Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 19, 2022
    85
    Soulstice came out of nowhere for me and it is fantastic. Its mix of brilliant combat, an intriguing plot, great music, and occasionally gorgeous graphics had me hooked instantly. This could be the beginning of a great series and one excellent title you do not want to miss.
  2. Sep 20, 2022
    80
    Soulstice combines a fascinating setting, two well-characterized protagonists, an engaging storyline and a gameplay that, albeit with a few smears, is capable of providing many hours of fun. It's not a perfect game, with the troublesome camera handling as its major flaw, but it's still a game that every lover of third-person action games should consider.
  3. Sep 20, 2022
    80
    Soulstice is an awesome ode to classic action-adventure games. It expertly wears its inspirations proudly while telling an impactful story full of epic battles. Sadly, there’s a missed opportunity to create tension with large-scale encounters in its early moments, but Soulstice comes together in its second act with a unique and fast action system that is beautifully choreographed across the gothic landscape. I hope this isn’t the last we see of Briar and Lute.
  4. Sep 20, 2022
    78
    Soulstice is a good game that is marred by the occasional glitch, but it certainly offers a really fun gameplay experience. Despite asking for a greater variety of combos, it manages to offer a really fantastic hack & slash experience, something difficult to find outside the exponents of the genre.
  5. Sep 22, 2022
    77
    Soulstice the attempt by small developer Reply Games Studios to create a character action game in the style of Bayonetta and Devil May Cry. While neither as flashy nor deep as its bigger siblings, “Soulstice” offers a very solid foundation, an entertaining story, and enough depth to get you through a playthrough. It’s not the best the genre has to offer, but it’s an easy recommendation for anyone looking for a new action title on a budget.
  6. Sep 26, 2022
    70
    Soulstice feels like it is from another generation but it is still a good looking, modern game that plays well. The combat is fluid and challenging, the backdrops are amazing at times and the story is intriguing. However, Soulstice does get a bit 'cut and paste' after a while and getting to grips with the camera is always a hassle.
  7. Sep 26, 2022
    70
    Soulstice is a classic hack’n slash, a solid technical section with some bugs, a frantic and dynamic combat and an interesting story. But with an excessive duration.
  8. Sep 23, 2022
    70
    With Soulstice, the developers at Reply Game Studios have probably created their most ambitious game. Nervous beat'em up set in a universe reminiscent of the Claymore manga, it plays on the duality of force fields (evocation, banishment) and a mix of exploration, puzzles and action for lovers of the genre. Unfortunately, the lack of means is felt over the length and we very often complain about a badly adjusted camera and obvious technical problems (slowdowns, excessive copy-paste, textures from another time, etc.). Not to mention this permanent juggling at the level of the side keys of the controller. In the end, Soulstice is a game far from being uninteresting, but which is reserved for fans of the genre and amateurs of scoring.
  9. Sep 21, 2022
    70
    It’s a chaotic push and pull between ecstatic fun and dull annoyance that honestly drives Soulstice, but it’s nonetheless worth checking out.
  10. Sep 20, 2022
    70
    Despite their inexperience with the stylish action genre, the Reply Game Studio guys have developed a multifaceted and innovative combat system, which uses the different resources of Briar and Lute in a very ingenious way. On the flip side, the excessive chaos that arose during the battles, combined with a camera that we believe to be almost entirely redesigned, too often penalizes the reading of the action, complicating even the simplest challenges. Hoping that the Italian studio will roll up its sleeves to at least partially remedy the shortcomings of the product, we recommend its purchase to fans of heart-pounding clashes.
  11. Sep 20, 2022
    70
    An experience not without many technical flaws, but which will nevertheless convince fans of the genre.
  12. Sep 20, 2022
    67
    A solid game with good intentions, but a far cry from the biggest games in the genre. As an appetizer is ok, but the most hardcore hack and slash fans will probably prefer to wait for Bayonetta 3... or boot up Devil May Cry 5 one more time.
  13. Sep 23, 2022
    65
    Soulstice is a solid outing that I wanted to love and recommend more. It borrows heavily from games like Bayonetta and Devil May Cry without fully capturing what makes those titles so special. Still for a fairly new developer taking a stab at the genre it is filled with promise and in an era where games are supported I hope a patch can sort out of some the minor issues over time. I had fun with the game and hope they continue to improve on their craft. I am always down for character action games and if you are like me and miss the days when these were a dime a dozen, Soulstice is likely right up your alley.
  14. Sep 30, 2022
    63
    Soulstice has great old school vibes but it may fall short of what it was trying to achieve. It can be frustrating at times and after a while I found it more frustrating than fun. For those who love DMC/Bayonetta, I’d definitely say give it a go, but beware that you will be sinking hours into the game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 26, 2022
    Concerning the gameplay and the narration, Soulstice does not beat around the bush and offers a wide-ranging adventure. The approach to combat and the fighting style you want to adopt are fully customisable. The progression and the feeling of a growing power are well represented. Unfortunately, we could not sweep under the rug the camera issues and level design shortcomings that marred our gameplay experience. We would recommend Sousltice to those absolutely fan of beat-them-all games who will undoubtedly be able to overlook the flaws that annoyed us.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 47
  2. Negative: 35 out of 47
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    fixed camera movement and unpredictable framings strike down Soulstice tragically. Exploration is hard with that unpredictable and unfriendlyfixed camera movement and unpredictable framings strike down Soulstice tragically. Exploration is hard with that unpredictable and unfriendly behaviour and you lose interest very soon in the game. Really horrible Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2022
    2
    it's just a flat imitation of Bayonetta and Devil May Cry with no soul, nothing new to the table, flat narration, messy combats and especiallyit's just a flat imitation of Bayonetta and Devil May Cry with no soul, nothing new to the table, flat narration, messy combats and especially poor fixed camera choice Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2022
    3
    La caméra fixe a beaucoup gâché l'expérience de jeu. Non seulement cela rend très difficile l'exploration des scénarios de jeu, mais cela vousLa caméra fixe a beaucoup gâché l'expérience de jeu. Non seulement cela rend très difficile l'exploration des scénarios de jeu, mais cela vous fera gravement mal à la tête. Vraiment dommage qu'ils ne s'en soient pas rendu compte avant de sortir le jeu Full Review »