, personajes carismáticos, ambientación y traducción en español a la altura de las expectativas.

    Lo único malo, es el estilo visual novel que a veces se torna opresivo y que no sea la version FES.
    Full Review »