Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 12, 2021
    100
    Tetris effect: Connected reaches its true potential in the extensive multiplayer modes. You can join games hosted all over the world, each with its own theme and according graphical and sound effects. Whether you want to unwind with a relaxing puzzle, or are looking for an intense and nerve-racking challenge, the choices are nearly infinite.
  2. Nov 25, 2020
    100
    An already spectacular game breaks free of its solo constraints to become the definitive Tetris experience.
  3. Nov 16, 2020
    100
    Perhaps not quite as transcendental as it is in VR, Tetris Effect: Connected remains an incredible, visionary piece of work, that you can now experience with others. With its arrival on Xbox Series X, it can be a game for a new generation.
  4. Nov 14, 2020
    95
    Tetris Effect Connected innovates further on 2018's mesmerizing, beautiful and addictive iteration of the Tetris formula, introducing a stable of tried and true multiplayer offerings, as well as a delightful new mode.
  5. Jan 4, 2021
    90
    Tetris Effect Connected is one big psychedelic trip that Xbox owners were previously missing out on. There is such a variety in themes, music, and game modes that it is unbelievable that developers still find a way to innovate, iterate and make, ostensibly, a puzzle game from the 1980s feel new and desirable to play. There is enough depth here in the multiplayer modes to retain the attention of Tetris players beyond the relatively short Journey and Effects modes, albeit many will chase their own tail to better their rankings and high scores. At the time of writing Tetris Effect Connected is available on Game Pass Ultimate so there is no real excuse to not give this a chance.
  6. Dec 23, 2020
    90
    Gorgeous next-gen visuals and fresh takes on Tetris multiplayer make Tetris Effect: Connected an even more transcendent version of the near-perfect puzzle game.
  7. Dec 5, 2020
    90
    Tetris Effect: Connected is the definitive edition of the classic puzzle game, mixing its formula with Lumines' synesthetic effect and lots of modes, including the completely new and highly engaging co-op Connected mode. A game that won't leave our consoles for many years.
  8. Nov 30, 2020
    90
    It's a unique experience, and part of the magic of the original version. While I think multiplayer is the more approachable feature, and what I would want if forced to choose, I do wish there were a way to have both in a single package. But there's no time for regrets in Tetris. The next piece is falling and you only have a few seconds to put it in place. Then the next piece, and the one after that. Some people meditate to clear their minds. Other people cook, or build models. Tetris Effect has a similar capacity to clear your mind. In 2018, that made Tetris Effect feel special. In 2020, it feels essential.
  9. Nov 23, 2020
    90
    At the end of the day, Tetris Effect: Connected on Xbox is just Tetris. It’s the game we’ve all played a million times over, it’s a game we all know like the back of our hand, and it’s a game in which we can rack up the highest of high scores with our eyes closed. And that, that feel of familiarity, is quite possibly the only thing that is holding Connected back from utter greatness. Yes this version looks great, it plays brilliantly, it sounds awesome, and it could well be the best Tetris experience yet, but at the end of the day it’s still Tetris... yet it is still as stupidly addictive as it ever was.
  10. Nov 20, 2020
    90
    Arguably the definitive version of one of the most famous, and enduring, video games in history, with some very welcome new multiplayer features.
  11. Nov 19, 2020
    90
    The way Tetris Effect: Connected complements its traditional yet timeless Tetris gameplay with a gorgeous, constantly evolving presentation, combined with an array of modes that now encompasses everything you can want in a Tetris package, makes it the best way to experience one of gaming’s quintessential pieces.
  12. Nov 17, 2020
    90
    Tetris Effect: Connected is what Tetris Effect should have been in the first place: a fantastic puzzle mixed with an astonishing audiovisual experience that can now finally be shared with other players.
  13. Nov 13, 2020
    90
    Plain and simple, the best Tetris incarnation currently available. Now with new interesting multiplayer modes.
  14. Jan 8, 2021
    89
    The best Tetris game ever, with plenty of multiplayer modes and a ton of hours of playtime. It may be something that we have seen a lot of times before, but it's still awesome and extremely entertaining.
  15. Nov 19, 2020
    86
    Tetris Effect evolves with fun multiplayer modes that add a new layer of fun and challenge to an already fantastic game.
  16. Dec 16, 2020
    85
    I may not be seeing tetrominos during my day job, but I do have a newfound obsession with Tetris. Since starting this game, I've gone down YouTube rabbit holes learning about t-spins, tips, and tricks to improve my Tetris game. I've replayed modes to beat my previous high score, which I don't normally do in games. Even after this review, I'm eager to jump back into Journey mode to hear some of my favorite songs before booting up another title. As an added bonus, the multiplayer options make for a solid package that should offer players tons of hours of Tetris.
  17. This new Xbox edition keeps everything that made the original one of the best puzzlers in years (except the VR part, which it turns out is pretty unnecessary) and adds a heaping helping of multiplayer to the mix.
  18. Nov 24, 2020
    85
    Tetris Effect Connected proves once again to be a refined reinterpretation of a timeless classic, a true masterpiece that resists the passage of time without giving up, ready to conquer even the new generations.
  19. Nov 17, 2020
    85
    Whether alone or with others, Tetris Effect: Connected is a stunning pleasure.
  20. Nov 5, 2020
    85
    Tetris Effect can be extremely relaxing, somehow easing your mind and body into a serene sense of calm; it’s fitting then that a new mechanic called the Zone capitalises on this, allowing you to slow down time and enter a state of near-nirvana. Tetris Effect can also be as stressful as hell when you’re reaching the top of your allowed play space, and that Zone mechanic will still serve the purpose of trying to remedy that. Plan your drops accordingly.
  21. Nov 24, 2020
    81
    Tetris Effect: Connected is the best version of one of the top releases of 2018. The multiplayer additions are all excellently designed, with Connected Mode being one of the best co-operative experiences out there.
  22. Nov 30, 2020
    80
    The Tetris Effect Connected is an unusual but super fun next-gen experience and an unexpected one at that!
  23. Nov 18, 2020
    80
    Tetris Effect is back again, and it brings all the multiplayer modes along, which is a great add to the content. Sure it lacks coms between players, and you sometimes end up playing versus a bot, but overall, it's a great game, specially if you missed the original release two years ago.
  24. Nov 13, 2020
    80
    With Connected the Resonair team delivers the puzzle piece that was missing in the original: an entertaining and fun multiplayer mode.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 10 out of 49
  1. Nov 13, 2020
    9
    When my Series X arrived I started this game just because I was waiting for my AC:V download to finish. I ended up playing Tetris for 4 hoursWhen my Series X arrived I started this game just because I was waiting for my AC:V download to finish. I ended up playing Tetris for 4 hours straight and had so much fun.

    The gameplay is highly addictive, the sounds and music supporting every action you make make it so much more intense. I must admit, I did not expect this. When I heard about a Tetris game I thought "ok, let's try it, I mean it's Tetris, should be fun for half an hour or so". But this game takes the Tetris formula, adds a ton of LSD to it and delivers endless hours of fun.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2020
    9
    It's tetris... yep, but this is a great evolution for the most classic game ever. Modern graphics, nice levels and game modes, outstandingIt's tetris... yep, but this is a great evolution for the most classic game ever. Modern graphics, nice levels and game modes, outstanding soundtrack and of course Gamepass make this one of the best tetris games ever made. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    The definitive Tetris experience. Already in PS4 it was amazing, a 9.5 game. But with the multiplayer it reached the perfect score. Who wouldThe definitive Tetris experience. Already in PS4 it was amazing, a 9.5 game. But with the multiplayer it reached the perfect score. Who would have thought a Tetris game could be this good. Full Review »